We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant location ,friendly staff and lovely room”
Review of The Academy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Academy
Ranked #530 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Pontefract, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Brilliant location ,friendly staff and lovely room”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Location very close to Oxford street. staff extremely helpful. Family room for 4 good value and for teenagers had ipod docking station! Flatscreen tv and mini bar. Lounge and garden to sit in. Breakfast very average.

Room Tip: Junior suite sleeps 4, with 2 twin beds and fold down settee bed, all very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolyn h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AcademyHotel, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for sharing your experience here with us at The Academy Hotel.

I was pleased to read that our “boutique” has been the ideal place to spend some time with your family.

Looking forward to welcome you again in the future and please do check our website as throughout 2012 we will upload offers and packages as “it pays to book direct”

Kind Regards,

Federico Ciampi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

758 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    269
    168
    85
    40
See reviews for
118
261
69
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Had a night at The Acodemy April 2012 and booked via lastminute.com. The hotel is in a great central location which, as we were visiting the BBC was the main reason for staying, also the price of £150 for the night seemed pretty good. The hotel is very pretty from the outside and the reception was very tidy and smart. The staff were friendly and helpfully. The room, however, was tiny and in the roof, 4 floors up with no lift. The room itself was clean and tidy, the bed comfortable and there is a tv with loads of channels, a mini bar and safe. The shower room was minuscule and very tired. Cracked tiles and really not up to scratch. The room has aircon, as it's up in the gods which was noisy but very efficient. I probably wouldn't stay again but I unstandardised that the more expensive rooms are much nicer and probably nearer the ground. Problem is there are hundreds of hotels in the area and I'm sure some much better at the same price.

Room Tip: Go for a room nearer ground level and bigger if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kipims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AcademyHotel, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share you experience with us.

I was pleased to read that you found our hotel in a great location and that our staff were helpful throughout your stay.

We do have a variety of room spread over 3 floors and due to the heritage of the building, there is indeed no lifts, however as you saw it is fulfilled with charm and history.

I would be delighted to see you coming back to stay with us and maybe book one of our Suite which now offer you the opportunity to experience our new luxury toiletries from Gilchrist & Soames and our new Nespresso coffee machine.

Our prices are at the moment in line with the rest of the 4* hotels in the area, however please do continue to check our website as we are uploading promotions and packages throughout the year as “it pays to book direct”


Kind Regards,


Federico Ciampi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parma, Italy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Classy outside, disappointing inside. Cold staff, small room, poor breakfast. Very very elegant entrance, but that's it. Not worth the money, especially as there are much cheaper and still decent hotels in the zone (which, by the way, is great to visit the city).
Very good, though, if you're visiting RADA (Royal Academy of Dramatic Arts), which is right across the street (I could see the classrooms from my hotel window).

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cam789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AcademyHotel, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for sharing your stay here with us from last year whilst in the capital.

I was disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay. Your feedbacks are related to areas which have seen a definite change over the last 8 months thanks to the hard work that we have input into it in order to improve the high standards that we strive to achieve here at The Academy.

Since last year in July the Hotel has gone through a soft refurbishment programme and I would be delighted if you would have the chance to stay with us again to see the difference.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly for your next visit and please do check our website throughout this year as we are always uploading special offers and packages as “it pays to book direct”

Once again thank you for sharing your feedback,

Kind Regards,

Federico Ciampi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Bloomsbury area is ideal for a London stay. Our room was at the back of the hotel and it is the first time I have stayed in London and enjoyed a peaceful and undisturbed sleep. Lovely breakfast - went for the continental - lots of choice: freshly cut fruit, cheeses, ham, pastries...
Staff friendly and helpful. Highly recommended. Also book directly with the hotel - their rates are very competitive. Hope to return when it is a little warmer and enjoy the garden too.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluebell1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AcademyHotel, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you so much for letting us know about your recent stay with us.

I was pleased to read that you did enjoy your stay and that you had the chance to have a good night sleep.

Our breakfast is one of the areas where we are trying to improve constantly as we do understand the importance of starting the day correctly.

We are looking forward as well to the good weather in order to use fully our both gardens and please do let me know when you are planning to do so.

Throughout 2012 we are uploading special offers and packages on our website as “it pays to book direct” this year.

Once again thank you for choosing our Hotel,

Kind Regards,

Federico Ciampi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Finding a nice hotel in London that does not cost the earth can be a task. However, now that I have found such a place, I will return time and again. The location is lovely, the rooms well appointed, the staff attentive. Yes some interior decor is a little tired, but show me a hotel that doesn't have the odd fault. Its location means you walk through the some lovley areas of London that I hadn't yet seen. You are transported back in time when you walk through Bedford Square. The breakfast was continental as part of the booking and could have done with some more cold meats and the cooked breakfast a tad steep in price. The mini bar required a small mortgage if you dared pop the top of the jar of nuts (£5!!), but I guess that's the same all over. They would probably make more money by reducing the price of the items. All in all this was a nice place to stay and the hotel gamble paid off. I would recommend it and I would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room upstairs. There are some in the basement which sound awful but are actually ok. If I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PC520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AcademyHotel, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your weekend in London and most of all about your stay in our Hotel.

I was delighted to read such positive comments and certainly will pass them on to the other team members.

We are indeed in the process of changing our minibar selection in order to give to our guests a wider and nicer choice.

I am looking forward to welcome you again in the future and please do not hesitate to check on our website for some great deals, as “it pays to book direct” this year.

Kind Regards,

Federico Ciampi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Staunton Hotel
Staunton Hotel
#550 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Bloomsbury
My Bloomsbury
My Bloomsbury
#385 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#131 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#337 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,044 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#294 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Clarendon Hotel
Grange Clarendon Hotel
#480 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Academy? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Academy

Property: The Academy
Address: 21 Gower Street | Bloomsbury, Fitzrovia, London WC1E 6HG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#331 Luxury Hotel in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,800 - ₹ 20,680
Hotel Class:4 star — The Academy 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Academy is one of London's most charming hotels. Located right in the heart of London's West End, it is just a stone’s throw away from the city's finest shops and restaurants and well located for visiting The British Museum. This four-star boutique hotel, in London's Bloomsbury, is made up of five restored Georgian townhouses with 49 rooms and is a comfortable base from which to explore the sights of our capital. This small, quirky hotel comes complete with a cosy library, beautiful conservatory and homely sitting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Academy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Academy Hotel London
Academy Hotel London
Academy London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing