We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel du Vin Wimbledon
Ranked #533 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 26 December 2011

We stayed here as the venue for my work Christmas party and had heard good things about the place before our arrival. The look of the public areas of this boutique hotel was gorgeous and in keeping with the age of the property and the bedroom decor was tastefully done and the bed very comfortable. Given that the dinner catering was for 100 people the quality of the food was superb with the rock bass receiving particularly high praise. Less good that on a relatively mild December day the central heating was blasting out to the extent that it was uncomfortable. Also a bit of a shock to the system were the bar prices, in excess of £16 for a pint of bitter and a glass of white wine but at a discounted and subsidised price of £50 for B&B following the works dinner, I'm not complaining.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

635 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    299
    166
    80
    50
    40
See reviews for
146
241
16
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Took my Mum for dinner here on Friday for birthday treat, l couldn't have picked a better choice ! the food was fabulous and attention from staff was superb, Maitre d even stopped us at the door to say goodbye. Mum was treat to birthday plate of petit fours , they made us feel very special.
Thanks to everyone at Cannizaro

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

From checkin to checkout we were very well looked after. Cannizaro House is a lovely building with great grounds, so quiet you forget this is still London. We stayed in the Tim Henman suite, which I am sure was the size of a tennis court! The bed was too comfortable and we almost over slept and missed breakfast, which is definitely not to be missed! Dinner the evening before was delicious; the vegetable are sourced from a local farm and taste like vegetables should.

We brought our own bikes (although you can borrow some from the hotel) and cycled round Wimbledon Common and Richmond Park – fantastic day (not strictly a hotel review but it just highlights the great position).

I would definitely come and stay again.

Room Tip: one that looks out over the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

I stayed for one night with my partner and 8 month old baby, we arrived just after ten o'clock after getting lost and was very hungry, the kitchen had just closed and was not serving any hot food but the Receptionist went to ask them if they would serve us, they said they would serve us hot food from a limited menu which we were very pleased about. The hotel room was so clean it was spotless so I was immediately impressed with this, we were in a standard double and it was a big enough room with a large bed, wardrobe and flat screen tv. There were coffee and tea making facilities and although we don't drink there was also a complimentary small decanter of sherry and two bottles of mineral water. Some reviews have said they didn't get cookies in their room but this may have been because they didn't look properly, there were shortbread biscuits in a little silver jar alongside the tea and coffee! Slelpt well, no noise what so ever. We felt cold and couldn't adjust the air conditioning so rang reception, someone came and gave us a portable heater which worked a wonder and ensured we were warm enough for the night. Shower was good as was the complimentary Elemis toiletries. Breakfast was lovely, we had the Full English which was included but there were also fresh fruits and cereals to eat. I would stay there again, it was a lovely hotel, great decor and lovely art work hanging in all the communal areas which gave it a unique feel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissLALondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genoa, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

The Cannizzaro house is located at Wimbledon near London in a beutiful park area. The place is romantic and the overal external/internal fittings are the ones of a relaxed but stilish countryhouse.
Very enjoyable indeed.

Rooms are ok, clean and confortable.

The food both at breakfast and lunch was very good, and the personnel was professional and cordial.
Cannot unfortunately say the same of reception which was quite slow and a bit cold mannered.
Not too nice feeling at check in and out.

But overall, a good Hotel.

Room Tip: no special tip
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dado_63xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauriPourvahab, Front Office Manager at Hotel du Vin Wimbledon, responded to this review, 27 September 2011
Dear Dado_63xx,

Thank you very much for your constructive feedback on Tripadvisor website.

I was very concerned to read about your experience on check-in and check-out. Please rest assured that your comments have been addressed with the concerning individuals for further training.

However, I sincerely hope we will be able to welcome you back in the near future in order for you to experience a service that is representative of our usual standards.

Best wishes,
Lauri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near London
1.2 km away
Wimbledon Hotel
Wimbledon Hotel
#711 of 1,069 in London
103 reviews
2.4 km away
Antoinette Hotel Wimbledon
Antoinette Hotel Wimbledon
#457 of 1,069 in London
517 reviews
3.0 km away
Warren House
Warren House
#2 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Premier Inn London Wimbledon South Hotel
3.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South
3.5 km away
Brook Kingston Lodge Hotel
Brook Kingston Lodge Hotel
#6 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin Wimbledon? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin Wimbledon

Property: Hotel du Vin Wimbledon
Address: Cannizaro House West Side Common, London SW19 4UE, England (Formerly Cannizaro House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Wimbledon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#257 Romantic Hotel in London
#275 Business Hotel in London
#329 Luxury Hotel in London
#365 Family Hotel in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,925 - ₹ 16,624
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin Wimbledon 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Hotel du Vin Wimbledon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cannizaro House Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing