We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mostly Good With A Downside”
Review of Ashburn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ashburn Hotel
Ranked #187 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2012

This hotel has much to recommend it, but in our stay there was a significant downside. First the positives. The location, two blocks from the Gloucester Road Tube Station, the Natural History Museum, and Victoria and Albert, and much more is excellent. Even though the area is busy, it was quiet at night with a pleasant neighborhood feeling. Another positive was the Waitrose market in the next block. The Ashburn is clean, and staff are helpful. The complimentary internet, ample breakfast with good choices, and wine in the evening certainly made it a good value for the price. Despite these positives, the room itself was uncomfortable. There was far too much furniture, and the excessive use of heavy fabrics and throw pillows made it feel even more crowded. The "comfy"chair was angled downward making it difficult to sit in. The bathroom was miniscule even by European standards with the toilet angled into a corner behind the door. The attempt to include all of the amenities found in better hotels resulted in a room that felt claustrophobic and difficult to settle into. We would stay there again only if we were guaranteed a larger room. If you do choose the Ashburn and are walking the two+ blocks from the Gloucester Road Station, note that the entrance is on the side street, Ashburn Gardens, even though the address is on Cromwell Road,

Room Tip: Request a large room and ask if there is a photo that shows that room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Paradocs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,015)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

527 - 531 of 1,015 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2012

We booked the hotel because of its convenient proximity to the Albert Hall. At £219 for a Queen Twin for one night it wasn't cheap. First impressions were positive: friendly reception, room ready a little before 2pm. The room was well appointed and spacious, good air conditioning and we could also open the window a little for some fresh air. When we came in after the Proms and requested our complimentary glass of champagne at 2230, the barman provided it but pointed out that it was only available 7-8pm unless we notified them in advance. When we went to bed the two pillows were rock hard and it was impossible to sleep on them. In the morning the shower doors couldn't be opened by one person and the shower drained so slowly that it had to be turned off regularly to avoid it spilling over the tray. Breakfast was served from 8, and the small dining room was quickly full with only one waitress, who did her best. The buffet offer was adequate: tinned fruit salad and dried apricots plus some nuts, yoghurts and breakfast cereal, with a croissant. The cooked breakfast was an extra £6.90. Overall, a disappointment for the price.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We had a pleasant stay at the Ashburn hotel. It is a very nice charming and homely small hotel in a great position. Our rooms were on the street front, but with double glazed windows, noise was not a problem at all. The furnishings and finishing touches are charming and distinguished. The only problem we had was the curtains not meeting, so it meant that the bright street lights shone in our room all night. They were also very helpful and kind to keep our bags until the evening on the day we left. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CateSyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Loved this charming hotel. Nice breakfast and great location; only a block to the tube. We didn't know there was a direct line from Heathrow. Save yourself a bundle and use it. Carrying on a large suitcase to go to the train station was no problem. The concierge was very helpful. Booked our hop on hop off tour and got us 2 days for the price of one. Stop was right next to the tube. Also recommended a great tour with Evans and Evans to Bath, Windsor castle and Stone Henge. We would definitely book this hotel again and the price was very reasonable. Hint: when booking ask for for a room on an upper floor.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on an upper floor. They have rooms on a basement level that I don't know if I wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jlynnv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

The location of the hotel on Cromwell Road is very convenient and, having a ground floor room, I expected it to be noisy. In point of fact, was hardly aware of any traffic noise.

The room was comfortable although a little darkly lit and the bathroom was adequate but the shower controls were bizarre and difficult to regulate.

My abiding memory of the hotel is that it was a bit bland and lacking atmosphere.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank HarshButFair51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Pimlico
The Windermere Hotel
The Windermere Hotel
#116 of 1,081 in London
782 reviews
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#60 of 1,081 in London
3,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Henley House Hotel
Henley House Hotel
#352 of 1,081 in London
557 reviews
Arbor Hyde Park Hotel
#243 of 1,081 in London
677 reviews
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashburn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashburn Hotel

Address: 111 Cromwell Road, London SW7 4DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#141 Romantic Hotel in London
#145 Luxury Hotel in London
#250 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: ₹ 10,917 - ₹ 17,593 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashburn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New luxury boutique hotel with 38 rooms located in South Kensington, central London. Offers continental breakfast, welcome drink and glass of champagne in the evening with all rates as well as a different turndown gift on your pillow every night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ashburn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashburn Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing