We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the best hotel I've stayed” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Tower

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Tower
Ranked #260 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not the best hotel I've stayed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2010

I stayed at this hotel on 8 August 2010. We arrived at 1:45 & were told our room was not ready. We asked when it would be ready as we had to be elsewhere at 3pm & were offered a room upgrade at no extra charge which we took because we were in a hurry. The upgraded room, whilst very clean and comfortable, was very small. Breakfast was ok. Staff were very helpful. Although the weather was hot whilst we were in London the aircon in the hotel was very effective so the room was not unpleasantly hot as they so often are in London hotels. Good location by Tower Bridge & Tower of London.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mg12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

6,194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,380
    2,322
    927
    337
    228
See reviews for
821
2,624
249
1,380
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,804)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2010

We had a very comfortable stay at this hotel, although I found parts of the hotel to look a little tired..
The view of the bridge is really something special, so it is worth asking for a room facing that way when you make your reservations.
The hotel also has a parking facility with a very competitive price for London.
Breakfast was traditional English of a decent quality.
A little pricy but worth it as it was a special occasion.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KariJazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2010

Considering the volume of people that pass through this hotel, the quality of service was very high.

There was plenty of staff on hand to handle check in/ out and the rooms were spotlessly clean.

The breakfast team were attentive and courteous, despite the numbers and the food was fine.

Room service was quick and friendly.

This type of hotel is always going to be impersonal, but we would go back, and in fact, one of our party -we were attending a wedding- is intending to do just that.

My partner's daughter left a denim jacket behind in her room. She was getting hassled to leave by her sister! A phone call the next day and it was sorted; the offending jacket returned in 2 days at a cost of £4. That was impressive and sums up or 2 nights at this excellent hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Octoberman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2010

we stayed 1 night with a room overlooking St. Katherine's Dock. Nice room good size. Clean and friendly staff. continental breakfast OK.
thank goodness we didn't have to pay £11 or £18 for full english breakfast. underground car park £20. overall pretty good.

Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kitridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuomanTower, Manager at The Tower, responded to this review, 11 August 2010
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at The Tower. I am pleased to hear that you were happy with your bedroom and the service the team provided you with. I apologise for your disappointment with breakfast.
Customer satisfaction is crucial to us and therefore we are welcoming to all comments whether positive or negative. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge Uk
Level Contributor
114 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2010

We had 2 nice rooms overlooking St Katerines Docks, very nice watching the boats queue in and out of the lock. Comfy beds and a good nights sleep
However, breakfast>>>> We booked room and full English breakfast (as my son did last year) When we arrived the Manager insisted we were only entitled to continental. It did take 2 firm requests for her to check and then agreed we did have full english (same as my son a year ago!) We sat down and the manager again said continental - and I again disagreed!!!!(at this point, a year ago, my son caved in and paid for 2 additonal fees which I had refunded)
Call me a cynic but quite a few people were told they had continental breakfast and many probably had no idea what their tour operator had booked for them.
Is there something a wee bit fishy going on here?
We will not return as this was no coincidence, we can find a lot better in London without this going on

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marypa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuomanTower, Manager at The Tower, responded to this review, 11 August 2010
Thank you for your review on your recent stay at The Tower. I was delighted to read that you had a pleasant stay. Customer satisfaction is crucial to us and therefore we are welcoming to all comments whether positive or negative. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Hilton London Tower Bridge
Hilton London Tower Bridge
#178 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,883 reviews
City of London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
citizenM Tower of London Hotel
Covent Garden
Strand Palace Hotel
Strand Palace Hotel
#388 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,865 reviews
Whitechapel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
#210 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tower? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tower

Property: The Tower
Address: St Katharine's Way, London E1W 1LD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#194 Luxury Hotel in London
#201 Romantic Hotel in London
#224 Family Hotel in London
#292 Business Hotel in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,098 - ₹ 23,992
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tower 4*
Number of rooms: 801
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large contemporary hotel located at St. Katharine's Dock on banks of the Thames, overlooking Tower Bridge, the Tower of London and the Shard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your The Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tower Hotel London
The Tower London
Hotel Thistle
London The Tower

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing