We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands
Ranked #552 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Galway
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

We stayed for three nights here over Easter weekend and definitely enjoyed our stay - my only reason for not giving a 5 star review is that we were given a room with an adjoining room and this meant that we could hear the noise from our next door room - thankfully they were only staying the first night of our three and it quietened down then. Also, there was a gentlemen on night duty at reception (Keith) who was very helpful and said that if the room next door did not quiet down at an acceptable time he would resolve this for us. As well as the staff at reception all the staff we encountered during out stay were very polite and helpful, and the breakfast staff were great at quickly clearing away breakfast tables at busy times. The room was perfect - spacious and comfortable, and the bathroom had a large shower with good pressure. The rooms are also equipped with heating and air conditioning so it is not hard to get the right balance, and we had a view of the O2 arena and Canary Wharf from our room. Overall this was a great priced hotel, with good transport links into central London (around 3 minutes walk from Canning Town Station and 10 minutes on the Jubilee Line to Westminster, 15 to Baker Street). If visiting London again we will definitely consider this hotel.

Room Tip: Front rooms have a view of Canary Wharf but may suffer from traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank galwaythomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHAUN F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Dear Galwaythomas,
Thank you for taking the time to write review of the Holiday Inn Express Royal Docklands Hotel.

I’m so glad you enjoyed your stay. It really makes me feel very proud of my team when they make a great impression with our guests. I’ll make sure to thank Keith especially.

Your comments help us and visitors to the site how we are really doing and what we need to do to improve.

The team here and I look forward to welcoming you all back upon your next visit to London.

Kind Regards

Shaun Fitzgerald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

881 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    358
    214
    64
    51
See reviews for
195
226
70
229
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
162 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

Let me say that this hotel is very well run, the rooms are spotless, the breakfast (included) is great and the wifi bandwidth astonishingly good. Staff were friendly and efficient.

If you are a heavy sleeper, the the constant, all-night noise from Silvertown Way will not impact on a delightful stay at this hotel.

Otherwise, I'm not sure the many positives will outweigh the negatives. The windows are already double-glazed, I'm not sure what else can be done to fix the noise problem.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExperiencedOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hasselt, Belgium
Level Contributor
41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Spent 2 nights here at the beginning of March, going to the Elvis concert @ the 02. The DLR and Tube station at Canning Town is only 3 minutes walking and it was reasonably priced.
The hotel itself was clean and the rooms suited nicely, however the room next to me was noicy. The breakfast was included, and there was a great and save private parking for the guests, this was not for free but very nice if you go by car.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schorpion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHAUN F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear Schorpion,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at our Hotel. I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay in the main. I’m sorry that the noise from the road disturbed your rest. The can get busy from time to time but not all the time. It is probably very difficult to find any major city hotels that are not situated close to a road. We do have 50% of our rooms that do not face the road and are considered as the quite option.

I hope that upon your next visit you’ll choose us again and that you will have a much more restful stay.

Your comments are really valuable to us as they help to guide us and keep us on the right track to providing a great hotel that guests love to stay in.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards
Shaun Fitzgerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

The first room we were put into was a nice decent double room but it was next to a machinery room which the hotel denied that was so loud it sounded like a motorbike and the wall was vibrating. They moved us to an inferior smaller room that only had two single beds. They said they would zip the beds up but didn't and just pushed the beds together. There was constant noise and traffic all night and I didn't get any sleep at all. If you do have to stay here, ask for a room at the back of the hotel ...but I wouldn't recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank satcsouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHAUN F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Dear Satcsouth,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of the Holiday Inn London Royal Docklands Hotel.

I apologies that you had a noisy room and found that you were unable to get any rest. I know of the evening that you mentioned and yes we did have a problem with the Radiator’s that evening where it seems some trapped air had got into the system.

We able to resolve the issue the next morning but unfortunately that was too late for your benefit.

Obviously it is our goal and to give all our guests a great stay and experience and we are very sorry that on this occasion we were not able to do that.

I hope this hasn’t affected your thoughts about the brand or the hotel too harshly.

Your comments are important as they help to give us a view and to anyone looking on the trip advisor site your experience at the hotel.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to the Hotel again in the future.

Kind Regards

Shaun Fitzgerald.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
277 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

Polite staff welcomed us to the hotel, with good sized, clean rooms. Unfortunately the bar didn't have any beer the first night we ere there but this was sorted the next day. Good breakfast with hot and cold choices, but no evening meals available. The staff did provide us with an array of take-away menus who all deliver to the hotel where you can eat in the restaurant area or in your room. A very fast and good quality service. Alternatively it's only a 20 minute walk (5 minutes in a taxi) to the Excel where there are a selection of restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chookybirdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHAUN F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Dear Chookybirdy,

Thank you so much for writing such a great review of the Holiday Inn London Royal Docklands Hotel. I’m really glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Your comments are important as they help to give us a view and to anyone looking on the trip advisor site your experience at the hotel.

Kind Regards

Shaun Fitzgerald.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis London Docklands Canary Wharf
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Holiday Inn Express London - ExCeL
Greenwich
Holiday Inn Express London - Greenwich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Premier Inn London Docklands (Excel) Hotel
East End / East London
Crowne Plaza London - Docklands
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis Styles London Excel
Ibis Styles London Excel
#555 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands

Property: Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands
Address: 1 Silvertown Way | Canning Town, London E16 1EA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #552 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,058 - ₹ 20,665
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express London-Royal Docks/Docklands Hotel is perfectly situated in the heart of London's dynamic Docklands area and is only minutes away from Canary Wharf and the Excel Exhibition Centre. London City Airport is only 2km away and Canning Town Tube and Bus Station is within few minutes walk. The O2 Arena is also a short distance away (only one tube stop). The Holiday Inn Express London-Royal Docks/Docklands Hotel has 136 fully air conditioned en-suite bedrooms. This London hotel has spacious family rooms. All rooms have High Speed and Wireless Internet facilities (chargeable).Visitors to the World Travel Market, International Boat Show, Toy Fair, London Wine Festival and Anthony Robins Exhibitions will all find the hotel ideally situated. Meeting and Conference rooms are spacious with natural daylight, convenient for local business meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands Hotel London
Holiday Inn London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing