We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An aging gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
London Marriott Hotel Marble Arch
Ranked #394 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

Marriotts outside of North America tend to be more quirky than the rather staid and standardized designs in the USA and Canada. This one qualify's for certain.

The hallways are a 1970's dream with drop down tile ceilings! Not a good first impression. But look beyond that!

The good to great!

1. An executive lounge that makes you feel special - great breakfast and evening cocktails!
2. A fitness room that is well equipped for the business traveller with a larger than average hotel pool.
3. Rooms that are larger than average for Europe!
4. Great doormen!

The need improvements:
1. Strict division of duties - the concierge does not do checking - even for gold members and with a line at checkin.
2. A hotel restaurant whose name characterizes the food and service - pickled! Never seen a Marriott restaurant so poorly run! Both the service and food were poor.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank socrates1375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross P, General Manager at London Marriott Hotel Marble Arch, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Dear Socrates, thank you for positing a review following your visit to the London Marriott Hotel, Marble Arch. We appreciate you feedback and as we endeavour to continuously improve the facilities and services we provide all our guests. Thank you also for the kind comments in regards the Lounge and the Doormen. We trust that we will be able to welcome you back in the near future to the and the service that you expect at Marriott Hotels. Kind regards, Ross Paton.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,621)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

70 - 74 of 1,621 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

Without being too critical
It's not that great a hotel for the price
Rooms are not that big at all. The washrooms are terribly small
If you are a high tier member and have use of the lounge. It's probably the worst lounge. They don't refill anything. It's not user friendly at all.
If your planning to go for breakfast plan ahead as the lift's take at least 10 minutes
The only positive is it's close to Marble Arch, walking distance to Oxford Street
There are better alternatives

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Anil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross P, Manager at London Marriott Hotel Marble Arch, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Dear Anil P, thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent visit to the London Marriott Hotel, Marble Arch. We very much appreciate your comments and feedback as this allows me to review all the services and facilities we provide our guests and where necessary action any necessary changes. I do trust that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the London Marriott Hotel, Marble Arch in the very near future. If I could ask that you contact me prior to you next visit and I will personally oversee your arrangements. Kind regards and best wishes. Ross Paton, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

Walkable from Marble Acrh station but a little far (if you know how to take bus it would be easier). The Main Street facing the hotel is full of Arabic restaurants and customers are smoking water pipes all day. Elevator needs refurbishment. Lounge is way too small and is always crowded. Gold Elite but no upgrade (unfortunately) stuck in a tiny room. Breakfast restaurant on the ground floor was excellent. Nice selection and good service.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bijou2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross P, General Manager at London Marriott Hotel Marble Arch, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Dear Bijou2006, thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent visit to the London Marriott Hotel, Marble Arch. We very much appreciate your kind comments and feedback as this allows me to review all the services and facilities we provide our guests and where necessary action any necessary changes. I do trust that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the London Marriott Hotel, Marble Arch in the very near future. Kind regards and best wishes. Ross Paton, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

Having read the reviews on TripAdvisor, I have to say I was a little anxious about our stay here. It turns out, they were mostly unfounded. I stayed here for a couple of nights with my parents and the room was well furnished and roomy (especially by European standards), the executive lounge had good offerings, and the service was impeccable. Having just transferred hotels from the Grosvenor House on Park Lane, I didn't have high expectations but our stay was actually pretty good! They were able to provide us an early check-in which was very helpful, and the front desk and bellboys/doorman were very kind and eager to assist. I've noticed a lot of reviews that comment that this hotel is in a Middle Eastern neighborhood...yes, this is true, and there are several restaurants and hookah bars in the area. If this makes you uncomfortable enough to avoid the hotel or write a negative review, I think that's silly, but that's just my opinion. We found it to be a convenient location (short walk to the Marble Arch underground and buses) as well as with several restaurants and pubs in the area. We were starving and opted to have a meal at the Pickled Hen (the hotel restaurant) and we were pleasantly surprised! The food was actually quite delicious and service was great.

Overall, I would stay here again especially at the price point we were able to get this hotel at. My only (minor) complaint was that we had the "Do Not Disturb" sign on the door and they came in to leave a package on our bed. I would have preferred they held on to it at the front desk until we were back at hotel, but again, this was minor!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TLJ87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

Visited while in London for an evening function close by. The hotel is just off Edgware Rd, so close to Marble Arch. It is a 10 min walk from Paddington station.

It looks like it has been recently refurbished and I liked the feel of the bar.

Rooms are well presented, and while small compared to US hotels where I do most of my travelling it was perfectly adequate.

Door staff were very friendly and attentive.

My colleagues came back to the bar after the event and they were all impressed, so a good meeting venue too.

Not cheap, but where is in central London, and I'd say it was good value.

Only giving a 4 due to room size and clunky check in process, but I'd certainly stay again.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
3  Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
#101 of 1,081 in London
1,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London Marriott Hotel Marble Arch? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Marriott Hotel Marble Arch

Address: 134 George Street, London W1H 5DN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#276 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: ₹ 14,844 - ₹ 30,684 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — London Marriott Hotel Marble Arch 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to 4-star luxury at London Marriott Hotel Marble Arch. Our stylish and contemporary Marble Arch hotel in London, England offers newly redesigned bedrooms featuring Apple TV technology and deluxe bedding, within walking distance of many captivating Central London destinations, such as Buckingham Palace, Hyde Park, Mayfair and Oxford Street shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your London Marriott Hotel Marble Arch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott London
London Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing