We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK but location is good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express London City
Ranked #482 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Stayed here on business twice. Nice rooms and very clean with good bathroom.
Easy access to transport means you can be in the thick of London very quickly and the small square just 50 metres up the road is great for quality restaurants and bars. Don't bother eating at the hotel unless you like bland poorly served food, venture out the door and experience some good food from many of the other places nearby.
Breakfast is a bit weird but OK, just glad I didn't pay bearing in mind what you get!
Overall, pretty average.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WainwrightBagger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,329)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

692 - 696 of 1,331 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2012

If you can effort more - there is excellent Crowne Plaze near this place. This hotel is is a shame for the ICH group. I have been in many HI Ex (also in UK - e.g. Liverpool Albert Dock shall be taken as an example) and they have never looked so crappy. Yes, I know it's us - the guests - that cause the condition, but when we pay 150£ per night outside the season, the owner can afford some renovations. Avoid if you can.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Finpol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 June 2012

Dear Finpol,

Thank you for your stay with us and leaving a review. We are very disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the exterior and interior of our hotel. Your comments are valuable as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer to improve your stay. We will address these points and I hope when you return you will see the improvements made.

Thank you again for your review.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N.
Case Manager
IHG Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

A hotel can be revamped and look good, the room can be great for the price, the staff can be friendly, you can have a good breakfast included in the rate, the location can be perfect so why only two stars? Because surely the primary function of a hotel is to provide a half decent bed to sleep in!! Not have a mattress (apparently new in August 2011) with springs like pincers jabbing into your back, or side, or stomach. or chest, or legs,,,It wasn't just me, my wife kept rolling into me as her side of the bed was designed with the Alps in mind. After a couple of hours, and you know how frustrating it is when all you want to do is go to sleep, we ended up on the floor. Far more comfortable, but not quite what we had in mind when booking. Oh, how the child laughed from his relatively comfy sofa bed the next morning.
In fairness, this could have just been our bad luck and everything else about the stay was fine, but I note with interest Holiday Inn is the choice of Olympic athletes...anyone staying in room 303 will surely get a gold medal in any nocturnal event!
One last thing, if you drive beware of £27.00 fee to leave your car outside - they don't publicise this somewhat excessive charge.

Room Tip: Avoid 303 if you want sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DaveMortimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London City, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2012

Dear DaveMortimer,

I would like to thank you for your review and apologize that your experience with our hotel did not meet your expectations. I would greatly appreciate further information regarding your stay in order that I can investigate further.

I have sent you a private message to obtain additional details about your experience.

Thanks,
Brenda J.
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Well I thought with the price I paid, it would be a good hotel but it turn out to be a poor class hotel. The staff doesn't even know how to smile. Yes, they have a new wing but the problem here is that there are no elevators or walk way going to this wing, so if you are carrying huge luggages, you will have to carry it up to the stairs and there are no bell boys to assist. Having breafast is also a nightmare, with so many people on the dining area, its a chaos. I assume that its because April is a peak season, but they should have anticipated this. There is a long line to get food and even another queque for the coffee and drinks, the worst is that there are no place sit and you will have to wait for others to finish before you can finally take your breakfast, its a shame because bedroom and bathroom are clean and nice its the service that is really poor. Short to say that I will never again stay in this Hotel.

Room Tip: choose the new wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blackchrystal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London City, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2012

Dear blackchrystal,

Thank you for your stay with us and leaving feedback. We are pleased you liked your room accommodations. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry you received service which was unacceptable. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

The best thing about this hotel is the rooms have been recently renovated. Very much a budget hotel with standard furnishings, no luggage stand, no wardrobe, just a rail right next to the bed. But the bed was comfortable and the room was clean and of a reasonable size with a very new looking bathroom.

Breakfast is a self-service buffet with a very limited choice of cereal, criossants, toast, yoghurt and a limited range of hot food - sausage, scrambled egg, beans. If breakfast isn't included in your room rate I'd advise eating elsewhere.

This hotel was booked for me on a business trip. It is 5 minutes walk from Old Street tube station, but most certainly isn't worth the £210 charged. My one night stay was fine, but there are many better hotels in central London at a cheaper price than this.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Casey100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London City, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2012

Dear Casey100,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review. I am glad to see that you left some feed back on what you liked as well as what feel below your expectations. I'm deeply sorry for any inconveniences you have experienced. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve.If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, Please do not hesitate to let us know.

Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
East End / East London
Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express London City? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London City

Address: 275 Old Street, London EC1V 9LN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Shoreditch , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #482 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Price Range: ₹ 5,772 - ₹ 17,919 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London City 3*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Express by Holiday Inn London City. Our hotel is ideally located on the doorstep of the City of London, with the financial districts of Broadgate & Bishopsgate just minutes away for our business guests. We have excellent transport links for the London Underground and Kings Cross & Liverpool Street National Rail terminus not to mention St Pancras International Station for the Eurostar. We sit on the gateway to Hoxton Square, Shoreditch & Brick Lane, whatever your reason for visiting London we are an ideal base for exploring this vibrant area of London. If culture & history mixed with London s coolest restaurants, bars & shopping is what you want then you have just discovered East is the new West! Fear not, for we are also ideally located for London s attractions such as Tower of London, Tower Bridge, Bank of England, Tate Modern, St Paul's Cathedral & South Bank to name but a few. We have just undergone a full refurbishment of our Lobby, Reception, Bar, Restaurant and Meeting Rooms to reflect the cool, contemporary urban location we reside in. We have 224 purpose built bedrooms, all of which are light and spacious with large desk space all rooms are en suite with refreshing power showers as well as a newly installed state of the art interactive television & in room movie system. All of our guestrooms, meeting rooms & public areas are equipped with high speed wi-fi internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London City Hotel London
Holiday Inn London City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing