We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location”
Review of My Bloomsbury

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
My Bloomsbury
Ranked #416 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Helsinki, Finland
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“Location”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Stayed there for one week on business trip. Great location and breakfast! If you're travelling for work and need to actually work in your hotel room, book room for 2 persons. Single rooms are quite small. Nice 'library/coffee/computer -area downstairs. Small gym as well. Would stay there on holiday too, if it wasn't so pricy :(

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tuuli K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MadelenTobiasson, Front Office Manager at My Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at myhotel Bloomsbury during your visit to London and for taking the time to share your comments. We appreciate all feedback from our guests, both positive and negative, as it allows us to target areas that might require our attention.

Since your recent stay last year we have changed our library and gym into conference rooms. All our guests are able to access the improved areas and you can use them to relax, work or arrange a business meeting. We also offer gym vouchers to a close by modern gym for any guests who wish to work out during their stay.

I am looking forward to welcome you back to our Hotel in the near future.

myregards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

969 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    369
    335
    155
    63
    47
See reviews for
103
331
128
237
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
King's Lynn
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We stayed here for two nights to combine work commitments and also turn it into an early Valentine's treat. I chose the hotel for its location which was close to the work venue but perfect for things like the British Museum, restaurants and shopping, and also because it looked impressive. I booked the 48 hour stay package over the phone which included breakfast for two days and a two course dinner on one of the nights we stayed. This is where things started to fall apart. On a snowy night when it was too cold to go out we decided to eat in and were shown a menu which was changed to a much reduced selection when we mentioned we were on the 48 hour package, and none of the things we wanted were on this menu. No-one had said this at any stage of our booking and I queried it only to be told that no managers were available to make a comment on this. It was rather ridiculous as the hotel restaurant wasn't full and it's not as if the package had been fantastically cheap anyway to warrant such a poor choice of options - we paid nearly £400 - so I persisted and we were eventually able to choose from the original menu. However, I wasn't convinced that we wouldn't be charged for it as - in another move that I wasn't overly impressed with - they'd swiped for more than £50 extra on top of the cost of the room booking on the card, for 'incidentals' . The room prices online were advertised without VAT so every step our stay seemed to incur hidden costs. The final straw was some kind of row between a guest and staff in the corridor outside our room at 4am which woke us up and meant we couldn't get back to sleep. At this point I got dressed, went downstairs and mentioned all of the above to the duty staff as our trip was becoming increasingly awkward and stressful rather than the romantic getaway we'd hoped for. A discount was offered and was carried out at checkout stage. However, even then because we'd lost sleep we were a little late for breakfast and had staff hoovering around us as we ate - despite the fact that the other end of the restaurant was empty and they could have started cleaning up there. So, it's a nice hotel, with compact rooms, in a good location and - with some prompting - the staff made amends for difficulties which really shouldn't have occurred in the first place, but I really feel that attention to detail and clarity of information is missing from myhotel bloomsbury so I doubt that we'll be back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank welltravelledcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Very good central location, excellent for people who want to make the most of a night out/sopping trip/theatre etc. The hotel is modern and relaxing and follows the same theme as the other Myhotels in the chain. The staff were all friendly and enthusiastic and seemed happy to be doing their job, the music played at breakfast was a nice touch rather than sitting and eating in silence, windows great for people watching. The breakfast was very basic but good, however, I think some items should have been kept cool and not just left out at room temperature.
The suite was very comfortable and had everything you need, I would recommend this hotel and like to return. There aren't many "hanging out" areas except for the reception area and breakfast/bar area but as the position is so good you will be out and about most of the time anyway. Definitely has a boutique feel to it and lots of attention to detail.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bluebell_dream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MadelenTobiasson, Front Office Manager at My Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at myhotel Bloomsbury during your recent visit to London and for taking the time to share you comments. We appreciate all feedback from our guests, both positive and negative, as it allows us to target areas that might require our attention.

I am very glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments have been passed forward to our staff who, I know will greatly appreciate it too. I agree with you that the location of the Hotel is great for shopping, nice restaurants and many tourist attractions.

We are looking forward to welcome you back again in the near future.

myRegards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Really pleasant stay - all staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was lovely but "compact" -actually good value for money in London and space was not an issue as we were there for 1 night so minimal luggage. Shower was not the greatest.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Westie102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MadelenTobiasson, Front Office Manager at My Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at myhotel Bloomsbury during your recent visit to London and for taking the time to share you comments. We appreciate all feedback from our guests, both positive and negative, as it allows us to target areas that might require our attention.

I am very glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments have been passed forward to our staff who, I know will greatly appreciate it too.

We are looking forward to welcome you back again in the near future.

myRegards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Based on the reviews on this site I booked a double room for single use and was not disappointed.

The hotel has is in an excellent location for the West End, Oxford Street and the main attractions in London. Staff were very welcoming and provided me with a lot of information. The water (with lemons and oranges) in the reception area is a welcoming touch.

Corridors leading to rooms are narrow and do not necessarily give the best first impression. The room (217) was of a very good size for London. A large and comfortable bed made for a good night sleep. The bathroom was very large and well appointed. The room faced Tottenham Court Road and I was initially concerned about the noise, but it was not a problem at all.
The hotel has free WiFi that works very well.

Breakfast is good but at £15 pounds it does not come cheap.

Overall a good hotel. I booked the hotel through booking.com and got a good rate making the hotel reasonable value for money for central London.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oliviauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MadelenTobiasson, Front Office Manager at My Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at myhotel Bloomsbury during your recent visit to London and for taking the time to share you comments. We appreciate all feedback from our guests, both positive and negative, as it allows us to target areas that might require our attention.

I am very glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments have been passed forward to our staff who, I know will greatly appreciate it too.

We are looking forward to welcome you back again in the near future.

myRegards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Fitzrovia
Rathbone Hotel
Rathbone Hotel
#293 of 1,068 in London
1,074 reviews
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel
Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#56 of 1,068 in London
3,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The Academy
The Academy
#557 of 1,068 in London
772 reviews
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Bloomsbury Street
Bloomsbury
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to My Bloomsbury? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about My Bloomsbury

Property: My Bloomsbury
Address: 11-13 Bayley Street, London WC1B 3HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#203 Romantic Hotel in London
#287 Luxury Hotel in London
#321 Family Hotel in London
#336 Business Hotel in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,391 - ₹ 27,234
Hotel Class:4 star — My Bloomsbury 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Modern Classic in the Heart of the Action With its history of literature, philosophy and the arts, Bloomsbury is the central London sanctuary that inspires creative thought. My Bloomsbury is designed to do the same. Serene contemporary design guestrooms, comfortable hot desks and fine gastronomy give you a personal hub that is welcoming, laid back and easy. And with Soho, Oxford St. and Covent Garden just a stroll away; and trains from Euston and King’s Cross close too – the location is perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your My Bloomsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Myhotel Bloomsbury London
Myhotel Bloomsbury Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing