We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Secretive, tudor hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Rookery Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Rookery Hotel
Ranked #134 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Secretive, tudor hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

What a secret hotel! We rang a small buzzer and in we crept silently to the reception. On the right there was a dining room as though we had stumbled upon someones old house. There was even a cat sleeping on a dining chair to add that homely authenticity. After checking in we were led immediately upstairs and shown to our room.

As it is a boutique each room has its own character and ours had a bust of a woman in our bathroom. She was rather stoney looking and gave me a good fright! The four poster bed was so luxuriously soft as were the bathrobes.Only problem is the bed makes noise if you move it. Caution for those on a romantic couples weekend as we were! The only negative I would say was that there was no bath and my partner had paid for a deluxe room and we had both assumed there would be a bath!

Huge thanks for the service, the phone was answered after one ring and with each time came flowers, biscuits and a smile.

Service was fantastic, I am sure I asked at least four times for tea to be delivered to my room as I was feeling ill and they came up with coffee in the morning. They do breakfast in bed if you desire! Even though we were on the corner facing Fabric night club we heard nothing and were overall impressed with the room.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChristianaCourtright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    129
    27
    16
    6
See reviews for
36
247
47
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
GreatCthulhu
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

I travel to London a great deal for my job, usually 2 weeks every quarter, a schedule I've maintained for the last four or five years. And every trip, I've stayed at The Rookery. here is why:
1. beautiful building; a series of Georgian rowhouses joined and beautifully, even "lovingly" restored with period detail. Dark mahogany walls throughout, period furniture and fixtures, each room with its own personality and charm.
2. Wonderful, attentive, helpful staff
3. LOCATION: Smithfield Market is right across the street, and beyond that, old St Bart's, St Bart's Hospital. Within walking distance are St John's Square, Clerkenwell Green, Cloth Fair, Charterhouse Square, the Holborn Viaduct at St Sepulchres, St Paul's, the City... need a go on? For a lover of English history, this may be the best-situated hotel in London.
4. LOCATION part 2: great dining abounds. St John, of course, but also great little pubs like Fox and Anchor, the Well,, the Crown at Clerkenwell, and two wonderful little Italian places right on Cowcross Street.
In short, its perfect for a special overnight/weekend or a long stay on business. I've come to regard it as my home in London, the greatest city on earth, and can't praise it highly enough.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreatCthulhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

We stayed here the night before embarking on our honeymoon, although we hadn't mentioned that we had just got married.

We arrived late afternoon on the Friday and as there was no booking for one of the suites they upgraded us! A real treat :)

The staff were lovely, the decore enchanting and the cat charming. The breakfast was delicious and delivered promptly. I have no quarms about eating breakfast in bed - especially in a four poster.

We enjoyed it so much we've booked in again for the Easter weekend, and budget permitting, would pick this hotel as our regular stop over when in London.

The Oyster & Chop bar just around the corner was wonderful also, and just a stones through from the Hotel.

Room Tip: All the rooms look wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jabeanie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chigwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

We stayed 1 night at this hotel as we went to a friends 40th at nearby restaurant named St John (very good) which was literally round te corner. The hotel itself is the Smithfield area - very historic witha neighborhood feel to it. A great base to explore London if you were thinking of doing so! Plenty of good shops and restaurants nearbuy - especially St John and Gaucho Grill,

The hotel has a 'romantic, step back in time Shakespearean' charm to it, very nicey decorated and very nice room with all the mod cons discreetly hidden away. Antique bed was lovely and great to sleep on, bathroom was lovely and products stocked in there were great. The loubnge area had an honest bar - and was lovel;y and welcoming, we spent time chilling out there in the morning.

We didn't order room service or eat there, so comment comment on them. The staff we met were polite and helpful.

This typE of boutique hotel isnt for everyone, but if you want a romantic hotel with charm and good old fashioned service then this one would fit the bill.

Quiote expensive, but you get what you pay for in London generally,.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whufc71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

This is a beautiful, little hotel. A gem. You'll find a good combination of old charm and modern conveniences like wifi and widescreen tv.
The staff is friendly and you can mix your own drink in the bar.
The only things I missed was a breakfast restaurant. Many good restaurants in the neighbourhood.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Soreide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clerkenwell
The Zetter Hotel
The Zetter Hotel
#95 of 1,077 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Clerkenwell
Malmaison London
Malmaison London
#242 of 1,077 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
City of London
The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clerkenwell
The Zetter Townhouse Clerkenwell
Spitalfields
Batty Langley's
Batty Langley's
#174 of 1,077 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Clerkenwell
Citadines Barbican London
Citadines Barbican London
#409 of 1,077 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rookery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rookery Hotel

Property: The Rookery Hotel
Address: 12 Peter's Lane | Cowcross Street, London EC1M 6DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clerkenwell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#99 Family Hotel in London
#104 Business Hotel in London
#112 Luxury Hotel in London
#114 Romantic Hotel in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,450 - ₹ 39,242
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rookery Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your The Rookery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rookery Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing