We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and cozy rooms”
Review of Phoenix Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Phoenix Hotel
Ranked #274 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 October 2012

I happened to stay in this hotel and after reading the reviews i kept my expectations low. After taking tube until bayswater station, we started the walk and was surprised that the hotel was less than 10minutes away (had couple of luggage on my, else it is about 5 minutes walk). Queensway station is a minute away from Bayswater. Anyways, checkin took us less than 5 minutes (bookings were done through Hotel.com). Yes, the elevator is slow, the carpets on the floor seems there only to cover the wooden planks. You hear the footsteps as you step in the elevator, until the room. I had booked a double room and it was smaller than the hotel rooms in Hongkong. There was a 18inch tv with local channels mounted on the wall, a wardrobe, a bed, a study table (which i had to use to keep my bags). Toilet was small too and my initial response was disappointing. However, i stayed in the hotel for about 5 nites and everyday the rooms and toilet would be cleaned, an iron box provided with the table if required. Breakfast was continental with limited options but i did not expect much either. Plenty of restaurants, souvenirs shops, bars around which made the location more attractive. The ginger lady at the front desk was very helpful during our checkin & checkout. Overall, i dont mind staying in the hotel when on business, but might avoid if i travel with my wife. A big no if you are with kids and sharing a double room.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better, but elevator takes a long time! Be early for breakfast, else the room gets...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank majmani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,738)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

715 - 719 of 1,738 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2012

I wrote a review last October and here is my second review as I had just returned from London yesterday and stayed again at the Best Western Phoenix Hotel for 5 nights.

I stayed in a single room again this time on the 4th (top) floor. I found my room to be much smaller than the one I was in last time. I could barely move around but honestly, it didn't bother me that much and I've been in smaller hotel rooms (i.e. Tokyo). The carpet was a bit worn and there were some cracks here and there but was clean for the most part. Same amenities as before such as kettle, cups, coffee & tea, large bathrobe, tv, free wi-fi, etc. Although this time, the wi-fi connection was a bit iffy, could be because I was on the top floor. Breakfast was the same as before, I only went twice during my stay. It's free so I can't complain. The rest of the times, I was out the door early and didn't bother.

The best thing about this hotel is the location, it's close by 2 tube stations, a few steps away from a variety of shops, restaurants, a shopping mall, post office, grocery stores, etc. And it's only one subway stop away from Paddington Station which is really handly if you need to take the Heathrow Express trains.

Once again, I will come back again next time I am in London!

Room Tip: Choose a room on a lower floor if you want a strong wi-fi signal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PiperToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

This is a very good hotel for the stars, and what you pay for. It´s really well located near queensway, so you´ve got Pret a Manger, tons of restaurants, and markets plus 2 underground stations. The rooms are very small, but clean and look new, specially the bathroom, looks so white and clean...
The staff could be more attentive, but again it´s a 3 star, we cant´ask much. The breakfast is good, although it can´t get really packed early in the mornings.
The only bad thing is the wifi, only worked in the lobby, and the entrance, kinda complicated if you´re carrying heavy luggage (no ramps, tiny door). Definetely i would recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank velezmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

EK Airbus A380-800 flight to London was excellent, chauffeur drive super, without complimentary chauffeur drive we probably wouldn't be able to find the hotel. Actually it is close to the subway station, better get a weekly-card (Oyster Card). The hotel looks much better on the photo than it is, but it is a nice place "to stay". The receptionists from Polandand France have been very polite, but a little bit more action and smiling would be appreciated. Our room was clean, organized, not that big though. It is more like you stepping on someone's feet if there are two of you living together. The hotel is well located, the breakfast: not many options except, bread, ham, toast, cheese, butter, some fruits, but if you want to go for vegetables: eat the decoration like I did. If you are early enough you might get some tomatoes from the decoration, sometimes some slices of cucumber. If you would like to have another choice, order your ham and eggs / baked beans with sausages are also available upon request. (not complimentary).

Room Tip: It is a place to stay, not a place for spending a whole entire day. The lobby is pretty nice, there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank SQUALO85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

I've stayed at this hotel several times over the years, stretching back to 2006.

It's basic, but in a great location, always clean, staff friendly and helpful, and feels updated and cheerful.

This isn't the place for your honeymoon or some such, but if the location is particularly convenient for you as a business person, or you're traveling casually without a lot of luxury expectations, it's hard to beat the Phoenix.

A special note for Americans on their first trip overseas: The rooms are are rather small compared to what you may be used to in the United States, but this is quite common for the U.K. and mainland Europe. You won't have a lot of extra space, but you can rest assured you'll be comfy.

I'd like to make special mention of Jesus, the Phoenix's fantastic bartender. He's one of the nicest guys you'll ever meet and pours a fine drink.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
London House Hotel
London House Hotel
#315 of 1,077 in London
2,379 reviews
Notting Hill
Kensington Gardens Hotel
Kensington Gardens Hotel
#411 of 1,077 in London
316 reviews
Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
#336 of 1,077 in London
1,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#298 of 1,077 in London
1,783 reviews
Notting Hill
MStay Hyde Park Hotel
MStay Hyde Park Hotel
#423 of 1,077 in London
289 reviews
Notting Hill
Grand Royale London Hyde Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenix Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix Hotel

Address: 1-8 Kensington Gardens Square, London W2 4BH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#250 Business Hotel in London
#362 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: ₹ 5,740 - ₹ 13,776 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Phoenix Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Phoenix is a 125 bedroom 3 star central London hotel, located 5 minutes walk from Hyde Park. Bayswater and Queensway underground stations are both within a few minutes walking distance. The hotel is centrally situated for both the business executive and the holiday-maker, with the West End and its shops and theaters within easy reach. Free Wi-Fi and continental buffet breakfast is always included when making a reservation with Phoenix Hotel. Full English breakfast is available made to order, at an additional charge of £7.50 Per person. Check-in time is from 1 pm onward. There is a complimentary luggage storage facility at the hotel. The reception desk is open 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Fastbooking so you can book your Phoenix Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western London
London Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing