We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Okay hotel, great location for o2 Arena” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands
Ranked #539 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Northampton
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Okay hotel, great location for o2 Arena”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2011

Okay room, not exactly what you would expect in London’s Docklands. Room smelt of smoke even though it was non-smoking room. Aircon was frankly rubbish, wasn’t a hot day but room was very hot even with aircon on. Breakfast was okay, but on the day that we stayed the hotel was overrun with school children.

Okay just for a room but that’s it, wine selection in bar is also small.
On the other hand its in a great location for the o2 Arena. Just one stop away on the Jubilee line.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SamG_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnRoyalDock, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands, responded to this review, 11 July 2011
Dear Guest, Thank you for your constructive comments regarding your stay at the Express by Holiday Inn, Royal Docklands Hotel.. I'm sorry that the room was not quite up to standard and I can assure you that I have engineers called in to assess all the air conditioning in the Hotel and to repair any faults found. We take on board all our guest's views in order to be able to provide the highest quality of service as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

859 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    348
    209
    64
    49
See reviews for
191
215
69
227
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

Fabulous hotel, fresh bedding every night. Spare pillows bit conspicuous though. (On top of the shelves!?) However, I found mould in my breakfast drink (apple juice). Also, don't drink London water as it's really hard. Nearby to the O 2. Could be useful but we didn't go.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fairp0rt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnRoyalDock, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands, responded to this review, 11 July 2011
Dear guest, Thank you for your kind comments regarding the Express by Holiday Inn, Royal Docklands Hotel. I'm sorry you found the Pillows Storage spot in the room a bit conspicuous, We will have a look at that and see if there is a better place of storage. We really do value our guest's comments so thank you so much for taking the time to help us improve our service.

Kind Regards

Shaun Fitzgerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Not known
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

This hotel has the worst customer service ever.
Myself and husband turned up to check-in having booked our 3 day stay over a month ago, only to be turned away at 11pm at night. No contact was made prior to this time to let us know that our credit card has been declined. Lukas the person who was serving was unhelpful and patronising. We contacted our credit card company only to find out that they were inputting our details incorrectly!!!!!
I will not be staying at ANY Holliday Inn hotels EVER!!! They are sooooo crap! Lukas should also be fired.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PoorService1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnRoyalDock, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands, responded to this review, 6 July 2011
Thank you for your comments regarding your experience with the Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docklands. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention and apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you.
Your concerns have been forwarded to the management and ownership of the hotel,
I would like to assure you that we all share vision of providing the best guest experience possible, and we will take the necessary steps to continuously improve our product and services.
In addition, your comments will remain on file at the IHG corporate office for use in periodic evaluations of the hotel..
Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and hope you will continue to choose IHG for your future travel needs.

Kind Regards
Gregory Matwieiszyn
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2011

We recently when to see Glee Live at the O2 and wanted a hotel close the venue. This hotel is ideally located with a five minute walk to the train station and being one stop away from the O2.

The hotel was room was clean and tidy, however the beds were very soft, which is just personal preference and the pillows offered little support. The room was standard Holiday Inn fair. The only issue we had with the room was the power sockets did not work and avoid purchasing anything from the vending machines as the prices are extortionate!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tripwire76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2011

This place was great for us as we were in London for a concert at the O2, directly across the Thames, one or two stops on the underground. Really great value for money, clean and spacious room, large shower/bathroom area and comfortable beds. The buffet breakfast was brilliant both mornings we stayed. It's a bit of a trek if you're in London for the main tourist attractions - London Eye, Parliament etc, but otherwise well worth the money. Would recommed particularly if you're flying home from London City airport which is about 10 mins away. Heathrow is completely on the otherside of the city.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JP123S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnRoyalDock, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands, responded to this review, 6 July 2011
I thank you for taking the time to offer such positive comments on Trip Advisor after your good experience staying with us. I am glad to see that the overall experience you had was satisfactory and you was pleased with the service provided. I hope that you will continue to seek us out the next time you are in the city for your trip– we very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Kind Regards

Gergory Matwieiszyn
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Travelodge London Docklands
#590 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis London Docklands Canary Wharf
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Holiday Inn Express London - ExCeL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Greenwich
Holiday Inn Express London - Greenwich
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis London Excel Docklands
Ibis London Excel Docklands
#441 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,895 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Premier Inn London Docklands (Excel) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands

Property: Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands
Address: 1 Silvertown Way | Canning Town, London E16 1EA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #539 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,994 - ₹ 17,149
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express London-Royal Docks/Docklands Hotel is perfectly situated in the heart of London's dynamic Docklands area and is only minutes away from Canary Wharf and the Excel Exhibition Centre. London City Airport is only 2km away and Canning Town Tube and Bus Station is within few minutes walk. The O2 Arena is also a short distance away (only one tube stop). The Holiday Inn Express London-Royal Docks/Docklands Hotel has 136 fully air conditioned en-suite bedrooms. This London hotel has spacious family rooms. All rooms have High Speed and Wireless Internet facilities (chargeable).Visitors to the World Travel Market, International Boat Show, Toy Fair, London Wine Festival and Anthony Robins Exhibitions will all find the hotel ideally situated. Meeting and Conference rooms are spacious with natural daylight, convenient for local business meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands Hotel London
Holiday Inn London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing