We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Well Worth a Return Visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Montague on The Gardens

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Montague on The Gardens
Ranked #9 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Manchester
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Well Worth a Return Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

We stayed at the Montague on the Gardens for 4 evenings 6th to 10th Sept the next visit will be for a week. The hotel management deserves a mention for such a well run hotel. From the moment you enter the hotel, the reception and concierge staff make you feel so welcome showing you all the facilities the hotel offers. The room we thought at first was a little on the small side but the decor and cleanliness of the room was outstanding and it remained this way all through our stay due to the efforts of the staff looking after the rooms. Breakfast ( full English ) in the restaurant was excellent with a good choice to choose from and again the staff so accommodating and always with a smile. The hotel location was ideal enabling us to walk to most of the main tourist attractions. Again my wife and myself would like to thank everyone at Montague for making our stay so enjoyable. PS I would also like to thank Emma on reservations who arranged my booking.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PBurgess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, 15 September 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your lovely review following your stay at the Montague.

I was thrilled to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and that you found the service and the staff to be brilliant.

Thank you for the special mention of Emma in reservations, I will ensure that her service is duly recognised.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Yours sincerely,
Dirk Crokaert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,794 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,088
    581
    94
    22
    9
See reviews for
629
1,853
252
523
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (698)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012

We stayed at the Montague on the Gardens with family, recently, and we could not be more impressed by a hotel! We usually stay in 5 star hotels all around the world but this hotel had the best and most genuine service of any of them! I would sincerely like to thank all of the staff, from the friendly housekeeping team to the exceptionally professional and lovely receptionists. An extraordinary hotel, a must visit!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobS022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay with us.

It is an absolute delight reading your very complimentary comments about the staff and the service that you received whilst staying at the Montague.

I do hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.

Yours sincerely,
Dirk Crokaert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Connecticut
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012 via mobile

A beautiful little hotel with spotless rooms and perfect service. The lobby is very classy, as is the entire vibe. The doormen are the best. Perfect location, 7 minute walk to soho and a 2 minute walk from the tube. A little expensive but it's worth it.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Orangeskittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your lovely comments following your recent stay at the Montague.

I am delighted to hear that you found the service to be perfect and that you especially highlighted the concierge team. I will ensure that their efforts are duly recognised.

I do hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.

Yours sincerely,
Dirk Crokaert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

Lovely hotel, room was a little small but everything else made up for that. My hubbys 40th and they made ot very special, homemade biscuits in the room, a treat of fruit and chocolates on our return from watching a show. Lovely and quiet but near to the British Musuem and well served by shops etc nearby. Great location, must also mention they let us leave our luggage and got the room ready earlier. Would definately stay at the hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mel h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely feedback on your recent stay with us.

I am pleased to hear that we made your husband's birthday celebration an occasion to remember with all the little treats that we provide.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Yours sincerely,
Dirk Crokaert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012 via mobile

Let me start by saying the rooms are small, with that said it doesn't matter. What a beautiful hotel! The courtyard for dining is secluded and relaxing. Cigar bar and lounge at night have a wonderful feel. I just love this place. Right next to the British museum and within walking distance to everything. Truly a wonderful hotel with a great staff! I highly recommend The Montague.

Helpful?
2 Thank GinAndGold
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your great feedback following your stay with us.

I was thrilled to hear that you had a memorable stay with us and that the staff made a real difference.

Thank you for personally recommending us to others and I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.

Yours sincerely,
Dirk Crokaert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#15 of 1,077 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,027 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,077 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,840 reviews
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,077 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#21 of 1,077 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,893 reviews
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#3 of 1,077 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Montague on The Gardens? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Montague on The Gardens

Property: The Montague on The Gardens
Address: 15 Montague Street, Bloomsbury, London WC1B 5BJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in London
#3 Family Hotel in London
#7 Business Hotel in London
#9 Romantic Hotel in London
#9 Luxury Hotel in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,023 - ₹ 44,291
Hotel Class:4 star — The Montague on The Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your The Montague on The Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Montague On The Gardens Hotel London
The Montague On Gardens
Montague On The Gardens London
Montague Gardens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing