We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overnight Leisure” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Strand Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Strand Palace Hotel
Ranked #388 of 1,089 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersGold level
Derby
Level Contributor
98 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Overnight Leisure”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

Impressive facade with an Iconic Address
Was not dissapointed in any way
Though busy(to be expected on a Saturday) check in was swift and easy, reception area very smart and welcoming
(Handy bag drop for shoppers or if you arrive to early to check in)
Floor layout is a little confusing as this hotel has many rooms over 7/8 floors, but, once located,was pleasantly surprised by the room itself
Recently re-furbished to a high standard and spotlessly clean, i had a single room but did not feel i was in a converted broom cupboard as can sometimes be the case
Bathroom light& airy and well appointed,
Do not hesitate, book it

Room Tip: As mentioned, the floor layout is on a gris system which can be a little confusing at first sight
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TrevorM434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

8,865 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,650
    3,689
    1,621
    576
    329
See reviews for
1,119
3,090
1,173
1,898
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,475)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

I really enjoyed staying at this hotel, as it's very close to Covent Garden, and you can walk easily to lots of places. The room was clean and the beds were comfy. The staff are helpful and friendly. We did not try breakfast, but there are many great cafes near the hotel (including Starbucks). If you want to relax in London and be close to a metro station, restaurants and other great places, I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristiana2706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

got a good deal by booking one of the 'rooms without a view'; due to scaffolding up. didn't bother me at all as i was only looking for somewhere to sleep. Room was nicely furnished, small but everything was there and spotlessly clean.

Easy walk to Covent Garden and then onto the west end. Staff helpful.

Building work began at 9 am the next morning but i had been prewarned and it didn't disturb my stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ABSWLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

I've stayed at this hotels several times over the last three or four years, and bascially it is a standard, reasonable quality hotel. The rooms are clean, though suffer a little in layout (in the last couple of single rooms I was in, the bed was up against the corridor wall rather than with the bathroom in between, so you do get a bit of noise transfer).

The breakfasts are good, and the location is very, very good - handy for visits to Covent Garden, the West End theatres, the National Galleries, or, as in my case, only 20 mins walk from The City.

It's good value at the corporate rate, but I wouldn't pay the advertised rack rate.

What lets the hotel down though, is the attitude of some (and by no means all) of the staff. Those on reception and breakfast duty all seem very eager to please. However, on a previous visit I turned up at the restuarant at 10.02pm and was refused entry by a very rude individual. I know the restuarant took last orders at 10pm, but other, seated diners were still to place their orders and I knew exactly what I wanted.

And I think this illustrates the main issue with the hotel - it's doesn't seem to have a target market and spreads itself too thinly catering for package tours and the business market. As a member of the latter (in this case) the last thing I want to hear after a long day in the office is that I can't eat in the restaurant due to it being 2 minutes late.

Room Tip: As others have said, the rooms that over look the central atrium/light well are quieter but do remov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank macbeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMacrae, General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments, some of which do concern me. Firstly, regarding the way you were dealt with by our restaurant staff is undeniably totally unsatisfactory and please be assured that my catering manager has been made fully aware of the matter so that he can attend to the matter with his team. Indeed it would be most helpful if you were able to supply me with a specific date when the incident took place - I would very much welcome this information. Please be assured what you encountered is not our usual standard and I sincerely apologise for what you encountered. I would also like to highlight that these days we actually have very few package tours in the hotel. With regards to the single room you were allocated, indeed in a very small number of our singles, beds are against walls. I would suggest that when you book with us again that at the reservations stage, if you have a particular room preference do let the reservations clerk know, and if we can accommodate your request we will do so. Depending on occupancy levels we always try to satisfy guests special requirements.

Thank you once again for your comments.

Regards,
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
158 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

I would not normally stay in a large hotel, but the recent deal on rooms, because of the external renovation, sealed the deal.
The best thing about the hotel is the location. From Heathrow- you have no line switches on the Tube- get off at Covent Garden and an easy 2 blocks or so. And, from the hotel, you have bus stops all around, you can walk around the entire West End and still be only a few minutes walk back to the hotel.
You are in theater central, and also have the best SoHo restaurants to choose from.
Free Wifi is always nice, and the computers in the lobby were a nice touch, printer handy!
The room was small. We are talking the type with the bed against the wall, the bathroom like a cruise ship- but it works. The closet space allows you to arrange everything to have enough room.
My only complaint about the room was the noise- walls are very thin, and being a large place, there is a lot going on. Ear plugs are a must- we overlooked Strand, and even the morning traffic would wake you up.
But, the comfort is all there- nice bed, linens, hot shower, fast elevator.
I did not use any of the restaurants, so no comment on that.
The front desk and staff were all very nice, even when I needed to extend my stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelDreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#29 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,043 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#16 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Southbank
Premier Inn London County Hall Hotel
Covent Garden
Kingsway Hall Hotel
Kingsway Hall Hotel
#243 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strand Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand Palace Hotel

Property: Strand Palace Hotel
Address: 372 Strand, London WC2R 0JJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in London
#232 Family Hotel in London
#261 Romantic Hotel in London
#273 Luxury Hotel in London
#347 Business Hotel in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,017 - ₹ 19,749
Hotel Class:4 star — Strand Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 785
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic four star Strand Palace Hotel stands with true grandeur in the heart of London's West End, on the doorstep of Covent Garden, Soho and Leicester Square. Since opening its doors in 1909, the hotel has remained a landmark in the area. With 785 guest rooms ranging from Cosy singles to larger Executive rooms, complimentary WiFi throughout, a well equipped gym, two restaurants, a destination Gin bar, a sports bar and a vast meeting space the hotel is ideal for business and leisure travellers alike. Covent Garden, Charing Cross and Embankment underground stations are also within easy reach as well as main line over ground train stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Prestigia and Agoda so you can book your Strand Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand Palace Hotel London
Hotel Strand Palace
Strand Palace London
Strand Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing