We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avni Kensington Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Avni Kensington Hotel
Ranked #712 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
487 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
“Great Hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

The hotel is really good, I stayed in a Standard double room which was very nice and extremely clean, the bathroom was spotless and the towels were really big. The bed was very comfy and the pillows were good too. There was a kettle in the room for making tea and coffee and also a hairdryer.
Our room was at the back of the hotel and had a really big window which looked out onto a nice little lane houses on it.
The Continental breakfast was good, lots of cereals, bread, fruit, yogurts, tea, coffee, juices etc
The location of the hotel is great, only a 3 min walk from Gloucester Road Tube station and located on a nice quiet street.
For the price, this hotel is great and at a much higher standard then lots of other similarly priced places.

Room Tip: The Double Room 203 is very quiet, at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KeenanL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

985 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    352
    285
    125
    137
See reviews for
185
405
47
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Avni for two nights while in London catching up with my brother and visiting the sights.
I arrived first and was quite pleasantly suprised by the size of our room on the the first floor. It was a bit shabby in places but clean and more spacious than most other London hotel rooms in my experience.
The location was very convenient for our needs, we visited Ealing Broadway (at end of District line), the Tate Modern, the Wildfowl and Wetlands Trust in Barnes and Knightsbridge and had no trouble getting to any of them via tube and bus. Gloucester Road is the nearest station, about five minutes walk, and the only problem was that it was very busy over the weekend and we faced a long queue for tickets.
I don't eat breakfast so didn't partake of the continental breakfast included in the price, but my partner did and said it was fine, if lacking in much variety.
One pleasant surprise was the free Wifi internet, which was really fast too.
Another positive was that I had paid as requested on arrival with my credit card, then we had to ask to reverse the transaction so that my partner could pay and be reimbursed by his work, and the lady on reception did this quickly and without fuss for us, which we appreciated.
A couple of niggles were the low water pressure and clunky shower-doors that made it very easy to wet the bathroom floor, and lack of security in relation to the luggage room.
We left our cases there all day on the Sunday while we explored before leaving town. The room was not locked and it seemed very easy for anyone to access it. All was well, but in hindsight I wouldn't leave any valuables in my luggage next time.
I think we'd stay here next time we're in London, the price was good and it ticked all our boxes.

Room Tip: The hotel is on a quiet back street, so a room at front or back should be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 17thousandkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

Stayed one night in February 2012. Room was clean. No radiator which was strange but so hot we had to have the windows open - which meant noisy with road and air traffic. Bathroom small but clean and upto date with pleanty of towels. Luggage could be left. Value good at £99 for three people in Kensington. Downside was the rude staff servicing the basement breakfast room. They were off hand and off putting. No glasses, no cutlery - when I asked was snapped at!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Voldermort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

My partner and I have just returned from a weekend break in London and stayed in the Avni. The accommodation was nice, clean and comfortable. The rooms are basic with everything you need; bed, tea and coffee, hairdryer, TV, safe and en suite. I wouldn't describe the rooms as "luxury" or "special" but are perfectly adequate for your base to explore London. Staff were really friendly and breakfast was standard cereal and toast.
Great location and just a 5 min walk to Gloucester Road tube station.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor were very hot! Even though it was -5 outside and we turned the radiator off i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SomersetBeachBum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clapham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

This is a cheap hotel, so don't expect much. room was clean and tidy, a few marks on the floor, no big deal, The shower was very small and not powerfull.
The Breakfast was a joke...down in the basement, a very hot room with a number of tables...all dirty! no cutlery, the buffet was basically white bread...one type...processed cheese...and jams. value cereals and juice, coffee sitting in a measuring jug with a plate on top!! you have to fight the staff to get a plate..then a spoon...then a napkin then sugar....better off not bothering with breakfast at all and go to a local bar. The reception insist on your leaving your door key and then are not on reception when you want to return to your room..very annoying!

Room Tip: g7 is the largest but it is a triple
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Will C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Saint Simeon
Saint Simeon
#756 of 1,088 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
South Kensington
BEST WESTERN Burns Hotel Kensington
South Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
#766 of 1,088 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Eden Plaza Kensington
Eden Plaza Kensington
#661 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
South Kensington
BEST WESTERN The Cromwell
BEST WESTERN The Cromwell
#589 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,202 reviews
Earls Court
City Continental London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avni Kensington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avni Kensington Hotel

Property: Avni Kensington Hotel
Address: 40-44 Harrington Gardens | South Kensington, London SW7 4LT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #712 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,266 - ₹ 13,792
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avni Kensington Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel with multilingual staff set in Edwardian style building dating from 1900; situated two miles from Victoria Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Avni Kensington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avni Kensington London
Avni Kensington Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing