We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice surprise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London
Ranked #362 of 1,077 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 9 October 2012

This apartment hotel is very well located, almost opposite Holborn Tube station, across the road from Little Waitrose and other eateries close at hand. It is the first time I have stayed in the Holborn area, and it is great - very central and easy walking to Covent Garden, Oxford St and Charing Cross. The room was well set out, clean and nicely decorated. Being an apartment with a small kitchenette was ideal. Other hotel facilities were excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ggesitg, General Manager at Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2012

Thank you for your review of our hotel. Given that you have travelled quite a bit your review holds a lot of weight. For your next visit consider booking through our own website where you will find the best deals including complimentary internet.
Thank you again for taking the time to comment on your stay.
With best regards,

Germana Genovese

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,376)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

740 - 744 of 1,376 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2012

This suite hotel is conveniently located near Holborn and Chancery Lane tube stations. It is pleasant, if somewhat bland and neutral in its interior decor. The rooms are cosy but acceptable, and have small kitchenettes. Service was efficient if unexceptional.

Stayed: October 2012
1  Thank Architectandmusician
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ggesitg, General Manager at Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2012

Thank you for your review.
I was pleased to read your comments and delighted to hear you had a good experience with us and you were happy with the service you received.
I do hope we can welcome you back again soon.
With best wishes,
Germana Genovese

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

On the second leg of our London trip, we decided to move from Mayfair to Holborn-Covent Garden area of London.

The hotel is in another great place and within short walking distance to all that that West End has to offer. During this time we caught a movie at Leicester Square at Vue cinema as well as the Lion King musical at the Aldwych Theatre.

This is the first time that we stayed at Citadines which falls under the "Apart-otel" designation. What this meant was it was a semi-hotel and semi-apartment with a kitchenette, on-site laundry facilities, as well as the usual hotel facilities. The room is adequate and we stayed at a studio as well as the 1 bed room suite with a separate living area with sofa bed.

Typical of many London hotels, the bathroom is small but is adequately equipped.

Staff were friendly and helpful. Setting up the free WIFI should be done at reception/check in. They also provide free cable internet access.

There is free coffee/tea/hot chocolate drinks at the reception. We decided against the breakfast package as we are located in Holborn and are surrounded by cafe's and snack bars within 1-2 minute's walk.

There is a popular Mexican burrito bar to the left of the hotel and the Holborn tube station is just a couple of minute's walk to the right. Directly opposite is a Pret a Manger sandwich bar as well as a Waitrose supermarket. Across the street is Sainsbury's supermarket. There is a McDonald's close by too.

I saw a number of parents escorting their law-school going kids as there are a number of famous law schools (as well as LSE) in the area.

Within walking distance is Leather Lane so if you like your burritos, word is Daddy Donkey is the place to be.

Room Tip: Select a room facing the back and not the main road on High Holborn but not room 130 as the rubbish...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VinceChoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ggesitg, General Manager at Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2012

Dear Reviewer

Further to your recent stay at the Citadines prestige Holborn Covent Garden hotel I am in receipt of your feedback which you very kindly took the time to complete online.

It is immensely rewarding to read such a positive review and serves as a great motivator to the team here at the Hotel.

We strive to provide our guests with memorable experiences in the hope that they will return time and time again.

Regards

Germana genovese

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

The location of the hotel is perfect. Richt on tube station Holborn. Restaurants nearby. The hotel is clean and quite beautiful. But the service was bad. we tried To check in At 12.45 being tired from our journey. They simply told us to come back at 14.00. When we asked is the receptionist could try and maybe call with housekeeping if she had something available she refused: come back at two.
At two she gave us room 232. It is for disabled people. Great that they have such rooms! However the toilet is at todler level and the bath too. We did not fit.. Too small. When using the shower we could only get half of our body wet... And then turn for the rest. Complaining did not help.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ggesitg, General Manager at Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback.

I would like to apologize for the disappointing experience you had with us. We always do our best to meet the expectations of all our guests, but in this instance, we failed to meet your expectations. While we strive to maintain the highest customer satisfaction standards, monitoring our effectiveness can be a challenge at times. We welcome feedback such as yours as they indicate the areas where we can further improve.

Once again, I would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused during your stay and we look forward to welcoming you again, giving us another opportunity to serve you better.

Kind regards,
Germana Genovese

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

What's hot!! The room size, considering it is London we are talking about! The kitchen which is adequately equipped, living room, and most importantly, the location. Free coffee/internet/shopping carts to lug to grocery store all a bonus

What's not....plenty!! Some of the reception staff thinks they are doing you a major favor just by standing there. Request for an adapter can result in a icy cold stare followed by 'we don't have one now, and I don't know when it will be available', when asked further if we could buy one, 'I just answered your question'. Excuse me, while I bother you with some basic reuqests!!

Needed some help with a local phone call, the handset in the room, didn't have a tab on how/what to dial to make a call outside of the hotel. When we couldn't get through to calling our pre arranged taxi service to confirm the pick up, we requested the reception to help us, Ms Justyana, the receptionist insinuated we were out to make a free phone call. We asked her to add it to our bill, and she continued making condescending comments. Yes, we can book and pay in advance for two premier bedroom suites for a week, leave a copy of our passports/credit cards, and still balk over paying for a phone call worth a pound or two or ten? And should you even harbor any such sentiments in your head, you should still have the intelligence to not be vocal about it. The easiest thing for her would have been to ask us if we would like to pay for the call in cash, or be added to the room tab....enough for us to realize that nothing in this world is for free, not that our intent was to fleece them in the first place

Light cleaning as suggested by the hotel as one of its services should include some wiping the water off the bathroom counters and atleast three strokes of broom around the living room area. Else categorically mentioned that only towels will be changed, and the bed will be straigtened out. The 4th day deep cleaning/changing of bed linens should be done on the 4th day as promised, and not the 5th day upon prompting

The noise factor is huge as well, so that's not hot either. Understandable that the hotel front staff cannot throw a guest out of their room, but upon our stay, when we complained of major disturbance and noise and too much partying till wee hours of the morning in the adjacent room( #430, on Thu, Sep 13, 2012) the least they could have done is to politely wish the offending guests a good night and sleep tight(so other tired guests could too)

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ann E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ggesitg, Manager at Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback.

I would like to apologize for the disappointing experience you had with us. We always do our best to meet the expectations of all our guests, but in this instance, we failed to meet your expectations. While we strive to maintain the highest customer satisfaction standards, monitoring our effectiveness can be a challenge at times. We welcome feedback such as yours as they indicate the areas where we can further improve.

I have investigated your comments regarding the housekeeping services. I would like to assure you, I have shared your feedback with the staff concerned and we have taken steps to prevent a recurrences of the problems you experienced. Though our daily light cleaning concept, does not include brooming of the apartments, I have noted this point to further discuss with the management team. I feel we can make further improvements in this area and I will ensure a thorough review is completed of this particular service.

As a company, we take all forms of offensive or unacceptable behavior by our employees very seriously. Justyna is one of our most experienced and reliable guest service team members. She has consistently demonstrated an attentive and helpful attitude to our guests and we have never received such feedback about her before.
However, I was not there on this particular occasion, so I acknowledge it is possible that a momentary poor choice of words, by the staff may have led to this mis-understanding. I have personally, addressed this issue with all those concerned, including Emilie and Rosette as witnesses and will ensure they receive the necessary guidance to perform a much better role moving forwards, to avoid any recurrence of such incidents.

Once again, I would like to apologize for the disappointing experience during your stay and we look forward to welcoming you again, giving us another opportunity to serve you better.

Kind regards,
Tim Boothe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Holborn
Club Quarters Hotel, Lincoln's Inn Fields
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#68 of 1,077 in London
1,672 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Citadines Trafalgar Square London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
#144 of 1,077 in London
892 reviews
Bloomsbury
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Holborn
Premier Inn London Holborn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London

Address: 94-99 High Holborn, London WC1V 6LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Holborn
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Green Hotel in London
#255 Luxury Hotel in London
#257 Romantic Hotel in London
#309 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: ₹ 11,353 - ₹ 23,910 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a short walk from Covent Garden and close to the financial and business district, Citadines Prestige Holborn-Covent Garden London is surrounded by traditional pubs, international restaurants, art galleries and churches. At Covent Garden, visit the converted 19th-century fruit and vegetable market, the London Transport Museum and the famous Royal Opera House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Prestige Holborn - Covent Garden Hotel London
Citadines Holborn Covent Garden London
Citadines Holborn Covent Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing