We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTING!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Strand Palace Hotel
Ranked #409 of 1,067 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersGold level
Belfast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTING!!”
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Nothing special about this hotel AT ALL! rooms are very small, smallest hotel room iv ever been in! After a long day in London my Fiance and I got back late to discover that are key cards did not work. To our disbelieve we were then told by receptionist that we could not get into our hotel room (which we paid to stay in for the weekend) until we pay a £250 FINE as they gathered evidence of smoking in the room! Their so called evidence was a picture of an empty cigarette cartoon in our hotel room and apparently they could smell smoke from the room (from clothes my fiance had been wearing all day which of course did smell of smoke). I found this absolutely disgraceful that we were being ACCUSED of something we did not do. We were not allowed into our room and were not allowed to get any of our belongings from the hotel room until we paid the fine which we did not have, so we were being evicted to the streets with no were to stay. It was an absolute disgrace of a hotel from start to finish!! I will NEVER be back!!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms are terrible!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francesca N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMacrae, General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Hi,

The very poor mark from this reviewer is clearly due to the fact that we levied an extra charge for smoking in one of our bedrooms. Our hotel operates a strict non smoking policy and we do charge, if we have substantial evidence (as in this case) that guests have been smoking in our bedrooms. The amount of the charge can easily be justified as the bedroom can sometimes be out of order for several days before it can be returned to service. We certainly do not take charging guests for incidents such as this lightly, and regret having to do so, but in the interest of other guests and indeed in order to conform with the law.

Regards,
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

9,149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,720
    3,786
    1,686
    605
    352
See reviews for
1,154
3,199
1,199
1,967
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,537)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Located just behind covent garden, easily reachable by tube.
Very big hotel but the room was very very small. Clean and bed was comfortable. Complimentary water bottle was nice and wi-fi also included.
I had an executive suite but I don't really know what the executive part was or if "non executive" rooms are even worse. No fitness center.
Breakfast was nothing extraordinary but ok.
Overall a pretty standard hotel

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ttalevi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMacrae, General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, however to avoid confusion we would like to point out that we do not have any suites in the hotel, merely larger than average bedrooms with additional facilities and privileges. Although we do not have a fitness centre within the hotel we do offer complimentary entry to the Virgin Active leisure centre which is less than 100 metres away.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Regards,
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Having stayed at the Strand Palace on many occasions it was well run and efficient as usual.
It's central position really makes it my hotel of choice when in London.The prices are very competitive for London.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whitleywarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, Cheshire
Level Contributor
191 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed here for a one night stay, we chose it because of the central location which to be fair makes this a great place to stay. To be honest the hotel was lovely in all the public areas but, I felt that the rooms were nothing special. The toiletries in the rooms were quite cheap to be honest. However, at £90pppn I expected a lot more. The secondary double glazing in our room had been removed and as the room was on the front of the Hotel we suffered loads of noise all night. When we complained all that we were offered was a free upgrade when we next visit and I don't think that is good enough.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms that front onto The Strand
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DINKEtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMacrae, General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I apologise that the lack of secondary glazing in your room ruined your stay at the Strand Palace Hotel, and whilst I am pleased that our offer of an upgrade on your next stay was made, I do appreciate that this may seem insignificant. I would be interested to ascertain however, if you brought this matter to attention on arrival or when you were departing, as I would like to think that had we been made aware of the problem on check in, we would have moved you to a different room. Once again please accept my apologies, and I assure you that should you return to the hotel we will ensure you have a more comfortable and acceptable stay.

Regards,
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The Strand palace is a favourite of mine when going to London.
Location is excellent and less than 10 min walk to Piccadilly.
Recently refuirbished the rooms are average but good.
Breakfast is excellent.
Can be expensive but web has deals.

Room Tip: club rooms not worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tMCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Clapham / Battersea 
Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,067 in London
3,661 reviews
Westminster
DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strand Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand Palace Hotel

Property: Strand Palace Hotel
Address: 372 Strand, London WC2R 0JJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in London
#232 Family Hotel in London
#261 Romantic Hotel in London
#284 Luxury Hotel in London
#347 Business Hotel in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,330 - ₹ 21,429
Hotel Class:4 star — Strand Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 785
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming guests since 1909, the Strand Palace Hotel is surrounded by the best London has to offer. Set on the Strand in the heart of the capital's West End, the hotel is mere moments from Covent Garden, Trafalgar Square and the Thames, making it the perfect location for discovering cultural icons and for those travelling on business. The hotel is home to an award-winning restaurant serving British as well as superb bars offering afternoon teas and exquisite cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Agoda, Ctrip TA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Strand Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand Palace Hotel London
Hotel Strand Palace
Strand Palace London
Strand Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing