We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful 12 nights in Oliver Plaza”
Review of Oliver Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oliver Plaza Hotel
Ranked #686 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Stayed here for 12 nights from 28 FEB, hotel is clean, simple breakfast, the hotel staffs were nice n helpful in providing infomation. The Hotel is very close to the tube n Westfield Mall since Rashid told me this is a good place to shop, took bus C1 n is 10 mins journey.I would definately return to stay again here!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francisboey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mangmt, Front Office Manager at Oliver Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2012

Dear Francisboey,

Thank you so much for your kind comments following your recent stay at the Oliver Plaza hotel.

I am happy that you enjoyed the service delivered by our team; they do pride themselves on delivering the highest levels of personal service. Many of our guests would agree with you that our hotel is clean and our location is ideal, close to underground, buses and shopping. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Oliver Plaza on your next trip to London.

Kind Regards,
Suresh David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (556)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

302 - 306 of 556 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2012

I know London is expensive, but so many of the hotels in the budget-to-moderate range are bait & switch. This place sounded too great online, but honestly, it wasn't cheap. We were in the top floor, two people stuffed into a room the size of a bathroom with an awful bed. The room was dirty, and I was concerned about bedbugs. The room faced the street which made it very very noisy, and the elevator was right outside the room which we heard all night long. The shower was super-narrow with poor poor water pressure making showering almost impossible. I always travel budget, so my bar is generally set low, but this was ridiculous. We were expected to leave our key at the front desk when we left for the day, but it really felt unsafe to do that. The wireless was non-existent in our attic room, and sadly, that was one reason I chose it. I would not stay here again.

The location in Earl's Court was wonderful--one block from the Tube, and Earl's Court is in the middle of everything.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SDMidwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mangmt, Front Office Manager at Oliver Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2012

Dear SDMidwife

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Oliver Plaza on Tripadvisor. I am most grateful for your feedback, which is such a valuable source of information for me, regardless of whether it is good or bad, and helps me monitor the service we provide. Of course I was disappointed to read about your feelings following your stay with us and would like to take this opportunity to respond to your comments.

Whilst I am happy to read that you like our location which is very central, I am sorry that you were not happy about your room. As you might be aware, our hotel is a conversion of a historical English building, our recent refurbishment has maximised the room space and added wide variety of room types to cater to all types of visits, short or long. Normally, our guests find the space of the rooms sufficient and comfortable. Also, I can assure you that all our rooms are cleaned on a daily basis and our housekeeping staff does their best to keep the rooms neat and tidy. Unfortunately, the wireless problem occurred during your stay and we have already rectified it. Please accept our deepest apologies that you had to experience this.

It is disappointing for any stay to end on a low note, and even more so to learn that you would not consider returning to Oliver plaza. I am very sorry that your stay with us was not as positive as that of others on this site.

Yours sincerely,
Suresh David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

This hotel suffers, as do many others at this level, from small rooms and even smaller bathrooms. While I expect this to a degree, the Oliver Plaza seems to suffer more than others. I appreciate small bathrooms at this price point, but it would be nice to be able to actually turn around in your bathroom! Another problem with small rooms is that you can only fit in a small bed - something which can be a bit of a problem for someone my size.

Having said that, the room was warm, clean and reasonably well maintained. The staff were efficient and helpful, and breakfast was included - and while just a continental style buffet was more than acceptable.

The Hotel has no bar or restuarant, which isn't a major problem in this area of Earls Court, as there are plenty of pubs and restuarants within easy walking distance. The location of the hotel is good, being close to Earls Court underground (use the Exhibition exit as it is a bit closer).

All in all, I would only recommend if you can get this at a discount

Room Tip: Don't worry if your room is next to the lift, as lift noise doesn't seem to intrude.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alexathodgeheg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mangmt, Front Office Manager at Oliver Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2012

Dear alexathodgeheg,

Thank you very much for your comments. We are sorry to hear you were not happy about your room size. You must have booked one of our standard rooms, but we have high variety of different room types, that have different lay outs and sizes, starting from single, through double, to family and studio rooms. Also, as you might be aware, our hotel is a conversion of a historical, English building, as many in the area. However, our recent refurbished maximised the room space, making it very comfortable to all types of visit, from short to long, individual or family and finally leisure or business. Moreover, our rooms have very pleasant and modern deco, but preserve the unique features of the building. Also, as you mentioned our hotel is in a fantastic location, making it again very convenient for all types of guests staying with us. We are happy that you recognised this and do hope you will visit us again and experience the stay in our other room types. Suresh David – Front Office Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

We had a twin room and stayed for three nights. The room was very small, but to be honest, I've stayed in smaller rooms in London! The room was very clean and comfortable, the beds were comfy and there were tea and coffee making facilties in the room.

The location is terrific. Many sights are within walking distance, and anything else can be reached via the Earl's Court tube station, which is only a few minutes walk away.

Breakfast was good, without being great. The breakfast staff were friendly and helpful.

It's a shame that I can't say the same thing about the reception staff. One man was particularly rude. Two nights in a row we arrived back at the hotel to be greeted with a sign saying 'Back in 5 Minutes'. Now I don't mind waiting 5 minutes, but when it is 3 degrees Celsius outside, with a howling north wind, that's a very long time to stand on a doorstep. The second time it happened to us, we waited 5 minutes, then rang the hotel number. When the phone rang, the chap on reception appeared from somewhere to answer the phone, and then noticed that we were standing freezing on the doorstep. He opened the door and instead of a simple 'sorry to keep you waiting' he immediately launched into a tirade. 'Did you call the phone??!!' and 'I have to have a break!!!' and 'this is not a 5 star hotel!!'. I was startled, to be honest.

Yes, it's not a 5 star hotel, and staff have to have a break, but do they have to abuse customers who, for the second night in a row, have been left freezing on the doorstep?

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stourton1582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mangmt, Front Office Manager at Oliver Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2012

Dear ,Stourton1582,

Thank you for your comments about the stay in Oliver Plaza hotel. We are happy to read that you found our rooms comfortable and pleasant and our restaurant a good choice for breakfast. Also, the location of our hotel is very convenient, both for sightseeing and daily commute to work. Unfortunately, we are very sad to read about your experience with our staff. I can assure you that their friendliness and efficiency is very often recognised.
What you described was a result of an emergency situation that the reception member of a team had to attend. In such circumstances the main door of the hotel would be closed for security of our guests. We can also assure you that all our guests receive the warmest
welcome on the arrival to the hotel, and what you experienced was something that almost
never happens, but required immediate action, and for what we sincerely apologise. We do hope you will stay with us again, so we can show you our true level of service. Suresh David – Front Office Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

stayed here 3 nights between xmas and new year,parking is available £20 per day,the rooms are pretty much basic with tea,coffee making facilities,the rooms are very small not much room to move around,seem to be clean enough though,breakfast is basic with usual stuff cereal,fruit,yogurts,toast coffee,you can pay extra for full english think about £6 never tried this though,did miss a bar for drinks though for nightcap although some pubs nearby,tube station was near only 5 stops to leicster square,got a good rate though £250 for 3 nights.Would i stay here again? probably not, would go for better star rating with bigger room and bar restaurant which did miss,but knew this before i booked so cant complain really.was ok stay thats all

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oswaldtwistle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mangmt, Manager at Oliver Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2012

Dear Oswaldtwistle,

First of all thank you for your comments. We were pleased to read that you liked the location. The hotel is situated very centrally, with minutes’ walk away to London Underground and buses, making it very easy to commute to Central London. Unfortunately we are sorry that your stay with us was only ok as our stuff is well known among many regular guests staying with us for the exceptionally good and individual service. Moreover, our rooms are immaculately clean with nice finished touches making them very warm and pleasant to stay. We do hope you will choose to stay with us again as we would like to prove that stay with us might be a truly pleasant experience. Suresh David – front office manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
The Byron Hotel
The Byron Hotel
#515 of 1,077 in London
931 reviews
Marylebone
Blandford Hotel
Blandford Hotel
#424 of 1,077 in London
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palmers Lodge Hillspring
#52 of 949 in London
592 reviews
Southwark
Premier Inn London Tower Bridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oliver Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oliver Plaza Hotel

Address: 33 Trebovir Road, London SW5 9NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#308 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: ₹ 8,737 - ₹ 15,370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oliver Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the cosmopolitan area of Earl's Court, the new look of the Oliver Plaza Hotel offers you now even more sumptuous surroundings. We've upgraded the entire hotel to superior 3* standard, with new contemporary furniture in all areas, state-of-the-art LCD satellite televisions in all rooms, messaging facilities and free Internet wi-fi throughout the hotel, to give you an unrivalled guest experience and unrivalled value. Convenient located in a beautiful Victorian neighbourhood, near the Oliver Plaza you will find the top worldwide museums such as Natural & History, Science and Victoria & Albert Museum, top London must-see landmarks like Harrods, Hyde Park and many more, also the city centre is just in a very short travelling distance with the Piccadilly line. With no less than 123 different locations within easy reach from the nearby Earl's Court underground station, The Oliver Plaza is the perfect location. If you are visiting London for business (the Olympia London is just 5 min with the tube) or leisure, a visit to the Oliver Plaza Hotel is a must. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oliver Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oliver Plaza London
Hotel Oliver Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing