We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weak Management”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Bailey's Hotel London
Ranked #140 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 November 2017

I often stay in this hotel. I do so as I like the ambience and the doormen are absolutely charming. Ever so often management really drops the ball. Both mornings breakfast was disappointing. It seems they are incapable of replenishing empty dishes. The dishes would be empty or virtually so(lacks a helping) and it seems the person in charge just does not care.
This morning, the second morning, I was in a hurry and complained to the duty manager as I could not wait for them to replenish and thus missed half the breakfast. On my retutrn she presented me with a voucher to make up for the performance of the morning which I greatfully accepted. When I got to my room 14h30) they had forgotten to clean my room- on me advising them of the problem it was hurriedly done. The cherry, however, on the cake was that when I attempted to pay for my first drink with the voucher I was told that it was only good for housewine or a soft drink. I returned the voucher.
This is such a comfortable hotel and great location--pity they do not train or manage staff with the necessary application.

Room Tip: If you sleep with open windows ask for room without traffic outside
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
3  Thank Willempretorius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cipriano S, Manager at The Bailey's Hotel London, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Dear Willempretorius,

I want to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. It is a valuable tool to help us improve our service as well as your stay experience. I am sorry to hear it was such a disappointing stay, this is obviously not the level of service that we strive for or that we are known for. We very much appreciate your loyalty to The Bailey's Hotel London, which is indeed a beautiful property as well as your kind comments regarding our Concierge Team. Creating the most memorable stay possible for all of our guests is a top priority for our team members and I am truly sorry to hear we missed the mark on your recent visit. We hope to be able to welcome you back on a future trip to London so that we may show you a true Bailey's experience.

Best regards,

Cipriano Silva
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (922)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

82 - 86 of 922 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2017

My fiancée and I stayed at the Bailey hotel for 4 nights in London in November and it was super easy for us to find the hotel since it is literally right across the Gloucester station. This station has connections to 3 lines on the tube which was convenient to get to and from Airport (only one line) and also to get into Picadilly Circus and nearby tourist attractions like Buckingham palace. The hotel is older but essentials have been renovated like the bathroom. Showers were warm and water pressure strong, beds were also quite big eventhough they are a twin. WIFI was strong, TV had good channels if you can't sleep with jetlag. Checkin was easy and staff were friendly and mostly left us alone which we liked. There is a Burger king/KFC, Pharmacy and flower shop near by. Also a English pub right across the street where you may find a more casual atmostphere and some authentic English pub food.

Room Tip: choose higher floor to avoid traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cc1187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cipriano S, Manager at The Bailey's Hotel London, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Dear cc1187,

I want to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I am thrilled to hear our team was able to make you and your fiancée feel so welcome. Creating a memorable stay is a top priority for Team Bailey's. Whatever the reason you are traveling, business or pleasure, we sincerely appreciate you choosing The Bailey's Hotel London and hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Cipriano Silva
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2017

Comfortable, clean rooms, pleasantly decorated and friendly staff. We only stayed for one night but enjoyed it so much we would absolutely return on future weekend trips to London. Morning breakfast was lovely.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with MillenniumHotels.com
1  Thank Alexandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cipriano S, Manager at The Bailey's Hotel London, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Dear Alexandra H,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property! It is a pleasure to read that you would happily recommend our hotel without hesitation. We are delighted that our location, rooms and friendly professional staff met your expectations. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to The Bailey's Hotel London. We look forward to your next stay.

Cipriano Silva
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2017 via mobile

Located across the road from Gloucester Road Tube. A fabulous location and transport links for Olympia. The hotel foyer was lovely. Check in was effortless, we were given a complimentary drink voucher. A very nice touch. Rooms were extremely clean, good quality furnishings and a luxurious ambience. Toiletries were a good quality. Breakfast was lovely and good value. A special mention for Gary, who made our mornings with his happy disposition, friendly chat and humor. The red bowler hat was something to note and very distinguishing. I would highly recommend this hotel and will be a returning customer.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank natashag875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cipriano S, Manager at The Bailey's Hotel London, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Dear Natashag875,

We can’t thank you enough for taking the time to write such a detailed review. It really is such a valuable tool for us. I am thrilled to hear we were able to, not only meet your expectations but hopefully exceed them. Your very kind comments have been shared with Gary as well as our whole team.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the very near future.

Cipriano Silva
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2017 via mobile

Got back to the hotel yesterday evening to be told that the bar will be closing at 11:45 and the coffee machine was switched off. We paid over £200 a night! Here’s an idea don’t close the bar early for your guests and don’t turn the coffee machine off!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank martinsueb2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cipriano S, Manager at The Bailey's Hotel London, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Dear Martinsueb2015,

Thank you for your candid feedback. We would welcome the opportunity to further discuss your experience and how we may be able to reaffirm your faith in our hotel. I will send you a private message through the TripAdvior message board.

Best regards,

Cipriano Silva
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
South Kensington
The Kensington Hotel
The Kensington Hotel
#30 of 1,081 in London
3,122 reviews
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#51 of 1,081 in London
3,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#61 of 1,081 in London
3,896 reviews
South Kensington
Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington
South Kensington
Hotel Indigo London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bailey's Hotel London? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bailey's Hotel London

Address: 140 Gloucester Road, London SW7 4QH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#118 Luxury Hotel in London
#154 Romantic Hotel in London
#189 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: ₹ 11,676 - ₹ 27,426 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bailey's Hotel London 4*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is a beautifully renovated Victorian London townhouse, located in the heart of fashionable South Kensington. The Bailey's Hotel London combines style and character, and is one of the most traditional and popular hotels in the area. The hotel has completed refurbishment of all guest rooms in October 2015. Quintessentially English in décor and style, the rooms have been designed with the comfort of our guests in mind, and combine unique features and furnishings with modern amenities. The interior of the hotel is extremely elegant and retains many of its original features, with its sweeping staircase, stained glass windows and intricate stonework. Situated opposite Gloucester Road underground station, this hotel offers access to many transport links and is perfectly positioned for guests visiting many of the British capital's most popular attractions. These places of interest include Hyde Park, the Royal Albert Hall, Kensington Palace and the Victoria and the Victoria& Albert Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Bailey's Hotel London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium Baileys London
Hotel Millennium Baileys
Bailey's London
Millennium London
Millennium Bailey Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing