We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Can I interest you in a proper room, sir"?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Royal Horseguards
Ranked #114 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“"Can I interest you in a proper room, sir"?”
Reviewed 7 March 2012

My heart sinks when I check in to a so called 5* hotel and the receptionist asks me if I want to upgrade my room for another thirty quid. He's basically saying "You've been conned". The five star room you thought you'd booked is in fact a refurbished, windowless broom cupboard and if you want any sight of daylight, you gotta pay more. It stinks.

Being an older building, The Royal Horseguards has many internal rooms which at best, (room *04) face onto narrow vertical passages which deny you any view of the sky, and at worst (room *21) which appear to have an artificial window with a light behind it. To add insult to injury, the beds "double" beds in these rooms are 4' 6" wide. In my opinion that's a single bed in a five star hotel. Apparently, only 20 rooms have king size beds.

My advice is to print the photograph of the example of the room you have booked from the hotel's website, and point out to the receptionist that it indicates that dayight is included. My advice to the management is to take as example the The Strand Palace Hotel, where rooms 'without a view' are clearly stated and discounted accordingly. And stop pretending to be a five star hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the street, or better still, the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CrestaRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay with us at The Royal Horseguards, Please accept my apologies for the obvious disappointment you experienced with the lack of light in your room and the size of the bed.

As you have stated we are located in an old building, dating back to 1885 and unfortunately a proportion of our rooms are located on the inner court wells which do have limited natural day light. We do sell these rooms as our base product in acknowledgement of this factor. Some of our guests do prefer our court view rooms as they considered quieter and therefore easier to sleep in if you are not used to the noise of a busy city.

As all our rooms are different in shape and size, the designer allocated the largest bed possible to fit the space in the room when the refurbishment took place. As you quite rightly say, we do only have 20 Executive King rooms with river view available to book, however over 45% of our Executive double rooms do have king beds in them but we not sell them as a separate room category as we believe having too many rooms options can become confusing when trying to reserve a room.

I do hope you would reconsider about returning to us, so that we could be given the opportunity to prove to you that we are a 5 star property.

Kind regards,

Anna-Marie Dowling
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,646 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,123
    1,001
    330
    137
    55
See reviews for
709
2,328
140
675
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,267)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

I was reading a lot good reviews before making the booking, every little details is well take case and on top of it got a free upgrade without even asking.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giggelsteiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Reply.
It's wonderful to hear we exceeded your expectations and took care of all the little details for you. Come back and see us again soon!



Kind regards,
Anna-Marie Dowling
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We stayed at the hotel last summer for three nights for our 19th Wedding Anniversary. We weren't disappointed. Reception staff very friendly and helpful with the doorman making us laugh. There were complimentary chocolates in our bedroom which was a very nice touch. The bedroom was a good size and contained all we needed. Kettle didn't work but one call to reception and it was immediately changed. We had a street view which was fine. We had hoped for a view of the Thames and the London Eye but this didn't distract in anyway. The bar staff were absolutely fantastic as were the cocktails and as to the price, lets face it you pay for what you get in life and these were sooo good. The breakfast was a good selection albeit the cooked food was a little cold at times or maybe we just like our food piping hot. We liked it so much we have booked to return in April to celebrate again. Can't wait.
The Harveys

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2011theharveys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Thank you for choosing to celebrate your wedding anniversary with us. We obviously made a good impression as you have chosen to come back to us again this year! We are delighted to hear that all aspects of your stay were so memorable that you can remember such detail near a year later. As you say our cocktails are soooo good and an ideal way to celebrate any special occasion.

I was disappointed to read that you found the temperate of the cooked items at breakfast a little cold. We will make sure everything is super-hot for next time you return to us.

We are looking forward to seeing you in April.

Kind regards,

Anna-Marie Dowling
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stock, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
321 reviews
172 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Stayed here for 1 night and chose the hotel purely for the location as it was very close to where I was visiting that day. We stayed in an "Executive King" so that we were guaranteed a king sized bed, but we work in London so we didn't bother to pay more for a room with a view. The cost of our room was £195 including VAT room only, which for what we got was great value compared to other 5 star hotels in London. The room was very large and well equipped. The bed was very comfortable with good quality linen. The flat screen TV seemed very muffled at first - until we discovered the "surround sound" controls which brought the external speakers to life and improved things no end! Bathroom was huge with nice, large towels, under floor heating and a separate walk in shower (which had good water pressure). The TV at the end of the bath was a good idea, but the bath was rather too small for very decadent lounging, which was a shame! We didn't eat here so can't comment on the food, but the bar prices are extremely high - so be warned. The service at the hotel was as it should be - a little cool and formal perhaps, but certainly efficient. I would definitely recommend the hotel as long as you can get a good deal on the room rate. The advance purchase rates represent good value in my opinion, but they do require full payment in advance and are not refundable. But if you are certain that you will need the room then book in advance and enjoy a very nice, spacious and luxurious hotel experience.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quin-i-bog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review of your stay with us. It’s great to hear that we exceeded your expectations during this visit and you felt your stay was value for money. We do run various room and food and beverage promotions throughout the year, so please keep an eye for them. However if you know your plans are definite, our advance purchase rates are competitive as you discovered.
I was disappointed to read that you found our bar prices high. When we regularly review our menus, we do carry out a price comparison with other 5 star hotels in the local area to ensure we are in line with our competition. However, overall I was delighted to read that you would recommend us and choose to return to us again. We hope that is very soon!

Kind regards,

Anna-Marie Dowling
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 March 2012

I stayed here for a weekend with my partner recently and have to say we were both on the whole very pleased with our experience.
A slight taint was placed on the proceedings when we arrived 2 hours later than our allotted check in time and got to our room to find it still being made up by the maid. However in fairness to the hotel they immediately placed us in another room and on our departure the manager came and personally apologised with a very nice bottle of wine.
The room we had was very nice, my only slight gripe being the bed, though extremely comfortable was slightly on the small side for a double.
The room was very nice though the extra money for a river view is something I would personally say is essential.
Location is excellent, within a 5 minute walk of Waterloo and only a minute from the tube station.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a river view as some room have a frosted window, which feels almost claustrophobic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to posted your review regarding your stay with us at The Royal Horseguards. I am delighted that you found the location of the hotel so useful. We truly are right in the centre of the city allowing you access to so many of the sights and attractions by foot or via the Embankment tube station.

I do agree about reserving a room with a river view at the time of booking, as this prevents any disappointment. The vista over The Thames and the London Eye is iconic of London and always makes any stay extra special.

Although I am glad to read that your overall impression of the hotel was good, I was disappointed to read that your room was not ready on check in. However I am pleased that the situation was sorted out promptly by our Guest Relations Manager, and I hope that you had enjoyed the bottle of wine by way of an apology for the problem you experienced. I can assure you that the intentions of the entire team is to go the extra mile to ensure each and every guest is happy.

The next time you choose to return to us, please make sure you request a king size bed to ensure you have more space.

Kind regards,

Anna-Marie Dowling
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#19 of 1,069 in London
3,802 reviews
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#15 of 1,069 in London
2,525 reviews
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#51 of 1,069 in London
3,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#26 of 1,069 in London
4,022 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,069 in London
3,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Horseguards? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Horseguards

Property: The Royal Horseguards
Address: 2 Whitehall Court, London SW1A 2EJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in London
#43 Family Hotel in London
#60 Business Hotel in London
#99 Luxury Hotel in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 16,376 - ₹ 27,045
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Horseguards 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This majestic five-star hotel presides over the River Thames. From glittering chandeliers to contemporary design, this central hotel near the London Eye reflects a proud heritage. Expect more, with free wi-fi throughout the hotel, fully refurbished Victorian splendour, award-winning dining, afternoon tea and sumptuous river view suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Booking.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your The Royal Horseguards reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Horseguards Hotel London
Royal Horseguards London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing