We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite hotel in London: charm, atmosphere, location”
Review of The Rookery Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Rookery Hotel
Ranked #205 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2012

I travel to London a great deal for my job, usually 2 weeks every quarter, a schedule I've maintained for the last four or five years. And every trip, I've stayed at The Rookery. here is why:
1. beautiful building; a series of Georgian rowhouses joined and beautifully, even "lovingly" restored with period detail. Dark mahogany walls throughout, period furniture and fixtures, each room with its own personality and charm.
2. Wonderful, attentive, helpful staff
3. LOCATION: Smithfield Market is right across the street, and beyond that, old St Bart's, St Bart's Hospital. Within walking distance are St John's Square, Clerkenwell Green, Cloth Fair, Charterhouse Square, the Holborn Viaduct at St Sepulchres, St Paul's, the City... need a go on? For a lover of English history, this may be the best-situated hotel in London.
4. LOCATION part 2: great dining abounds. St John, of course, but also great little pubs like Fox and Anchor, the Well,, the Crown at Clerkenwell, and two wonderful little Italian places right on Cowcross Street.
In short, its perfect for a special overnight/weekend or a long stay on business. I've come to regard it as my home in London, the greatest city on earth, and can't praise it highly enough.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GreatCthulhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (562)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

389 - 393 of 562 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2012

We stayed here the night before embarking on our honeymoon, although we hadn't mentioned that we had just got married.

We arrived late afternoon on the Friday and as there was no booking for one of the suites they upgraded us! A real treat :)

The staff were lovely, the decore enchanting and the cat charming. The breakfast was delicious and delivered promptly. I have no quarms about eating breakfast in bed - especially in a four poster.

We enjoyed it so much we've booked in again for the Easter weekend, and budget permitting, would pick this hotel as our regular stop over when in London.

The Oyster & Chop bar just around the corner was wonderful also, and just a stones through from the Hotel.

Room Tip: All the rooms look wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jabeanie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We stayed 1 night at this hotel as we went to a friends 40th at nearby restaurant named St John (very good) which was literally round te corner. The hotel itself is the Smithfield area - very historic witha neighborhood feel to it. A great base to explore London if you were thinking of doing so! Plenty of good shops and restaurants nearbuy - especially St John and Gaucho Grill,

The hotel has a 'romantic, step back in time Shakespearean' charm to it, very nicey decorated and very nice room with all the mod cons discreetly hidden away. Antique bed was lovely and great to sleep on, bathroom was lovely and products stocked in there were great. The loubnge area had an honest bar - and was lovel;y and welcoming, we spent time chilling out there in the morning.

We didn't order room service or eat there, so comment comment on them. The staff we met were polite and helpful.

This typE of boutique hotel isnt for everyone, but if you want a romantic hotel with charm and good old fashioned service then this one would fit the bill.

Quiote expensive, but you get what you pay for in London generally,.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Whufc71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

This is a beautiful, little hotel. A gem. You'll find a good combination of old charm and modern conveniences like wifi and widescreen tv.
The staff is friendly and you can mix your own drink in the bar.
The only things I missed was a breakfast restaurant. Many good restaurants in the neighbourhood.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soreide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

We picked this hotel based on user reviews and proximity to where we wanted to go. Most of the reviews were very good so we decided to go with that.

We booked the double room and were given a room at the top-most floor. Good points; relatively spacious, cool headboard, sweet bathtub, high ceiling with chandelier. Got a heck of a workout climbing all the way up and down everytime we went out. Not sure if good or bad.

Bad points; no complimentary water, coffee nor tea. When we asked the staff about that, we were told we had to pay for them at the bar or through room service. Seriously?! No shower stall so we had to shower in the bath tub that had no shower curtains, so water went everywhere. Sink was really tiny, could barely wash hands nor face properly. No iPod dock in room even though stated on website.

In short, despite the friendly staff who held our bags when we arrived early, the hotel simply didn't live up to the hype and great reviews. It certainly wasn't value for money.

Other than it's location, there was really nothing else in our stay there that made it worth the money we spent on it. Wouldn't stay there again nor recommend it to anyone else.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Madibaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clerkenwell
The Zetter Hotel
The Zetter Hotel
#174 of 1,077 in London
894 reviews
Clerkenwell
Malmaison London
Malmaison London
#246 of 1,077 in London
1,548 reviews
City of London
The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Spitalfields
Batty Langley's
Batty Langley's
#59 of 1,077 in London
181 reviews
Clerkenwell
The Zetter Townhouse Clerkenwell
Soho
Hazlitt's
Hazlitt's
#231 of 1,077 in London
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rookery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rookery Hotel

Address: 12 Peter's Lane | Cowcross Street, London EC1M 6DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clerkenwell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#99 Family Hotel in London
#104 Business Hotel in London
#114 Romantic Hotel in London
#158 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: ₹ 13,813 - ₹ 34,060 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rookery Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Rookery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rookery Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing