We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“watch out for their giftcards”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London
Ranked #185 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
590 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“watch out for their giftcards”
Reviewed 29 March 2012

My friends paid £250 for a giftcard In the London hotel for me to have a great meal at "Dinner", but when it came to paying my bill after the meal they said the card was only worth £180 !!!
It seems they have a nice little scheme going where they convert the card to USD, then convert back at their own extraordinarily bad exchange rate, therefore making a nice margin for themselves. A real shame as the restaurant was very good, but my only defence was to take the service off the bill, which wasn't fair to the staff. However, beware the rip off card scheme !!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_Hotels, Public Relations Manager at Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for visiting Dinner by Heston Blumenthal and for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your meal but apologize for the confusion regarding our Gift Card programme. Mandarin Oriental Gift Cards are sold and stored in USD, and credit card charges occur in USD. We have reviewed your particular case and can confirm that the original Gift Card value purchased was approximately GBP 180, not GBP 250. We do not look to profit from currency exchange and attempt to make the process as transparent as possible. We apologize for any misunderstanding regarding the value of your Gift Card and hope you will give us another chance to delight you at Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London in the near future.

Sincerely,
Sarah Cairns, Director of Communications, Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    674
    234
    106
    61
    39
See reviews for
206
369
59
278
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Once a year I take some friends for a weekend in London . A nice hotel and a great meal and good company. The Mandarin Hyde Park is in my opinion the best of the 5 Star hotels I have stayed in. Real service delivered well.
If anything the bar is on the small side but still very nice.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALBERT N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edge, Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
83 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

We stayed for one night on March 21st. We choose a standard room as even these are excellent when staying at a Mandarin. We were assigned 810 a beautiful room, looking out on the street, but high enough up for the traffic noise not to disturb, plus Harvey Nicks is just across the road. The room well exceptionally well furnished, spotlessly clean with all mod cons. Large king size bed, bath with rain shower, lots of little touches one comes to expect from a Mandarin. We had drinks in the Mandarin bar, service was friendly and efficient, drinks a bit pricy, but then you are in Knightsbridge, would definitely return.

Room Tip: a room on a high floor as traffic noise couid be a problem on lower floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank champagneboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We've been to London several times but first time staying at the Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park. In times of location, we loved it. It was close to the tube and also many of the attractions. The staff were friendly and I thought the concierge were very helpful in trying to secure reservations for us at Dinner. When that failed, they immediately secured dinner reservations in a nearby Italian restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j0annesim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
136 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

We stayed here on a 1 night spa break and were left disappointed by the way we were treated in the bar. On returning from a gorgeous dinner we decided to have a nightcap. On arrival we were asked if we would like to sit at the bar or on a lounging sofa. We opted for bar but were then very gruffly told there weren't any seats! Astonishing really given that we had just been offered them. Then to add insult to injury we were taken to share a tiny table with another couple. Not really the sort of service you would expect at this sort of hotel, the member of staff was totally rude and we observed this rudeness on other guests too. I would not go back.
Spa was divine though and rest of staff helpful so a shame really but there are plenty of other hotels.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Knightsbridge
Bulgari Hotel, London
Bulgari Hotel, London
#117 of 1,067 in London
410 reviews
Southwark
Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London
Hilton London Kensington
#502 of 1,067 in London
4,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belgravia
The Park Tower Knightsbridge, A Luxury Collection Hotel, London
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#30 of 1,067 in London
3,467 reviews
Mayfair
Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London

Property: Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London
Address: 66 Knightsbridge, London SW1X 7LA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Knightsbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Spa Hotel in London
#90 Business Hotel in London
#137 Romantic Hotel in London
#145 Luxury Hotel in London
#146 Family Hotel in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 46,756 - ₹ 2,00,748
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With bustling Knightsbridge on its doorstep and leafy Hyde Park at its rear, Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park is London's most prestigious address. Blending sumptuous guestrooms with a world-leading spa and a stylish bar, it is the definitive destination for a luxury escape. With two award-winning restaurants including Bar Boulud, London and Dinner by Heston Blumenthal, and a new Afternoon Tea salon, The Rosebery Lounge, Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park stands at the culinary centre of the capital. On 19 September 2016, Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London will be embarking on an exciting restoration designed to significantly enhance the facilities of the hotel. The property will remain open throughout the 18-month renovation, which will be undertaken in two phases in order to minimise disruption to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London Hotel London
Mandarin Oriental London
Mandarin London
London Mandarin Oriental
Mandarin Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing