We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Eagle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Royal Eagle Hotel
Ranked #867 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Leuven, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

Me and a friend went on a 4 day trip to london in february. We arrived at the hotel before the check in time and they stored our bags until we came back. They did the same the last day when we had to check out, free of charge. The room was obviously recently redecorated and looked nice. It was a little small but definitely manageable. The room was rather hot but if you cracked a window open, the temperature was neither to hot or could. I thought the bed slept amazing, but if you are taller than 1,75 meters, it can get a bit small. The bathroom was also small but very clean and had a rain shower. Overall the room was more than fine.

We had absolutely no problems with the elevator, nor with the staff working there. They were actually quite nice and provided us with an international plug. The walls were rather thin but if you are a heavy sleeper it shouldn't be a problem. The big advantage is of course is the location near two metro stations.

I would recommend this hotel to people who are all about seeing london and spending the day outside. It's a really great hotel for the price you pay (I expected something shady and dirty but was pleasantly surprised with the room being modern and clean) I'll definitely go back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gitte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    251
    340
    203
    184
See reviews for
289
274
67
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

This hotel is doing some upgrades and has potential. We ended up in a drafty basement room. The staff did bring us a space heater. The beds were on wheels and kept rolling across the floor. The elevator is sketchy. I got stuck for 10 minutes and chided for pushing the alarm. The only redeeming features were the room was clean and the location was decent. All if the staff could do better.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trishladish1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Mosta, Malta
Level Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

We stayed at the Royal Eagle hotel from the 17th till the 23rd January and we are very happy with the hotel although there is nothing special about this hotel that I can think of. The service was great from the staff and always helped us when we needed them and also rooms were kept very clean, corridors near the rooms are very narrow and also our room was exactly in front of the lift so you can hear every person going by and also when the lift is being used but still it didn't bother us that much. The room sizes aren't big but its enough for 2 people you just want to shower, sleep and have some area to put the bags and also the rooms are very warm, too warm in our case.

The location of this hotel is perfect because it is just 5 mins away from Paddington underground station and also bus and also about 7-10 mins away from Lancaster Gate underground station and bus which is very good to travel as your about only 10 mins away from Oxford Street and near Hyde Park so everything is not that far away.

Overall we were happy with our stay and would only wish we were in a better located room but still they did let us check in about 3 hours before so we didn't argue with them... Also the heating of the rooms is too high and the rooms are too warm and hotel was very clean which is a big plus.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian-Mixa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Royal Eagle Hotel, Paddington London for three nights in January 2012. The purpose of the visit was to attend an opera in Covent Garden. The hotel was ideally situated for Paddington station where our train arrived, only a five minute walk away. The exterior of the hotel was attractive and the staff very accomodating. There are two lifts, the left one tiny barely enough room for two people plus cases and the right lift considerably larger. We had a room on the fourth floor facing the main road. The room was accessed via the lift and up a small flight of stairs. It had recently been decorated so the furniture and bedding was very acceptable. However, the size of the room was an issue. It was really very small, so it was impossible for two people to move around the room at the same time. We had to take it in turns to get ready and keep our cases on top of the wardrobe and under a table.There is a free safe which is a bonus and tea making facilities. The basin in the bathroom was tiny and shower screen on the bath prone to moving. However, all that said for the price a very convenient place to stay and reasonable for the price. EFs across the road good for breakfast, and we had a good curry around the corner from the station (they offer eat as much as you want 12-4). For getting around, we bought zone 1 all day tickets at £7 allowing limitless travel on underground and bus in central London, perfect. Plenty of places in Paddington railway station to eat, M & S and Sainsburys if you want more choice than train buffet for snack on way home. All in all a great break!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lizswansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

I don't know what to make of this hotel. It was clean and comfortable enough but somewhat on the basic side.

1) the room I had (421) was uncarpeted with plank effect veneer chipboard floor. This was chopped quite a lot so looks untidy.
2) because there is no carpet the bed moves very easily. Being a bit of a restless sleeper I found that by morning I had moved across the room and woke up when my pillow fell off the top of the divan (the headboard is attached to the wall)
3) my room overlooked the main road and was only single glazed so quite noisy.
4) I'm not sure the hotel have sussed but analogue tv gets switched off this year and an old 14" CRT tele with just the 5 terrestrial channels is going to be redundant very soon.
5) the whole decor is looking dated and weary.

Ok the good points
1) decent, simple to use shower
2) only a 5 minute walk from Paddington station one way and 5 minutes from Lancaster Gate tube the other way so getting around London from here is pretty easy
3) what interaction I had with the staff was ok

Overall would I stay here again? Only if I really had to, there are better places around for the same rates. There is nothing majorly wrong with the Royal Eagle but it's not the best in its class.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NtheP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
0.6 km away
Central Park Hotel
Central Park Hotel
#864 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,503 reviews
0.1 km away
Brunel Hotel
Brunel Hotel
#746 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.4 km away
Holiday Villa Hotel and Suites London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Ashley London
Ashley London
#883 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.4 km away
Hyde Park Boutique Hotel
Hyde Park Boutique Hotel
#525 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
0.3 km away
Tudor Court Hotel
Tudor Court Hotel
#770 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Eagle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Eagle Hotel

Property: Royal Eagle Hotel
Address: 26-30 Craven Road, London W2 3QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #867 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,478 - ₹ 15,289
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Eagle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Royal Eagle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Eagle London
Hotel Royal Eagle
Royal Eagle Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing