We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Strand Palace Hotel
Ranked #454 of 1,081 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Just arrived and very disappointed. Massive queue at check in and surly receptionist. Wanted to upgrade our room so that our whole party could use the sane upgraded breakfast room, but they were going to charge us £50 per night rather than their advertised £30 just because we had booked through an agent.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edin555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMacrae, General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. Just to advise, guests can upgrade to a higher room category by paying a supplement of £30. An additional £20 charge was levied as the upgrade was also to a higher room type. This would be the policy regardless of whether the booking was directly with the hotel or through an agent.

We do hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Regards,
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (10,481)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7,664 - 7,668 of 10,481 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2012

There is no doubt that The Strand Palace Hotel on the Strand is very central to theatres
and other sites in London. Saying this, you can choose the level of room you wish to
pay for (we chose superking beds inc breakfast) and all rooms have just been refurbished.
The real plus is the service. The concierge found us show tickets at short notice. The staff
in the Brassiere and the main restaurant were always more than helpful. Nothing was too
much trouble. We put that we would like a quiet room
on our reservation and we got one. Don't try looking for a cheaper price on the internet
You won't find one. I can highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room if you want one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heidi d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Nice location. Comfortable rooms. Friendly staff. Continental breakfast with fruit, hot oatmeal, milk, cereal - 8 pounds, not bad for London.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sacramentan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Only needed a room for 2 nights - can't beat the location for the price. Had a "club" twin room - very small, but had everything I needed since I didn't spend much time in the room. Close to many of the major attractions, and the concierge is most helpful. All staff were willing to please, restaurants were staffed properly. Would I go back - YES!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neverhome407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Really happy with the choice we made to stay here. The rooms we stayed in was quite small but was clean and new quality decor and fittings. It is in a perfect location. The buffet breakfast was good. When we arrived for breakfast it was quite busy but the manager was brilliant and managed his staff well so that the tables were being cleared quickly. The consierge was fantastic and booked a west end show for us with minimul fuss. Well run place.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#24 of 1,081 in London
4,213 reviews
Covent Garden
Travelodge London Covent Garden
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Waldorf Hilton London
The Waldorf Hilton London
#338 of 1,081 in London
4,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Covent Garden
Radisson Blu Edwardian Mercer Street Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strand Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand Palace Hotel

Address: 372 Strand, London WC2R 0JJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in London
#259 Romantic Hotel in London
#304 Luxury Hotel in London
#343 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: ₹ 9,744 - ₹ 19,668 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Strand Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 785
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming guests since 1909, the Strand Palace Hotel is surrounded by the best London has to offer. Set on the Strand in the heart of the capital's West End, the hotel is mere moments from Covent Garden, Trafalgar Square and the Thames, making it the perfect location for discovering cultural icons and for those travelling on business. The hotel is home to an award-winning restaurant serving British cuisine, including cooked breakfast, as well as superb bars offering afternoon teas and exquisite cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Strand Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand Palace Hotel London
Hotel Strand Palace
Strand Palace London
Strand Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing