We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,898)
Filter reviews
1,898 results
Traveller rating
596
938
294
49
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
596
938
294
49
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbayswater tube stationhyde parkcontinental breakfastsingle roomkensington gardenswestbourne grovenotting hillrestaurants and shopsyogurtcircle lineboiled eggsminute walkquiet streetplace to sleepbreakfast staffexcellent locationrooms are small
Filter
Updating list...
818 - 823 of 1,898 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2012

I wrote a review last October and here is my second review as I had just returned from London yesterday and stayed again at the Best Western Phoenix Hotel for 5 nights.

I stayed in a single room again this time on the 4th (top) floor. I found my room to be much smaller than the one I was in last time. I could barely move around but honestly, it didn't bother me that much and I've been in smaller hotel rooms (i.e. Tokyo). The carpet was a bit worn and there were some cracks here and there but was clean for the most part. Same amenities as before such as kettle, cups, coffee & tea, large bathrobe, tv, free wi-fi, etc. Although this time, the wi-fi connection was a bit iffy, could be because I was on the top floor. Breakfast was the same as before, I only went twice during my stay. It's free so I can't complain. The rest of the times, I was out the door early and didn't bother.

The best thing about this hotel is the location, it's close by 2 tube stations, a few steps away from a variety of shops, restaurants, a shopping mall, post office, grocery stores, etc. And it's only one subway stop away from Paddington Station which is really handly if you need to take the Heathrow Express trains.

Once again, I will come back again next time I am in London!

Room Tip: Choose a room on a lower floor if you want a strong wi-fi signal.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PiperToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

This is a very good hotel for the stars, and what you pay for. It´s really well located near queensway, so you´ve got Pret a Manger, tons of restaurants, and markets plus 2 underground stations. The rooms are very small, but clean and look new, specially the bathroom, looks so white and clean...
The staff could be more attentive, but again it´s a 3 star, we cant´ask much. The breakfast is good, although it can´t get really packed early in the mornings.
The only bad thing is the wifi, only worked in the lobby, and the entrance, kinda complicated if you´re carrying heavy luggage (no ramps, tiny door). Definetely i would recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank velezmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

EK Airbus A380-800 flight to London was excellent, chauffeur drive super, without complimentary chauffeur drive we probably wouldn't be able to find the hotel. Actually it is close to the subway station, better get a weekly-card (Oyster Card). The hotel looks much better on the photo than it is, but it is a nice place "to stay". The receptionists from Polandand France have been very polite, but a little bit more action and smiling would be appreciated. Our room was clean, organized, not that big though. It is more like you stepping on someone's feet if there are two of you living together. The hotel is well located, the breakfast: not many options except, bread, ham, toast, cheese, butter, some fruits, but if you want to go for vegetables: eat the decoration like I did. If you are early enough you might get some tomatoes from the decoration, sometimes some slices of cucumber. If you would like to have another choice, order your ham and eggs / baked beans with sausages are also available upon request. (not complimentary).

Room Tip: It is a place to stay, not a place for spending a whole entire day. The lobby is pretty nice, there is free WIFI (a bit slow, by mobile phone is much faster than that and it is not even 3G)
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank SQUALO85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

I've stayed at this hotel several times over the years, stretching back to 2006.

It's basic, but in a great location, always clean, staff friendly and helpful, and feels updated and cheerful.

This isn't the place for your honeymoon or some such, but if the location is particularly convenient for you as a business person, or you're traveling casually without a lot of luxury expectations, it's hard to beat the Phoenix.

A special note for Americans on their first trip overseas: The rooms are are rather small compared to what you may be used to in the United States, but this is quite common for the U.K. and mainland Europe. You won't have a lot of extra space, but you can rest assured you'll be comfy.

I'd like to make special mention of Jesus, the Phoenix's fantastic bartender. He's one of the nicest guys you'll ever meet and pours a fine drink.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Stayed for 5 days. The room was very clean and a good size. Bathroom also had a bath. The international staff were very nice and helpful be it on the reception desk or the breakfast room. Good continental breakfast available and plenty of it. Fabulous location would highly recommend. Located in a quite street not even a minute walk to Queens Way where you will find lots of restaurants and cafes and just about anything that you need. Two train stations (Bayswater and Queensway) only a few minutes walk away depending on what line you want to use. Arrived by Heathrow Express (highly recommend) cab to the hotel 5 pounds. You could walk it if you can carry the luggage. Walk to Hyde Park and Kensington Palace very close by. All in all very happy with this hotel, it's not the Ritz but it is very adequate if you don't want to spend lots of money on a London hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews