We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A proffessional, friendly and efficient service”
Review of Dukes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Dukes Hotel
Ranked #137 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A proffessional, friendly and efficient service”
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We hired out one of the Dukes Hotel's suites for our charity's reception for our London Marathon runners.

The head of the events team at the hotel was very helpful in answering my queries in preparation for the event. On the day, the food and drink were both excellent and the suite was large and well furnished. The team members were most helpful and professional on the day. As a result, I would not hesitate to recommend their services to anyone looking to book a function room or suite at the hotel.

Mark Schueler

Fundraising Officer, United Response

United Response is a national charity supporting people with learning disabilities, mental health needs and physical disabilities.

To find out more, visit our website: http://www.unitedresponse.org.uk

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IainHaigh, Guest Relations Manager at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Thank for you taking the time to share your views. I am pleased to hear that the event was a success and your London Marathon runners were well taken care of. I would like to thank you for your kind words as the entire team worked hard to ensure that the entire day ran smoothly. I hope that you will join us again for another event or even a personal weekend away!

Kind Regards

Iain Haigh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,430 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    991
    251
    124
    44
    20
See reviews for
238
594
73
298
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

I have stayed at this hotel several times. It is not just a great hotel at a great location which to me are basics in the search for a good hotel, this hotel offers something special and unique that can be be described as a "home away from home". The rooms are well sized and furnished in a way that makes them feel warm and inviting while still looking so contemporary and chic. One day after a long day of shopping my husband and I were exhausted and it was too early for dinner, so we ordered a pot a tea from room service. Much to our surprise it was almost like a mini afternoon tea, it came with cookies and scones (with the usual jams, clotted cream etc) and they were both still warm from the oven. Now every time we stay there we have to order room service because even though it seems so simple, it is just so good, although in the lounge they really do offer a delightful afternoon tea. The staff is warm, courteous and always willing to help. As a side note, for those of us traveling with children, especially young ones wanting milk at all hours of the evening, the staff was so kind to help us out. Even though it is in the heart of the city it is still very quiet and within walking distance of so many things. I definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I always call the hotel directly and ask for their advice since they know the hotel and their rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank meagan1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IainHaigh, Guest Relations Manager at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Thank you very much. We always aim to provide a home from home for all of our guests and to exceed expectations. We are all thrilled to hear that we succeeded! I look forward to welcoming you back to Dukes London in the near future.

Warmest Regards

Iain Haigh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We recently enjoyed afternoon tea in Dukes The tea and cakes were of course delicious but the main reason that sets Dukes apart from other Hotels is the relaxing ambience and surroundings. You sit in comfy sofas in a cosy lounge beatifully decorated. The service is excellent and as Bart our waiter embued a quiet, efficient, service . There is no rush and you just relax

We would definitely enjoy tea there again - mind you I think lunch would be even better!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GlendaTLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IainHaigh, Guest Relations Manager at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Thank you for sharing your thoughts, I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your Afternoon Tea in our lovely Drawing Room and that even with just a brief visit, you were able to experience our special atmosphere. Perhaps during your next visit you could join us in Thirty Six, our award winning Restaurant or enjoy a Vesper martini in our famous Cocktail Bar!

Kind Regards

Iain Haigh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

We adore Dukes! After getting engaged on 17th April 2011 we returned with family and friends for our wedding on 17th April this year. What an amazing day!

We stayed in the Nelson Suite which is furnished beautifully - classical, elegant English style with so many lovely little touches (a Nespresso machine being one of them!). We had booked family and friends into Classic Double rooms and these were of similar style.

Lester Bamford, the events co-ordinator was outstanding in his efforts on the day. He liaised with us prior to the event and was on hand all the way through to make sure everything ran smoothly. Debrah, the hotel manager escorted me down to the Marlborough Suite personally for the ceremony and chef Nigel Mendham and his staff produced a delicious menu which I am sure is consistent with the standard of food in the hotel restaurant, Thirty Six. All the staff throughout the hotel were outstanding in their service - polite, friendly and efficient to a fault.

I cannot praIse the hotel highly enough and I will treasure the memories of my wedding day there and cannot wait to return, even if only for a martini in the famous cocktail bar or afternoon tea in the drawing room.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank poppy1163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IainHaigh, Guest Relations Manager at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Thank you for your kind words. It is fantastic to hear that you had such a special and memorable occasion. Our team at Dukes London are so pleased with your comments and support. Debrah Dhugga, our General Manager and Lester Bamford, our Events Co-Ordinator were delighted that the evening was a success and we hope to see you for your anniversary. Many congratulations once again!

Warmest regards

Iain Haigh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We stayed for a night at Dukes and a wonderful time; wonderful room; wonderful food; great staff. You would never know you were in central London once you step inside Dukes; but outside very convenient site near St. James' Palace and Piccadilly. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IainHaigh, Guest Relations Manager at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
We at Dukes London would like to thank you for such kind words. We all look forward to welcoming you back for another delicious dinner and a luxurious nights rest.

Kind Regards

Iain Haigh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
St. James's Hotel and Club
St. James's Hotel and Club
#101 of 1,068 in London
823 reviews
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#28 of 1,068 in London
1,150 reviews
St. James's
The Cavendish London
The Cavendish London
#120 of 1,068 in London
3,937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#24 of 1,068 in London
3,963 reviews
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#23 of 1,068 in London
1,404 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#10 of 1,068 in London
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dukes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dukes Hotel

Property: Dukes Hotel
Address: 35 St. James's Place, London SW1A 1NY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Spa Hotel in London
#96 Romantic Hotel in London
#109 Family Hotel in London
#117 Luxury Hotel in London
#134 Business Hotel in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 21,751 - ₹ 44,422
Hotel Class:5 star — Dukes Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded “Europe’s Leading Boutique Hotel” and the “World’s Leading Classic Boutique Hotel”, DUKES LONDON is a hidden gem in the heart of St. James Mayfair, where quintessential British charm and the finest luxury mix together to create a timeless atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dukes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dukes Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing