We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“St Giles Hotel, Central London”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel
Ranked #623 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Positive points are the Leisure Centre below the hotel, the location close to Oxford Street, Covent Garden, Leceister Square, Shaftesbury Ave (theatres) etc (West End is well served). It is next to an NCP car park and hotel has a discount arrangement to £20 or so per day. There are plenty of cafés and bars close by serving nice, affordable lunches and snacks. The room was satisfactory. I had a triple and athough tight, it was suitable as a base. The TV was small but had plenty of channels. Staff were very friendly and helpful. We ate in two of the restaurants; Chikara serves chinese and is okay, the Hakuba serves Japanese and is excellent.
Negative points: wireless is poor, so internet access is not good, and is expensive. The hotel clearly serves a lot of people including groups and in the morning is packed with people checking out and in. The impact on the four lifts available is huge, meaning that most mornings people were regularly skipping the lifts to go down the stairs. This is a problem that they can't really do much about but be warned you will have long waits for the lifts. We stayed in a first floor room; the smell of curry from the restaurant below was very strong most of the day. I would say that this is a good hotel for tourists; affordable and well located. I would not book it for business. It is not really suitable for that. Final point: access to the Leisure Centre is not free. you need a five pound token from Reception, which makes it a consideration with a family of three to get a workout (£15 per session).

Room Tip: Get as high up as possible to avoid the restaurant smells, but bear in mind this makes you dependant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simonbirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (6,290)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,255 - 4,259 of 6,290 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2012

We stayed in February and found this a good plce to stay, easy to get to, 5 min. walf form Tott. Ct.Road tube station and handy for oxford street. Room was nice and clean and the brekkie is proberbly the best you will ever have, will stay again when in london, first choice if availble

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tony b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StGilesLondon, Manager at St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

You kindly gave us a great review during your stay with us in the past.

Your feedback and comments is always important to us, as it helps us improve.

We hope that you will choose to book us again.

As a thank you for your comments; make your next reservation directly with us on our official website, and enter PROMO Code TRIP5 for additional savings on our normal website rates.

Warm Regards,

St Giles London - St Giles Classic Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We stayed 3 nights at St Giles Hotel, selected as part of a Show and Stay package. Situated central to everything in the West End, this place was ideal for us as Australians who had never been to London before. We walked everywhere. We had no need for public transport. The room was small, but we only slept in it! Who needs a big room when you're in London - so much to see and do!
Staff were friendly and helpful.
Definitely value for money!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlanGillCurtis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StGilesLondon, Manager at St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

You kindly gave us a great review during your stay with us in the past.

Your feedback and comments is always important to us, as it helps us improve.

We hope that you will choose to book us again.

As a thank you for your comments; make your next reservation directly with us on our official website, and enter PROMO Code TRIP5 for additional savings on our normal website rates.

Warm Regards,

St Giles London - St Giles Classic Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

A group of us stayed here when seeing a show..the underground parking was convenient although quite pricey. The lobby and concierge is welcoming although pretty dated. the staff were friendly while checking us in.

The room however was without a doubt the smallest hotel room i have ever stayed in. lucky we had no luggage as there was no room for it! When we all met in the bar after dropping our stuff off, it was the first thing everyone said to each other-HOW SMALL ARE THE ROOMS! While laughing that my 6"7 boyfriend will have to open the window and stick his feet out if he's to lie down in bed!

The bar area was nice and convenient to have a few drinks in before the theatre, and while I mention it the location is excellent if you are seeing a show.

Overall, the hotel was clean and in a good location, just dont expect a big room!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

room was clean an tidy but a bit dated, stay were pleasant friendly, not bad for the price, definitely not a luxury hotel .near to west end for show, Oxford street for shopping and and tube station for getting around. good for folks an a budget. lifts are a bit slow.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
My Bloomsbury
My Bloomsbury
#419 of 1,077 in London
1,032 reviews
Covent Garden
Travelodge London Covent Garden
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Grange Lancaster Hotel
Grange Lancaster Hotel
#668 of 1,077 in London
344 reviews
Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
#370 of 1,077 in London
1,706 reviews
Bloomsbury
President Hotel
President Hotel
#506 of 1,077 in London
3,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel

Address: Bedford Avenue, London WC1B 3GH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Casino Hotel in London
Price Range: ₹ 6,894 - ₹ 15,253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 700
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location Location Location! The St Giles London (A St Giles Hotel) is arguably one of the most central hotels in the capital. Guests can walk to many major attractions and places to visit. Located in the heart of the West End, only 50 yards to Tottenham Court Road Station. Rooms are compact but well appointed, with a range of standard, deluxe and executive rooms for all budgets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Giles Hotel London
London St Giles Hotel
St Giles London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing