We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much to commend it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Gore – Starhotels Collezione
Ranked #236 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We picked this hotel for our weekend in London as it was convenient for the Royal Albert Hall and seemed to offer plenty of delightful features, especially as we wanted rooms with four poster beds and unusual furnishings. It certainly fulfilled most of our expectations but with some reservations. We had chosen particular rooms based upon visiting the hotel in advance and looking for what we wanted. This was about 3 weeks before our intended stay and the staff were more than helpful. We had a letter confirming our two rooms. However on arrival we were only given one of these - the other had been allocated to someone else in the period between booking and arriving. Most disappointing, especially as there was no adequate explanation. 24 hours later we were told the reason based upon maintenance issues. There was some mention of compensation of some kind but it never happened. So beware, choosing the room you really like is no guarantee! Generally the service was good, as was the breakfast (no warning though that £2.20 would be added on for tips!). The lounge provides papers (ordering your own costs £2) and drinks (there is no facility in the room for making your own). Water is provided in the room, and there was a welcome gift of a small box of chocolates. However, the TV is old with few channels, and the wi-fi is not free, in fact it is prohibitively expensive (as is the mini-bar!!). The bathroom products were excellent. Overall a good experience, but not quite as good as some hotels of similar quality - improvements could be made. As for value, this is fine if you get a deal and/or are prepared to pay for a luxury double or more.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,588)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,225 - 1,229 of 1,588 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2012

Stayed at this hotel for a wedding, was not overly impressed. Some of the staff were very nice
but others were a bit snooty. The room was lovely and was well tended to. Very expensive with tax added on and tips for the staff added on also, which is a bit cheeky in my opinion. Items left behind were posted on by the staff but at a great cost. The food was excellent and the continental breakfast was good with fresh produce each morning.
It is ideally situated near Harrods, Albert & Victoria museum and many other places of interest. Also Hyde Park just at the top of the road.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alvadublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We have just returned from a long weekend at the Gore. We had a 399 deal through living social . We thought we had a good deal but the room was very small and we felt uncomfortable throughout the whole stay. During our stay they had a leak so half the hotel out of action including the bar which was a pain considering there were no bars close by. Every morning breakfast (continental) was literally muesli and bits of fruit and a massive pot of tea with two tea bags . You could ask for toast but you would wait ages then have 2 pieces for the both of you and if you asked for more you would get a snotty look.
We asked for porridge one morning as we were sick of the lack of choice and they said we can make it you up us not realising is would be an extra cost of 9quid. On the second night we asked for a bucket of ice which we never had, we had no iron and the bath was tiny. ALso the telly did not work in our room when we asked for it to be fixed we had about 2 channels. There were no tea and coffee making facilities in the room as they said you cold pop down the green room should you need one. The problem being if there was a function on you could not use this facility.
With the living social deal we had 2 free cocktails and rock and roll tea. Which they tried to charge us for at the end . This was the most uncomfortable part of our stay As we had to have this in the green room with a waitress standing a meter away from us watching every move. There was no music and it just felt aukward and we also had to pay a service charge for her standing there ! . By the way very time you get served ie. breakfast they will add all this service charges to your bill.

Finally when checking out and paying more than we expected they tried to order a fixed rate taxi to the station which we found to be 10 quid cheaper just flagging one down outside .

Lovely character to hotel would not recommend !

I never usually write reviews but was fumin and wish we had stayed in the Sherlock Holmes baker street like my last birthday ,

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andireyno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

My mom and I stayed at the GORE hotel during the London 2012 Olympics. This is a wonderful boutique hotel near Hyde Park and local transportation. The staff is excellent. The concierge was always on the lookout for us, if an offer was not up to his standards he steered us to better offers. The rooms are filled with natural light, lots of windows that actually open. When I visit London again my first choice will be the Gore Hotel on Queen's Gate!

Room Tip: If your room has a name as well as a number, you're in for a pleasant surprise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Primustravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

I have made more trips to London over the last 30+ years than I can remember but just returned from latest trip and stayed at this hotel which was Excellent! I highly recommend it as is clean, well appointed, rooms decent size for London (and thank god a great shower, don't find those often in the UK) and a small, very friendly hotel. Situated in Knightsbridge/South Kensington area of London, it is very close to Hyde Park, the Royal Albert Hall and a number of other attractions in the area. A nice cozy bar and good little restaurant as well. Staff is outstanding, place is cool. Also, some nice little restaurants and a good local pub within easy walking distance. Closest Tube Station is Glouscester Road which is only about 6 block walk away so 10 minutes max. Cannot say enough good things about this hotel and was able to find a smoking deal online as well.

Room Tip: be friendly, refer others to the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sdbolts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Queen's Gate Hotel
The Queen's Gate Hotel
#378 of 1,078 in London
1,029 reviews
South Kensington
The Pelham – Starhotels Collezione
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#46 of 1,078 in London
3,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#139 of 1,078 in London
857 reviews
South Kensington
The Exhibitionist Hotel
The Exhibitionist Hotel
#229 of 1,078 in London
532 reviews
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#30 of 1,078 in London
3,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gore – Starhotels Collezione? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gore – Starhotels Collezione

Address: 190 Queen's Gate, London SW7 5EX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#109 Business Hotel in London
#174 Luxury Hotel in London
#191 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: ₹ 14,031 - ₹ 32,107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gore – Starhotels Collezione 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The renovation at The Gore are completed! We invite you to come (or come back) to experience our newly renovated luxury boutique hotel in the heart of South Kensington! Established in 1892, The Gore – Starhotels Collezione oozes history from every pore, with a story to tell from every room. The 50 lavishly-appointed bedrooms range from Classic and Superior rooms through Deluxe Doubles and Junior Suites to the signature Tudor Room. All are individually furnished with hand-picked pieces, period pictures and ornate feature beds. The food at The Gore comes under the guiding hand of dynamic French Michelin starred Chef Daniel Galmiche, whose classic British cuisine is delivered with a contemporary French twist and a rustic charm. The Bar 190, best known as the location for the launch and photoshoot for The Rolling Stones’ 1968 album Beggars Banquet, plays host to an extensive range of spirits, with notably large collections of whiskies and rums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Prestigia and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Gore – Starhotels Collezione reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gore Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing