We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A LONDON TREASURE....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Melita

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Melita
Ranked #601 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A LONDON TREASURE....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

We have stayed at the Melita House Hotel for years. It is perfect for our needs - clean, close to bus and tube, Victoria Station, the Tate Britain, Buckingham Palace and Westminster Abbey. The staff have become like extended family and cater to our needs graciously. The breakfast is substantial and offers far more food than breakfasts at home! When I travel alone, I feel that I am in a safe neighbourhood and that the hotel is secure. After the front desk closes at 10 p.m., there is a staff member on site to deal with emergencies or "off hour" departures. I will continue to make Melita House Hotel my London "home", and will recommend it to my friends without hesitation.
Sharon H. in Vancouver, Can.

Room Tip: We prefer a room facing the inner courtyard. It is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sharon942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    84
    58
    38
    24
See reviews for
69
70
23
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carnegie, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

I stayed at Melita House for two nights in June and enjoyed it very much. The staff were all friendly and knowledgeable and very helpful, with ready answers to my many questions.

My first-floor room was very comfortable and clean and the breakfast was very good. The hotel's location, with close proximity to the Pimlico and Victoria tube stations, was great for getting around the city. I really can't think of any way to get better value for the money when staying in London... I hope to return again!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Peg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Front Office Manager at The Melita, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
Dear Peg,

Thank you very much for your kind words, we are very pleased you have enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in our Hotel.

Best wishes from the Melita House Hotel Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morley
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

Rooms are find, showers hot, breakfast sets you up for the day and the staff always helpful and welcoming. I stay here every time I visit London and recommend to my friends. My next stay June 2013.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LinsMorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

Right on the bus line to Westminster, so turned out to be very convenient for my early morning start. Nearest tube is Pimlico! Staff very friendly but also efficient at check in and check out. Rooms not big but very clean. Pleasant breakfast room with alternatives offered and friendly waiting staff!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

I have stayed in Melita Hotel in the first week of May. I was on bussiness for 2 days. The service provided was great starting with receptionists and ending with the housekeeping staff. They helped me print my documents without charging me.
Even though the room was not huge, it was spotless and the towels are changed every day.
Being close to both Pimlico and Victoria Station, it's only 10-15 minutes anywhere in the city.
You can choose from a selection of cereals and preserves for breakfast. If you want something hot they serve English breakfast which is more than enough.
I will definately come back as everybody was really pleasant.

P.S. The best matress I ever slept on!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DanielC83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Pimlico
Melbourne House Hotel
Melbourne House Hotel
#509 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Pimlico
Blades Hotel
Blades Hotel
#261 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
Pimlico
Victor Hotel London Victoria
Victor Hotel London Victoria
#515 of 1,086 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
Huttons Hotel
Huttons Hotel
#614 of 1,086 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
Pimlico
Lidos Hotel
Lidos Hotel
#370 of 1,086 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Pimlico
Sidney Hotel London-Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Melita? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Melita

Property: The Melita
Address: 35 Charlwood Street, London SW1V 2DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #601 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,019 - ₹ 13,910
Hotel Class:3 star — The Melita 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melita London is an ideally located Central London hotel , close to all the major tourist attractions, and the financial centre. Nearby Victoria Train, Underground and Bus Stations make everywhere easily accessible. Our location in the heart of central London makes The Melita an ideal place to stay to explore London and the UK . For both business and pleasure The Melita London offers great value for money to fit into your budget whilst still offering outstanding accommodation and facilities. The hotel was founded in 1972 and is still independently owned and managed by members of the same family. It is situated in a period building, dating back to the mid 1850s. Today the building has a delightful blend of traditional features and modern facilities. Exactly what a City centre hotel should be. The service and the setting sets it apart from the chain hotels. The Hotel is independently inspected annually by Visit Britain and has been awarded a Three Star Rating. This is your guarantee of quality. The rooms are newly renovated, so we are sure that we can offer you a pleasant and comfortable stay in London . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Melita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melita Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing