We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Watch your wallets!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Equity Point London Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Equity Point London Hotel
Ranked #158 of 827 Speciality Lodging in London
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Watch your wallets!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Stayed here during the Easter weekend for a theatre trip with my school.

Take heed - this is not a HOTEL, this a HOSTEL. And a very bad one at that. First of all, if you are going to stay here, I suggest that you take a lot of money with you, as they use every excuse in the book to take your money. There is a £10 damage deposit to pay on top of your bill when you check in (if you break anything during your stay, that £10 will go to replacing the damaged object) which we were told NOTHING about. A 7 year old was with us and they even expected her to pay as well, and she was only 7 for God's sake. Thankfully, we got our money back as nothing was damaged. You had to pay atrocious prices for the smallest of things - you are fined if you are late checking out (check out time is 10am), you must pay over £2 for a towel each, you are fined if you are caught drinking or smoking in any of the rooms and Wi-Fi isn't free and costs a lot. So I suggest taking your own towels if you plan on staying here.
Do not be fooled when you see the photos online, this place is simply filthy. The hallways stink of bleach and cigarette smoke, and the stairs are steep and dangerous. The rooms were tiny, cramped and stuffy. There was no room whatsoever to store things - except a locker that did not close properly (they offered padlocks but of course you had to pay for those too), so the room was in a constant mess.
The bathroom is another thing altogether, it was simply DISGUSTING. It was tiny for a start, and it was hard to share between 7 boys. The taps were coated with a thick layer of rust and there were black marks and scratchings at the bottom of the bath. Also, the room is covered with mirrors including one inside the shower so you could constantly see yourself showering and using the toilet.
Nothing in the room seemed to work apart from the main lights. We found a couple of dud switches and the light under the bedroom mirror was loose and kept flickering and soon refused to work at all. You must make the beds yourself as you are provided with scratchy sheets and a paper thin blanket, which makes sleep virtually impossible if you are used to comfortable beds. And don't expect a stunning view of the London street either, all we got was a brick wall. There is a silence time of 11pm and you are fined if you make the tiniest amount of noise.
They say they serve a continental breakfast, but they don't. Unless you call a bowl of cereal in a bowl designed for baby food and burnt toast a continental breakfast. And don't bother with alcohol, as they don't serve any.
The staff were unfriendly (they were very rude to my teachers) and hardly spoke a word of English.
But, the location isn't bad and it's near Paddington Station if you need to make a hasty retreat and need a quick place to stay.
Dissapointing and I hope I never have to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrMonotony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    455
    358
    175
    178
See reviews for
172
89
452
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

We rented a private room for three with an ensuite. Considering the prices for hotels in London this gave us the opportunity to explore London for three days and not break the bank. The room was small but very comfortable and fairly clean. We had towels, water kettle, and packets of coffee and sugar in our room. We didn't use the breakfast as we left early every morning so I cant comment on that. The windows opened for fresh air and the heater worked just fine. The bed was comfortable, the hostel was quiet, and I felt super safe with the security guard walking around all the time.
I would definitely recommend staying here. But remember it is a hostel not a hotel!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandraJohn630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Having booked online as the hostel advertised self catering facilities and laundry only to find out once booked in that they currently have neither. I also booked for 2 to stay In a 4 bed dorm for 2 nights. On arrival to be told we would have to change rooms. On the second night we were moved to a 6 bed room.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Disappointing-hostel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

Equity Point made my trip to London worth it. The massive kitchen made it very easy and comfortable for you to prepare your own meals. There are four communal areas and you can get 24 hour assistance. They also have 24 hour security so it super safe.

I recommend it for anyone traveling through London.

I have other places on my mind to travel and if you are willing to support, http://www.gofundme.com/hvjys

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank onesuitcase_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights a couple weeks ago with my boyfriend, would have stayed in a hotel but was a last minute decision to go. The reviews were OK and the pictures made the place look very nice. Have stayed in the Generator hostel before with friends which is very good, but thought this place looked nicer and more upscale (for a hostel). How wrong i was!

Upon arriving I noticed it looked a lot crappier than in the pictures. The staff were extremely unhelpful and uninterested, it took forever to check in as the receptionist didn't seem to know what she was doing and didn't speak much english. I paid for 3 days wi-fi which stopped working after 2 hours, I went to the reception for help and had to wait half an hour before anyone came even though they had seen me waiting, when the guy eventually came he just looked at me puzzled as he also didn't speak much english. He eventually gave me another wi-fi card which didn't work at all, went down to complain again but after waiting half an hour again I just gave up.
We were parked outside but were told off twice by the hostel's very own pedantic traffic-man? because our average sized car was bigger than the tiny parking space. There were signs for a bar in the hostel which we thought we could go to before bed after a night out, but this didn't serve alcohol. The rooms were tiny, cramped and dirty, the en-suite bathroom was constantly flooded with dirty water, breakfast was disgusting, the walk to the nearest tube station is long and quite intimidating at night - wouldn't advise anyone going alone. I don't have anything positive to say about the place. Don't go here!

If you're just looking for somewhere cheap to sleep and aren't bothered about it being in a good location, having staff who will help or refund anything which goes wrong, theres still got to be somewhere better than this dump!

Room Tip: Don't go here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank robert e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Phoenix Hostel
Phoenix Hostel
#150 of 827 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Atlas Hostels
Atlas Hostels
#177 of 827 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Whitechapel
Wombat's City Hostel London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clerkenwell
Clink78
Clink78
#71 of 827 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,946 reviews
Southwark
St Christopher's Village London Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Equity Point London Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Equity Point London Hotel

Property: Equity Point London Hotel
Address: 100-102 Westbourne Terrace | Paddington, London W2 6QE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Paddington / Maida Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #158 of 827 Speciality Lodging in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,636 - ₹ 13,746
Hotel Class:2 star — Equity Point London Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Equity Point London Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing