We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Beautiful Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Tower

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Tower
Ranked #257 of 1,087 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2010

I found the hotel to be of a high standard. The rooms were clean and the bed and pillows extremely comfortable. The best though was the location and I was pleased to find though I had a single room I had stunning views of the Thames and Tower Bridge. Would definitely stay here again!.

Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurajojo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

6,079 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,325
    2,278
    914
    337
    225
See reviews for
805
2,570
249
1,356
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,781)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2010

The hotel stay was generally fine. Another reviewer noted the small rooms. The room service staff were helpfull in the extreme providing sellotape and other bits for my children to surprise their mother. I tipped the young lady who was cleaning the room £10 because it was a bit of a mess after our 'party'!. She left it looking back to normal. So far full marks... BUT
My wife sorted the checkout and paid the bill. Twice she queried it but was assured that it was OK and settled. I have just got home to find that they have, without my permission OR presence, made a charge against my credit card. No bill, no chance to check. This is completely unacceptable and, I am pretty certain, breaks the conditions of service of the credit card company. I check my card statement online regularly otherwise this might not have been spotted. I don't give a toss about the money but this sort of activity can hide credit card abuse. I have had occasion before to spot a restaurant 'sweethearting' someone elses bill onto my card. This is more serious. They have your creedit card number as you check in 'just to be on the safe side' and then you are vulnerable to this sort of behaviour.
In spite of what should have been a good weekend, I will not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bellator1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuomanTower, Manager at The Tower, responded to this review, 30 September 2010
Dear Guest

thank you for your comments
Regarding your credit card allegations, this is highly concerning and this should be taken up directly with the hotel manager.
Credit card authorisation are standard practice, and if we do not hear from you, we will assume your allegations of your credit card misuse are unfounded.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2010

We had booked a package with train and hotel and we were not disappointed. Yes its not the most amazing looking building but it has wonderful views. It is getting a little old but the rooms were very clean and the service was great. Room service helped us with all kinds of requests even finding selotape for us and I was impressed by the staff. There was a trainee on the reception and she was very helpful and at breakfast when i dont like tea or coffee, the waiter went out of his way to offer and bring me some hot chocolate. The concierge service were also very informative and helpful. Thanks for a great weekend.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jemma79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuomanTower, Manager at The Tower, responded to this review, 30 September 2010
Thank you for your review on your time at The Tower. I am delighted you had a pleasant stay with us and that you were particularly happy with your bedroom and the service of the staff. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2010

The outside looks a little weathered, but it's clean inside. I was early, so I got upgraded (for 20 extra a night) to a bigger room on the 4th floor.

Here's a hotel walk through: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r9p00dWDfPY

Super Easy to get to from Heathrow - Just take the Tube on Piccadilly Line then transfer to the Circle / District Line (at either South Kensington, Earls Court, Barons Court, or any other transfer point) and get off at Tower Hill.
From there, just walk towards the bridge, and it's at the base of the Tower on the left hand side. There are signs that mark it The Tower Guoman Hotels.

The have a weird erotic fountain out front of a dolphin...peeing on a man? However, the Starbucks attached to the hotel makes up for it. There are a lot of great places to eat in the near area. Keep in mind, if you're coming from North America, that things usually cost the same in pounds as they do in dollars at home, even though a pound is worth much more than a dollar.

Important fact: pubs here close at 11pm.

I got a fair price on a package deal, so I would recommend this hotel. The recommendation is mostly based on location.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TaylorJackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2010

Stayed in mid August for a family celebration and was extremely disappointed by both the level of service and the state of repair of this alleged 4* Hotel. Reception staff were sharp and unwelcoming, organisation at breakfast was non existent and my room was damp with mouldy curtains. The Tower clearly sells rooms due to the excellent location but is not at all what it should be given the star status it holds.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tjg1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Hilton London Tower Bridge
Hilton London Tower Bridge
#179 of 1,087 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,834 reviews
City of London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
citizenM Tower of London Hotel
Covent Garden
Strand Palace Hotel
Strand Palace Hotel
#381 of 1,087 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,737 reviews
Whitechapel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
#206 of 1,087 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tower? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tower

Property: The Tower
Address: St Katharine's Way, London E1W 1LD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#192 Luxury Hotel in London
#201 Romantic Hotel in London
#224 Family Hotel in London
#292 Business Hotel in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,118 - ₹ 22,987
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tower 4*
Number of rooms: 801
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large contemporary hotel located at St. Katharine's Dock on banks of the Thames, overlooking Tower Bridge, the Tower of London and the Shard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Ostrovok so you can book your The Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tower Hotel London
The Tower London
Hotel Thistle
London The Tower

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing