We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Afternoon tea at the Sheraton”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Park Tower Knightsbridge, A Luxury Collection Hotel, London
Ranked #209 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea at the Sheraton”
Reviewed 27 June 2012

My sister-in-law's cousin had booked for 4 of us to have afternoon tea in the Knightsbridge Lounge. Although my comments are not intended for criticism, there are a couple of points I would like to make. We all felt that the lounge, although quite nice, is too central for a relaxing couple of hours over tea. The table was far too low for the chairs and there was people traffic going past on their way to rooms on the ground floor and up the stairs to the first floor. We were also driven mad by the constant banging of the door leading through to the kitchen. The tea itself was quite nice, although the bread could have been a bit fresher. However we were not offered fresh pots of tea, only hot water, which meant that the tea obviously got cold quite quickly. The afternoon tea is quoted as being £27 or £37 with a glass of champagne. I enquired how much it would cost for a glass of champagne each and was told £15. Why was this, when the difference is only £10 usually? We paid £15 with the vouchers from the Daily Mail but received the impression that because we paid with vouchers, we were only entitled to a cheaper deal.

Regards,
Jan Lynch.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rynchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Rooms Division Manager at The Park Tower Knightsbridge, A Luxury Collection Hotel, London, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Dear Rynchie,

Thank you for sharing your feedback from your afternoon tea with us at The Park Tower. I would firstly like to apologise that we failed to exceed your expectations and also apologise that you felt you were treated differently because of the discounted price you paid. This is not how we conduct our business and we sincerely apologise if we made you feel less important than any of our other guests.

As a luxury collection hotel we set very high standards for ourselves and we are extremely disappointed as we obviously fell below them during your time with us.
In response to your question about the cost of our champagne, we offer a discounted cost of £10 when accompanied with our Afternoon Tea. However, the regular cost for a glass of champagne is £15. I am sorry this was not properly explained to you and for any confusion it may have caused.

We do genuinely appreciate your feedback as it is helps us to reflect on the services we offer with a view to improve them for all future guest experiences.

We hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future and give you a proper experience of our Traditional English Afternoon Tea.

Thank you again for your feedback and please let me know if I can be of any further assistance.

Warm regards,

Andrew Kennedy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    487
    350
    112
    38
    29
See reviews for
215
330
82
255
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Stayed here for five days duirng a short holiday to London and chose this hotel for something a bit different.

When I arrived, my bags were removed from the cab by the porter and stored until I was in my room. Upon check-in, my SPG Lifetime Gold membership was acknowledged, yet my 'free gift' option were not offered which was a tad disappointing. Despite the fact I checked in after 13:30, my room was still not available so I was offered a free coffee in the lounge area .... to be fair, it was a short wait so I wasn't that fussed.

Quaint lift/elevator system .... you punch in the floor number into a touch pad and the computerised women tells you lift A, B or C ..... not seen that before , but it works .... most of the time !

The room itself was bright, big enough (this is London after all !) and as it was on the 15th floor, provided spectacular views towards the Houses of Parliament, Big Ben and the London Eye. Added bonus was the spectacular view of the fireworks following the Diamond Jubilee Concert. The room was clean and made the best use of what was really a unique shape as the buliding is round. All of the facilities worked as they should within the room and despite its location, traffic noise generally wasn't an issue unless the emergency services were using their sirens.

The buffet breakfast was reasonable value for money and on the one occasion we used room service, the portions were surprisingly large and the quality was excellent ... again, another pleasent surprise for a London hotel.

When checking out, the main lift/elevator system failed so we got the 'adventure' of the servcie lift/elevator with our porter and bags. What could have been a major inconveninece for my girlfriend & I was handled well (with a joke and a laugh) by the porter.

All of the staff we came in contact with were enthusiastic, willing to help, bright and cheery and willing to have a crack at the London weather, which was living down to its reputation for most of our stay.

Of the five Starwood hotels I've stayed at in London over the years, the Park Tower was easily the best and we will be back.

Room Tip: By the nature of the building (it's round), not sure there's any bad rooms. If you can affo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RSL_1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Rooms Division Manager at The Park Tower Knightsbridge, A Luxury Collection Hotel, London, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Dear RSL_1968,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful feedback regarding your recent at the Park Tower and congratulations again on achieving your Lifetime Gold Status. It was a delight to read of how much you enjoyed your stay with us and in particular how impressed you were with the customer service delivered by all of our associates. We strive to deliver exceptional service at every touch point and are happy to hear your experience reflected the high standards we set for ourselves.

At the Sheraton Park Tower we understand how important an early check in can be after a long journey and are glad to hear the team was able to accommodate this request for you without much delay. We were also glad to hear of how much you enjoyed our luxurious guest rooms and the spectacular views they boast. They certainly would have been a great place to enjoy the Jubilee fireworks celebrations!

I am however sorry to hear that you were not offered your choice of welcome amenity. Our systems automatically assign the points for our gold members so you will have received 250 bonus points as your welcome amenity, however I would like to apologise that you were not offered this when checking in.

Our modern lift system was designed with efficiency in mind for both the environment and our guests. By having the lift go directly to the floor for which it is commanded to it saves both energy and time. However, your visit did coincided with an unexpected lift malfunction. I am sorry for any inconvenience the disruption may have caused you; however, am happy to hear that our porters were able to assist you fully and do it with a good sense of humour!

I am glad you enjoyed dining for breakfast at our One-O-One Restaurant, we agree it is fantastic. Might I recommend for your next stay with us to experience our One-O-One’s magnificent fish and seafood menu. Voted 6th best restaurant in the UK this is truly a dining experience not to be missed.

Our goal at the Sheraton Park Tower is to deliver exceptional service for our guests while creating memorable experiences for them to treasure. We are happy to hear we were able to do this for you and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future to create more memories.

Warm regards,

Andrew Kennedy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

This hotel has a great location and even better staff. The service in this hotel was exceptional and I would definitley go back to stay here again. I loved everything about it!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewKennedy, Rooms Division Manager at The Park Tower Knightsbridge, A Luxury Collection Hotel, London, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Dear Christina G,

Thank you so much for your exceptional review of The Sheraton Park Tower. We were delighted to learn of how much you enjoyed your stay with us and in particular the service provided by our ambassadors.

May I suggest for your next stay with us to try our award winning One-O-One restaurant? Voted 6th best restaurant in the UK and renowned for its seafood, it is a London experience that is not be missed.

Thank you again for your wonderful review and we hope to welcome you back to the Park Tower in the near future.

Warm regards,

Andrew Kennedy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

This hotel is one of my favorites in London. If you book a "panoramic" room, the views are simply amazing! The interior design is tasteful with hardwood floors and custom desgned furniture. The beds and linnens make for a great night's sleep. Althugh the room is smallish, the view more than makes up for the room size.

Room Tip: Book a panoramic room type
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FreqTravDaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewKennedy, Rooms Division Manager at The Park Tower Knightsbridge, A Luxury Collection Hotel, London, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Dear FreqTravDaddy,

Thank you for your second wonderful review of the Sheraton Park Tower. It is always nice to hear from our return guests and know that we have continued to exceed their expectations with our customer service, excellent hotel facilities and magnificent views that our luxurious guest rooms’ offer. We are glad to hear that we are one of your top hotel destinations in London and look forward to welcoming you back to The Park Tower very soon.

Warm regards,

Andrew Kennedy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
191 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Don't be fooled by the ugly, communist-like façade of the hotel for within lies a beautiful and elegant hotel with comfortable bedrooms. I loved the layout and shape of the bedroom and the view over Hyde Park was wonderful. The decor of the room is very elegant and the bed is incredibly comfortable and it is huge! I had such a good night's sleep. I found the front desk staff very friendly and helpful. I arrived early at the hotel and they were nevertheless able to assign me a room so that I could leave for my meeting. The hotel is seconds from Harvey Nichols and is moments from a whole range of places to eat. Public transport connections are also good with tube and bus options very close to the hotel. The reason I haven't awarded the hotel a rating of 5 is because the public areas really lack atmosphere - I had afternoon tea in the lounge and drinks at the bar one evening and although the surroundings were lovely etc. there was no atmosphere and it was very empty! I also ate at the fish restaurant (wonderful food!) and also felt it lacked atmosphere. This comment is obviously based only on my experience and it may be that it was a very quiet period in Knightsbridge. I would certainly stay at the hotel again though.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewKennedy, Rooms Division Manager at The Park Tower Knightsbridge, A Luxury Collection Hotel, London, responded to this review, 1 June 2012
Dear UKonthe go,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us at The Sheraton Park Tower. We were delighted to hear of how much you enjoyed our luxurious guest rooms and the incredible views they offer. I am happy to hear that we were able to help make your business trip a little smoother with an early check in and that our great location worked well for both the business and pleasure aspects of your trip.

While we were happy to hear of all of the positive aspects of your stay we were disappointed you felt the hotel lacked atmosphere. Creating elegant and enchanting spaces where our guests can indulge themselves in delectable treats and good conversation is something we pride ourselves on. I am truly sorry this was not your experience. Your feedback is very valuable in addressing the experience moving forward

Should you return during our summer months I invite you to try our Knightsbridge Terrace restaurant where our guests can sit outside and enjoy the beautiful sunshine and enjoy all the sights of Knightsbridge. This is another London experience that is not to be missed.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Andrew Kennedy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Belgravia
Jumeirah Lowndes Hotel
Jumeirah Lowndes Hotel
#234 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Belgravia
Jumeirah Carlton Tower
Jumeirah Carlton Tower
#80 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
Knightsbridge
Bulgari Hotel, London
Bulgari Hotel, London
#126 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Knightsbridge
The Capital Hotel
The Capital Hotel
#42 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Mayfair
Sheraton Grand London Park Lane
Knightsbridge
Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Park Tower Knightsbridge, A Luxury Collection Hotel, London? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park Tower Knightsbridge, A Luxury Collection Hotel, London

Property: The Park Tower Knightsbridge, A Luxury Collection Hotel, London
Address: 101 Knightsbridge, London SW1X 7RN, England (Formerly Sheraton Park Tower)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Belgravia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#147 Family Hotel in London
#159 Luxury Hotel in London
#222 Romantic Hotel in London
#253 Business Hotel in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 22,705 - ₹ 51,024
Hotel Class:5 star — The Park Tower Knightsbridge, A Luxury Collection Hotel, London 5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinctly Knightsbridge, The Park Tower Knightsbridge, a Luxury Collection hotel, London has become the residence for global explorers looking for an authentic experience of the locale. Located just a short walk away from iconic Hyde Park, the hotel features 280 guest rooms and suites, most of them affording breathtaking views of Knightsbridge, Hyde Park and over London's skyline. Recognised as the destination authority, the hotel head concierge and his team will help uncover the hidden gems of the locale so that guests can make the most of their stay. The Park Tower Knightsbridge is also home to critically-acclaimed fish restaurant One-O-One, The Knightsbridge Lounge which serves Hyde Park-inspired afternoon tea, and The Hyde Bar, offering whiskies and cigars in an intimate and refined setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Starwood EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Park Tower Knightsbridge, A Luxury Collection Hotel, London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Park Tower Hotel London
Sheraton Park Hotel
Sheraton London
London Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing