We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, good staff, rooms too small.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Strand Palace Hotel
Ranked #399 of 1,064 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great location, good staff, rooms too small.”
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Stayed one night on business trip. Hard to believe the room was a double, the bed was squashed up against the wall so one person had to climb over the other to get out. No bedside table on that side.
Extremely busy at breakfast but staff efficient and very helpful.
Great location for theatre, art galleries, sightseeing and shopping.
BUT: Never before have I had to pay for my luggage to be stored after checkout. I complained at the reception and the receptionist was very courteous and as a gesture of goodwill returned my money. However, I hope the management will note that the principle is wrong.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mbwam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMacrae, General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments - with regards to the charges for luggage storage, I can advise that we are currently reviewing our policy on this matter and will be making changes over the next few months. We currently need to charge due to the extremely high volume of luggage guests want to leave with us, and storage facilities are regrettably very limited.

Regards,
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

9,046 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,695
    3,756
    1,666
    592
    337
See reviews for
1,141
3,161
1,192
1,937
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,517)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Was such a lovely stay as soon as we arrived the manager had recieved an email from a family member to reveal we were on our honeymoon and insisted on upgrading us. He (Adnan) also had a bottle of wine and card ready to welcome us aswell as executive breakfast and helpful services with booking plays and transport to all the mojor sites. It was a truly memorable stay we will never forget!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kkennedy_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iver Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Another nice hotel, good staff, good breakfasts and a cracking location with Covent Garden two minutes walk away.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cidermanSlough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Stayed for four nights from 31 March, in a Single room. When I booked I thought I had got a good deal, and knew why when I arrived... the hotel is under renovation with scaffolding all round (you wouldn't know it from the inside though). Hotel has professional staff and a modern feel. The corridors are wide with enough lifts to serve guests. I like the fact that every floor has a vending machine that dispenses soft drinks, water, chocolates, etc. Rooms clean and comfortable. Single room has no fridge, but not a worry because of the vending machine on the floor. It is right in the heart of the Strand, good central location. Free wifi. Free business centre on ground floor, with complimentary printing facilities. Drawback at breakfast was that only pork meat served...

Room Tip: I wouldn't want a room right next to the lifts...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ibarisma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
102 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Impressive facade with an Iconic Address
Was not dissapointed in any way
Though busy(to be expected on a Saturday) check in was swift and easy, reception area very smart and welcoming
(Handy bag drop for shoppers or if you arrive to early to check in)
Floor layout is a little confusing as this hotel has many rooms over 7/8 floors, but, once located,was pleasantly surprised by the room itself
Recently re-furbished to a high standard and spotlessly clean, i had a single room but did not feel i was in a converted broom cupboard as can sometimes be the case
Bathroom light& airy and well appointed,
Do not hesitate, book it

Room Tip: As mentioned, the floor layout is on a gris system which can be a little confusing at first sight
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrevorM434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#19 of 1,064 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,595 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#31 of 1,064 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Southbank
Premier Inn London County Hall Hotel
Covent Garden
Kingsway Hall Hotel
Kingsway Hall Hotel
#254 of 1,064 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strand Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand Palace Hotel

Property: Strand Palace Hotel
Address: 372 Strand, London WC2R 0JJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in London
#232 Family Hotel in London
#261 Romantic Hotel in London
#278 Luxury Hotel in London
#347 Business Hotel in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,274 - ₹ 20,866
Hotel Class:4 star — Strand Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 785
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic four star Strand Palace Hotel stands with true grandeur in the heart of London's West End, on the doorstep of Covent Garden, Soho and Leicester Square. Since opening its doors in 1909, the hotel has remained a landmark in the area. With 785 guest rooms ranging from Cosy singles to larger Executive rooms, complimentary WiFi throughout, a well equipped gym, two restaurants, a destination Gin bar, a sports bar and a vast meeting space the hotel is ideal for business and leisure travellers alike. Covent Garden, Charing Cross and Embankment underground stations are also within easy reach as well as main line over ground train stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Strand Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand Palace Hotel London
Hotel Strand Palace
Strand Palace London
Strand Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing