We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good reason to return to London”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Milestone Hotel
Ranked #2 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New Canaan, Connecticut
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A good reason to return to London”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

We stayed here for three days in May. We love this area but had never stayed here before.
It was recommended by our travel agent and she was absolutely right about the quality. We arrived in the early evening, exhausted by the nightmare of coming through customs and
immigration at Heathrow. The first room we were shown was too small and taken up by
furniture. The manager said he would try to find us another room - although since it was late in
the day that might prove a problem. He was successful. While we waited we were shown into
the library and offered a drink - a perfect example of the hospitality shown to guests here. The
king size room was not very large but big enough and furnished beautifully as is the entire hotel.
Since we were too tired to go out for dinner we ate in the charming dining room and found to our surprise that the meal was top quality, as good as the dinner we had the following evening
at a Michelin starred restaurant. Breakfast also was excellent both in the quality and presentation of the food. Had a grand afternoon tea one day and did not need to go to dinner.
Most important, the quality of service begins at the door with the doorman. It is attentive and gracious without being obsequious. The junior concierge was most helpful too. We look forward to returning to this hotel and will recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: Queen size rooms are really too small to move around in. Our room was in the back with no view. B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Denah6227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Milestone Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to post you valuable feedback. I was delighted that we met your expectations and that you got the chance to try our fantastic restaurant "Cheneston's". I have passed on your kind words to all the relevant departments in the hotel and I really do hope that you will join us again in the near future so I can personally welcome you back to us.
Kind regards,
Andrew Pike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,853 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,678
    134
    36
    3
    2
See reviews for
476
859
89
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012 via mobile

Amazing service, lovely rooms, friendly staff.highly recommended

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolymorrisOn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Milestone Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to post your positive comments. I was glad that you enjoyed all of our facilities and just as importantly our service which we pride ourselves on. I have passed on your kind words to my dedicated team here at the hotel. I do hope that you get the chance to stay with us once again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Andrew Pike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

A lovely hotel located in the Kensington area. Quaint and attentive to all the details. The concierge provided helpful information and arranged reservations and tours for us. In the evenings we enjoyed the Stables Bar where we met new friends. I would recommend this hotel for those going to London.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meldavall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Milestone Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
I was really pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us in Kensington. I was also really happy with the service our Concierge provided and that you also found time to relax in our cosy Stables Bar.
I hope that you will come and stay with us again soon so I can personally welcome you back.
Kind regards,
Andrew Pike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westchester County, NY
Level Contributor
93 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012 via mobile

This is a very posh establishment in the Kensington area. The decor is quintessentially traditional yet extravagent English with modern touches. As it is very expensive, I used a lot of Amex points to defray some of the costs. We were upgraded to a junior suite - the Viscount Suite - that has lovely views of the park. Please note that it is on the front side of the building so that can be some traffic noise. The hotel will provide earplugs on request. As is usual, the junior suite is a larger room, rather than a suite. We were celebrating a milestone anniversary and they decorated the room with candles, rose petals, and chocalate covered strawberries. Although that is not really my thing, we appreciated the effort. It underscores the difference between a 5 star establishment and those that aspire to be a 5 star but are really a 4. 5 star establishments anticipate your needs, even with respect to the little things like being stocked with an outlet converter, and make you feel taken care off. Other than a less than knowledgable concierge (note to hotels - even with the availability of some info on the web, a knowledgable concierge is still necessary!), the staff was seemed quite good in our limited interaction with them. Also note the Milestone does not charge for WiFI

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank denany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Milestone Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Many thanks for taking time to leave your valuable feedback. I was pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and you liked the small touches we deliver to our guests. I sincerely hope that you do come and visit us again soon.
Kind regards,

Andrew Pike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012 via mobile

Had an opportunity to spend few nights at this hotel. My overall experience was really great. They have lovely and comfortable rooms, great service, awesome staff. I would love to stay here again

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zeus43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Milestone Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
I was really happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I have passed on your kind words to my great team here. I was happy to read that you found our beautiful rooms to your liking and our service met with your expectations.
I do hope that you can stay with us again soon in the near furture.
Kind regards,
Andrew Pike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,670 reviews
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#3 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,303 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#7 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Milestone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Milestone Hotel

Property: The Milestone Hotel
Address: 1 Kensington Court, London W8 5DL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 25,810 - ₹ 70,875
Hotel Class:5 star — The Milestone Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant hotel housed within a meticulously restored grand Victorian mansion dating back to 1883. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Milestone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing