We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“will never go back” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Oxford Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Oxford Hotel
Ranked #917 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Kolkata, India
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“will never go back”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

I travelled with my family. Unfortunately we choose the oxford hotel. I small lobby greets you along with a rude manager and then u haul your own suitcase through a narrow staircase. The breakfast is in the stuffy basement and very very basic. The rooms are also very small. I will never recomend it to anyone.However a big thumbs up for the next door coffee shop which serves great breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sreeIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    84
    78
    37
    53
See reviews for
88
73
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

This hotel is definitely not luxurious. It is basic, but that is reflected in the price. The rooms are small, but the bed linen is clean! This is not the place for a romantic break away - if you are planning to spend a lot of time in the room! The location is great - a few minutes walk from Lancaster Gate tube - and the area has some pretty good places to eat if you don't want to venture into the centre. One point though - the breakfast at the Oxford is awful! If you're lucky you get a sachet of instant coffee to add water to, a croissant and a roll. There will be jam and butter, but possibly not much else. It is also served in a VERY small room so get there early! Mind you, as long as you are not looking forward to a great breakfast, and you're prepared to stay in basic accommodation, I would still recommend the Oxford. I've stayed there twice now and would do so again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor and had lovely views over the tops of the nearby houses. It was gorgeous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CI5_GIrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

I stayed in this hotel twice first time in January 2009 and then in December 2010. Both times we were 4 persons and we stayed in the same room, room was a very good size and it didn't feel crowded at all. Rooms were clean and tidy, we had a fridge and microwave in the room which is very convenient.
Location is perfect, very central, and right around the corner from Hyde Park and Lancaster Gate Tube Station.
Breakfast was good and eat as much as you like. They also offer cooked english breakfast for a small fee.
Staff are very nice and helpful.
Place is a bit old and no elevator but Great value for money, If I had to go back to London I'd probably stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FabsM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beira, Mozambique
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2011

We had such a nice stay at the Oxford. Our room was ready really early, so we could check in about three hours ahead of check in time. About 1km's walk from the station. Rooms were nice and big compared to other budget hotels in London. The beds were fine, the pillows were just soooo hard! Guys at front door were nice, there was always someone there,even really late at night. We stayed right at the top so we had a nice view as well, will really go back to this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LuzelMiddleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2011

Stayed there for a one night trip to London to see a show and the sights. It's in a great position, next to Hyde Park and close to the Lancaster Gate tube on the Central Line. Reception staff are incredibly friendly, and I found the room to be very clean. TV reception is terrible - but we weren't in London to watch the TV, so that's no big problem. Didn't stay for breakfast as the breakfast room is tiny and in the basement and was very full when we poked our head round the door!

I would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Uffordman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Elysee Hotel
#553 of 1,078 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Earls Court
Lord Kensington Hotel
Lord Kensington Hotel
#710 of 1,078 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Notting Hill
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#597 of 1,078 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Brunel Hotel
#742 of 1,078 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Earls Court
Trebovir Hotel
Trebovir Hotel
#846 of 1,078 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Duke of Leinster Hotel
#689 of 1,078 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oxford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oxford Hotel

Property: The Oxford Hotel
Address: 13-14 Craven Terrace | Lancaster Gate, London W2 3QD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #917 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,811 - ₹ 23,281
Hotel Class:3 star — The Oxford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Oxford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing