We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Location!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Strand Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Strand Palace Hotel
Ranked #370 of 1,078 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersGold level
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

The Strand is in the middle of everything! Perfect location for walking to the shows. We even walked down to the Old Globe for a show...not recommended in heels. The Strand is a wonderful hotel. Our room didn't have air conditioning, so we did have to open the windows to the busy street. Not a big deal, but some might find it hard to sleep.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank divingmommy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

8,350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,475
    3,496
    1,530
    538
    311
See reviews for
1,060
2,839
1,139
1,795
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,391)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

Although I have lunched at this hotel many times, my visit on the 7th June with my husband and guest for afternoon tea was both disappointing and a let down.

I booked afternoon tea for 3.00 p.m. and we were going to be some ten minutes late. I informed them of this situation and they were quite happy. We arrived and ordered but weren't asked what afternoon tea we wanted. The pot of tea came but some forty minutes later we were still waiting for the food! My husband asked the bar staff and said it would be coming within minutes, but still we waited. When it did arrive the cakes seemed to be thrown on the plate, the sandwiches were cold, as if they had been made earlier, then put into a chiller and very basic fillings. No one came near to replenish the tea pot or ask if we were OK.....and so it went on.

Eventually, I did speak to staff and said it was the worse afternoon tea I had experienced in London. Obviously something went wrong with the staff situation but I would have thought for the Jubilee week and school holidays, the hotel would have got their staff situation in good order.

All three of us will not be returning for afternoon tea ever again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VulcanLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2012
Dear Guest,

I’m sorry our service levels were not up to standard during your afternoon tea. We have since rectified the issue with yourself and I am pleased to know that you have since been back to dine with us again.

Regards,
David MacRae
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

I spent 4 nights at the Strand Palace Hotel, London over the period of the Diamond Jubilee. I can not praise the hotel enough and each member of staff were lovely and most helpful. The breakfasts were fantastic - efficiently served and the variety was amazing - all in all a great trip and greatly enhanced by the hotel stay.

Room Tip: I was on the 4th floor and was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabella D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

For the 3rd. time in a row visiting London, I chose to spend a few nights at this hotel. The single room is more of a closet, however, it's tidy and clean and the bathroom has recently been brought up to date, which is nice. The overnight charge and the guest facilities are quite OK and the restaurant and bar are too. Located next to Covent Garden and in walking distance from the Tube, Thames, Leicester Square, Picadilly, Big Ben and Soho, it' s really hard for me to find anything in this respect to complain about :o) I therefore recommend this hotel for Your next visit to London.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hammerdane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
132 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

Stayed for one night only, in a decent size single room. It wasn't large enough to have had room for a double bed, but for a single the space was OK. Roomy bathroom, with bath-tub and clean, white tiles all over. All in all, room was good, but they were renovating rooms at the time I was there (spring 2012) and so I suspect some rooms may be run-down while others (like mine) are newly refuribished.

The front doorman gives an impresson of a grander hotel than this really is, marching over as he did to open my black cab door almost before it had come to a complete stop. He welcomed me in and held open the hotel doors as well.

Turned out this was the best part of the hotel's service. Even with just a minor queue of 2 people in front of me at reception, the two staff on duty took a good 10 minutes processing them and myself during what seemed as straight-forward checkin-procedures for us all.

Same thing when checking out, only now there was no queue at all - but a (too) tideous procedure for the staff to work through in order to quite simply conclude that everything was settled beforehand for my (pre-paid) room. Granted, I could for instance have used the restaurant, leaving a tab to be settled - but checking out the balance shouldn't really take more than a few keyboard strokes and maybe 20 seconds in total...

One thing that's really great about this hotel is LOCATION, though. Just off Trafalgar Sq, you'd be hard pushed to find a place to stay that's better located for central London.

Room Tip: Rooms facing away from the street (Strand) are probably the best bet, with a lot of traffic and nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas2000040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Covent Garden
Kingsway Hall Hotel
Kingsway Hall Hotel
#212 of 1,078 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,778 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#15 of 1,078 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,005 reviews
Covent Garden
Radisson Blu Edwardian Mercer Street Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
#185 of 1,078 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
Westminster
The Grand at Trafalgar Square
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#73 of 1,078 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strand Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand Palace Hotel

Property: Strand Palace Hotel
Address: 372 Strand, London WC2R 0JJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in London
#232 Family Hotel in London
#261 Romantic Hotel in London
#263 Luxury Hotel in London
#347 Business Hotel in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,902 - ₹ 20,407
Hotel Class:4 star — Strand Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 785
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic four star Strand Palace Hotel stands with true grandeur in the heart of London's West End, on the doorstep of Covent Garden, Soho and Leicester Square. Since opening its doors in 1909, the hotel has remained a landmark in the area. With 785 guest rooms ranging from Cosy singles to larger Executive rooms, complimentary WiFi throughout, a well equipped gym, two restaurants, a destination Gin bar, a sports bar and a vast meeting space the hotel is ideal for business and leisure travellers alike. Covent Garden, Charing Cross and Embankment underground stations are also within easy reach as well as main line over ground train stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Prestigia and Agoda so you can book your Strand Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand Palace Hotel London
Hotel Strand Palace
Strand Palace London
Strand Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing