We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A highlight of London”

London Black Taxi Tours
Ranked #16 of 670 Tours in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: London Black Taxi Tours offers you the opportunity to visit and explore the sights of London from the comfort and convenience of an iconic London Black Taxi. My tours will show you some of London's greatest sights, providing you with wonderful memories of this magnificent city. I have been a licensed London Hackney Carriage Taxi driver for 30 years having passed the world renowned 'Knowledge of London' which involves several years of studying London. I am also a fully qualified Worshipful Company of Hackney Carriage Drivers, London Tour Guide. My aim is to provide you with a fantastic day out and an unforgettable tour of this great City.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
New Zealand
Level Contributor
218 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“A highlight of London”
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Our half day London city tour with Michael was a highlight of our first visit to London. He was easy to contact, book with, ask questions of and deal with. He answered enquiries promptly and was very flexible. Our tour skirted around anything we had already seen the day before on our own so we didn't waste any time redoing stuff we had seen. His knowledge was impressive and his manner delightful. He had laminated printed information to give us to read as we walked at each stop, and at the end he gives you a copy of all the information and a DVD on London and suggestions of where else to visit. It was a wonderful time and left us well armed to handle the rest of the four days on our own with a good understanding of the geography of London and the history. If you can book on a Sunday morning you get much less traffic to deal with and we had the streets to ourselves at times which makes it easy for random photo stops. Highly recommended.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank JaPhillipa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

674 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    662
    10
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Highlight of our trip to London”
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Can't speak highly enough of this tour. Great value for money. Michael (the owner) was the consumate tour guide: extremely knowledgeable with great anecdotes, friendly and punctual. Would recommend anyone on a trip to London to go with London Black Taxi Tours. We have been to London a few times and thought we knew it quite well, but that was before we were shown the real London. Michael was equally happy to let us sit back and show us London or take us where we wanted to go: he got the balance absolutely right. Still can't believe what we managed to see and learn in one day (recommend the full day tour). Lunch at the Grenadier Pub which was perfect. Thanks Michael

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank KillieCannings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A highlight of our visit”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Mr. Churchill picked us up at our Knightsbridge apt. and drove us to see the highlights of West London, Westminster and more. We requested a stopover at Fortnum and Mason and Twinings as well as Purdy and Sons (rifles, etc.), and the Grenadier Pub as we wanted to see these more historical shops that we otherwise would not have seen. He also took us to Covent Garden Market and our adult children (20's) particularly enjoyed this. There were handmade crafted items there and yummy food booths. Appreciated the time for photo stops. Mr. Churchill provided additional tourist information and "souvenirs" as well as the narration along the way. We all agreed that the 4 hours flew by and that it was a highlight of our London visit. Highly recommend!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Danae C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great way to see the city!”
Reviewed 24 March 2012

We had a short stay in London. This tour was great! Mr. Churchill was reliable, entertaining and very helpful. Would recommend this to everyone!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Shalpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome Tour guide”
Reviewed 24 March 2012

When searching for some tour companies to take us around while visiting London for two days, we ran into London Black Taxi tours online. Not knowing what to expect, we booked him for full day. It turned out to be the best choice. Michael (owner) was professional, punctual and full of knowledge. He picked us up in the morning and took us around London in his black taxi, which was delightefully comfortable and spacious. Michael also had good printouts of the attractions we visited for further reading. He was friendly and courteous to our needs. He even opened the door for us every single time we stopped to take pictures. Awesome. You get your money's worth and we highly recommend him

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed London Black Taxi Tours also viewed

 

Been to London Black Taxi Tours? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing