We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect wedding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dukes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dukes Hotel
Ranked #125 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Bucks
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The perfect wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

We adore Dukes! After getting engaged on 17th April 2011 we returned with family and friends for our wedding on 17th April this year. What an amazing day!

We stayed in the Nelson Suite which is furnished beautifully - classical, elegant English style with so many lovely little touches (a Nespresso machine being one of them!). We had booked family and friends into Classic Double rooms and these were of similar style.

Lester Bamford, the events co-ordinator was outstanding in his efforts on the day. He liaised with us prior to the event and was on hand all the way through to make sure everything ran smoothly. Debrah, the hotel manager escorted me down to the Marlborough Suite personally for the ceremony and chef Nigel Mendham and his staff produced a delicious menu which I am sure is consistent with the standard of food in the hotel restaurant, Thirty Six. All the staff throughout the hotel were outstanding in their service - polite, friendly and efficient to a fault.

I cannot praIse the hotel highly enough and I will treasure the memories of my wedding day there and cannot wait to return, even if only for a martini in the famous cocktail bar or afternoon tea in the drawing room.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank poppy1163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IainHaigh, Guest Relations Manager at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Thank you for your kind words. It is fantastic to hear that you had such a special and memorable occasion. Our team at Dukes London are so pleased with your comments and support. Debrah Dhugga, our General Manager and Lester Bamford, our Events Co-Ordinator were delighted that the evening was a success and we hope to see you for your anniversary. Many congratulations once again!

Warmest regards

Iain Haigh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    956
    239
    119
    39
    18
See reviews for
230
565
70
294
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

We stayed for a night at Dukes and a wonderful time; wonderful room; wonderful food; great staff. You would never know you were in central London once you step inside Dukes; but outside very convenient site near St. James' Palace and Piccadilly. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IainHaigh, Guest Relations Manager at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
We at Dukes London would like to thank you for such kind words. We all look forward to welcoming you back for another delicious dinner and a luxurious nights rest.

Kind Regards

Iain Haigh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

Dukes Hotel is in a lovely location - a small secluded courtyard just off Piccadilly- a wonderful place to return to after a hectic day.The service at the hotel is excellent - nothing is too much trouble. The restaurant is well worth a visit- excellent quality. Would definitely recommend this hotel. It is expensive but worth it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IainHaigh, Guest Relations Manager at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words. I am pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and we all look forward to welcoming you back for some rest, relaxation and a gorgeous dinner prepared by Nigel Mendham, our award winning Chef at Thirty Six.

Kind Regards

Iain Haigh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Over the last decade I have visited London on business at least 6 times year.

My favorite hotel is still one recommended to me by a former boss, who subsequently got into the restaurant business with great success.

The Dukes is quite simply the best hotel I have found in London. Its right in the center of things in St James while still be quiet at night and not too far from the City.

I still recall staying a few years ago over a weekend. On my way back to the hotel I was talking to my wife on the phone and she asked where are you? I answered, on the way home.

I think that says it all

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Newdiver2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IainHaigh, Guest Relations Manager at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Thank you very much for such a marvelous comment. We always aim to provide a home from home for all of our guests and to exceed expectations. We are all delighted to hear that we succeeded! We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards

Iain Haigh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Ga
Level Contributor
95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

In a courtyard off St James Street, Dukes Hotel maintains an air of exclusivity. Its staff is professional and able to grant most any request.Rooms are large and beautifully decorated and service is impeccable. Proximity to Jermyn Street, Bond Street, and Piccadilly Road makes shopping and dining very easy. Theaters are a pleasant walk away as is "Museum Mile". The concierge provided hard to get tickets to the Hockney Show saving us a 4 hour wait in line. We wished we had time for afternoon tea as it looked marvelous as did the dinner menu at the restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MGRK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IainHaigh, Guest Relations Manager at Dukes Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
What a wonderful review. Thank you so much for sharing your great feedback.
I am glad that we were able to make your trip to London special as the team. During your next visit to London I highly recommend booking for dinner at Thirty Six as Nigel Mendham, our Executive chefs food is to die for. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

Iain Haigh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
St. James's Hotel and Club
St. James's Hotel and Club
#97 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#22 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,079 reviews
St. James's
The Cavendish London
The Cavendish London
#107 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#29 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,791 reviews
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#21 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#26 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dukes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dukes Hotel

Property: Dukes Hotel
Address: 35 St. James's Place, London SW1A 1NY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Spa Hotel in London
#96 Romantic Hotel in London
#108 Luxury Hotel in London
#109 Family Hotel in London
#134 Business Hotel in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 18,899 - ₹ 36,326
Hotel Class:5 star — Dukes Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded “Europe’s Leading Boutique Hotel” and the “World’s Leading Classic Boutique Hotel”, DUKES LONDON is a hidden gem in the heart of St. James Mayfair, where quintessential British charm and the finest luxury mix together to create a timeless atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Dukes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dukes Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing