We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hockney - wonderful exhibition!”

Royal Academy of Arts
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 15.85*
and up
Sherlock Holmes Film Location Tour in London
Ranked #98 of 1,611 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Founded in 1768, this thriving center of artistic excellence is the oldest fine arts institution in Britain, whose exhibitions attract over a million people each year.
Eastbourne
Level Contributor
316 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
“Hockney - wonderful exhibition!”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We went in about 7.30 on a Saturday night and I was pleased that it wasn't too crowded and we had a good view of these amazing works of art. This was probably the best exhibition I have been to - I felt like I was disappearing inside these wonderful canvases, drowning in Hockney. I came out with that 'feel good feeling' that you sometimes get from a really good show at the theatre, and have raved about this exhibition to anyone who will listen! Go before it closes!!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank sussexstorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,481 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    869
    396
    129
    53
    34
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
61 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Hockney - great art but R.A. could have done better”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

I had been looking forward to this event for a long time and having at last got tickets, headed of to London for the day with family and friends. The artwork was every bit as good as expected and mainly Hockney's work in the last 10 years after returning to Yorkshire. I would say however that the RA's staging of the exhibition was a bit erratic and did not flow as much as the Lucian Freud exhibition for example, that we attended earlier in the day at the National. The entrance, exit and ever present souvenir shop at the exit were all located in the exact same space and the queue for coats snaked in front of the steps leading into this area. None of this can detract from the art and I was glad I went so will still give it five stars but be prepared for a crush (February 2012).

P.S. the visual animation of landscapes through seasons exhibit is fantastic.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hungry_TravelerUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Great exhibtion space”
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Current Hockney exhibition is wonderful - its a must visit for the next few months. Fantastic landscapes of Yorkshire...also great use of IPad for art!

Helpful?
Thank TonymLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmslow UK
Level Contributor
367 reviews
143 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“great variety”
Reviewed 18 February 2012

good quality exhibitions, including the annual summer show, displaying contemporary talent. Very convenient location once you're in town (assuming you use public transport).

Helpful?
Thank mosolygo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eynsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“General review”
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Fantastic exhibitions, great location, staff very helpful, good restaurant and coffee shop, beautifully renovated extension, lovely courtyard for outdoor meeting and snacks, extensive shop

Helpful?
Thank stephen l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Royal Academy of Arts also viewed

 

Been to Royal Academy of Arts? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing