We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel but Horrible Mattress.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London
Ranked #376 of 1,081 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 28 September 2012

This hotel is aesthetically very nice. Clean and modern. Missing most of the grundge that characterizes so many London hotels, even expensive ones. I liked the location and found it to be very convenient. The decor and services were good, including a 'round the clock coffee machine in the lobby. There is a small refridgerator and cook top, as well as a sink, in the kitchen area of the room. The room is good sized for london standards and the bathroom is very nicely appointed. The a/c works reasonably but not brilliantly. The big problem is that the mattress on the bed is the most uncomfortable I've slept on at a hotel. It's not really a spring mattress, it's more like a fouton and my back would actually touch the board below. All they need to do is put a spring mattress on the bed frame and they'd be fine. But, as it stands, it's extremely uncomfortable.

There is a laundry facility on the premises, for pay, that is extremely convenient. More hotels need to do that. Finally, loved the fact that the room's floors were not carpeted. A combination of laminate wood and tile make the room feel much cleaner than the typical dirty carpet of most hotels.

I highly recommend saving money and eating breakfast at the little food place near the tube station. It's got an odd name, that I cannot currently remember but it's right next to the Holborn tube and I got a full English breakfast for 5 pounds. The service was also very friendly there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mikeinla2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ggesitg, General Manager at Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback.
Extremely sorry for a couple of frustrations you experienced during your stay but so delighted you enjoyed your overall visit.I have noted your comment about the bed and I will follow up with my maintenance team.
I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future when I would hope to meet with you personally.
With my best wishes,
Germana Genovese

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,421)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

781 - 785 of 1,421 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2012

Great location, close to tube and all the happenings of Covent Gardens. Room wasn't huge, but was all that was needed. Could have done with some draws to unpack clothes in, we stayed 5 nights. House keeping was good, came every day, even though the info given at booking said the rooms were only serviced weekly. They even washed our dishes. Nice view into a court yard of the adjoining offices. No traffic noise or noise from other rooms. Could hear people in corridor, but this wasn't an issue. Would stay here again as it made travelling around London very easy and we had some great meals and theater experience close by.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank Margaret P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ggesitg, General Manager at Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2012

Dear Reviewer

Further to your recent stay at the Citadines prestige Holborn Covent Garden hotel I am in receipt of your feedback which you very kindly took the time to complete online.

It is immensely rewarding to read such a positive review and serves as a great motivator to the team here at the Hotel.

We strive to provide our guests with memorable experiences in the hope that they will return time and time again. I am very happy to read that this is exactly what you intend to do and look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards

Germana Genovese

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Great location, 200 metres from Underground station. can walk to most theatres. wide variety of restaurants nearby. Room was clean, comfortable but not luxurious. We used the small kitchen and bought some great food and wine from Waitrose directly opposite the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DAVID J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ggesitg, General Manager at Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2012

Thank you for your feedback.
So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us here at Citadines Prestige Holborn and you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. For your next visit consider booking through our own website where you will find the best deals including complimentary internet.
Thank you again for taking the time to comment on your stay.
With best regards
Germana Genovese

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

The hotel is fantastic for its location, around 50m from the tube, many buses just in front of the hotel and 10 minutes walking to Covent Garden.

The staff was very helpful and friendly and the apartment was very clean.

The wifi is included in the price and it works very good.

I would stay again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paguado69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ggesitg, General Manager at Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2012

Thank you for your feedback which I was delighted to receive.
I am so pleased to hear you had such an enjoyable stay with us and how much you liked one of our rooms. Our location is ideal for getting around in the city, but the best part of the hotel is the staff. Thank you for recognizing their efforts! We hope to see you soon!
We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Citadines prestige London Holborn in the near future.
With our very best wishes,
Germana Genovese

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Comfortable, well located, close to Covent Garden and Bloomsbury (British Museum just 5 mins) Tube 1 minute. Very helpful (but overworked) staff. Tip for breakfast - which they wanted £12 for. There's a Waitrose opposite!

Room Tip: Try an upgrade to 301 - with a sitting room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vanilla99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ggesitg, General Manager at Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the feedback from your recent stay with us.

I am delighted that you are a fan of our residence and found our décor, guest accommodations and in-room amenities tastefully appointed. We are truly proud of our colleagues and I was pleased to learn that we were successful in providing you with friendly and intuitive service.


I am proud to learn that our colleagues were successful in providing you with a truly memorable experience. It is our goal to touch the heart and soul of each and every one of our guests and it was simply our pleasure to provide you with the personal attention you deserve.

regards

Germana Genovese

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Citadines Trafalgar Square London
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#65 of 1,081 in London
1,781 reviews
Holborn
Club Quarters Hotel, Lincoln's Inn Fields
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
#143 of 1,081 in London
952 reviews
Holborn
Premier Inn London Holborn Hotel
Bloomsbury
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London

Address: 94-99 High Holborn, London WC1V 6LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Holborn
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Green Hotel in London
#161 Family Hotel in London
#256 Romantic Hotel in London
#266 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: ₹ 11,909 - ₹ 27,969 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a short walk from Covent Garden and close to the financial and business district, Citadines Prestige Holborn-Covent Garden London is surrounded by traditional pubs, international restaurants, art galleries and churches. At Covent Garden, visit the converted 19th-century fruit and vegetable market, the London Transport Museum and the famous Royal Opera House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Prestige Holborn - Covent Garden Hotel London
Citadines Holborn Covent Garden London
Citadines Holborn Covent Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing