We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Lovely stay in London” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Number Sixteen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Number Sixteen
Ranked #158 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
98 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Lovely stay in London”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

Great location, comfortable (though small) and quiet room in London. My mom and I stayed here for her 60th birthday and had a fantastic long weekend exploring the city. There are some lovely restaurants near the hotel and the staff was very helpful providing recommendations each night. Everyone was cheery, the hotel was clean, and breakfast was tasty. They have free Internet if you use the desktop computer downstairs but wifi comes at a steep price which I found ridiculous given the price and size of the hotel. Overall, it was an excellent place to stay for a girls weekend in London.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ciaoamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    93
    26
    11
    3
See reviews for
73
120
53
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

I have stayed at some lovely and charming hotels over the years, but Number Sixteen, a boutique hotel in South Kensington, is the perfect combination of beauty, customer service, and location! Our room was stunning with a wonderful view of the garden, the staff was superb -- cheerful, incredibly helpful and very accommodating, and the location was wonderful, right around the corner from a major tube stop and within walking distance of major attractions. I was sad to leave but am quite sure I will return.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharyn Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Recently completed my fourth stay at Number Sixteen and highly recommend. Located near the South Kensington tube station, the hotel is a true gem. When you enter the immediate feel is small and exclusive, quiet, comfortable, and beautiful. The staff is friendly, the sitting areas plush and inviting, and the rooms are large and well designed. The lower levels find rooms with access to the garden, which seems like an oasis in central London.

I will stay at Number Sixteen in the future. Restaurants, shopping, museums are an easy walk, and with the tube a quick walk, the hotel is at London's doorstep. Stay here.

Room Tip: Rear rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jtnwdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights for my boyfriends 40th birthday, from the minute I booked over the phone the customer service was personnel, professional and friendly. We were upgraded on arrival and offered some complimentary champagne for our celebration. Nothing was too much trouble, the location is quiet and off the beaten track and the price is not crazy. We would defiantly stay again, we enjoyed everything about it. The only tiny little disappointment was that there are no tea or coffee making facilities in the room and it cost £10 to get a pot of tea delivered to the room, which is a little cheeky. Nevertheless less I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

I stayed in late March and was very pleased. The hotel itself is located on a lovely street with period architecture just a two minute walk from South Kensington tube station, with lots of lovely cafes and shops nearby. The interior of the hotel is tastefully decorated with some really beautiful rooms open to guests such as the library, conservatory (where breakfast was served) and garden. My particular room (206) was excellent, with a very comfortable bed and a spacious bathroom and dressing room. The complementary toiletries provided were very nice quality. I found the staff polite and helpful and the service prompt and friendly. My evening meal, ordered through room service, was brought up in good time and was a reasonable price and a generous portion. I would definately stay in this hotel again and would recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jade C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Pelham Hotel
The Pelham Hotel
#161 of 1,077 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#46 of 1,077 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,811 reviews
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#37 of 1,077 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#118 of 1,077 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Chelsea
Sydney House
Sydney House
#125 of 1,077 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number Sixteen? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number Sixteen

Property: Number Sixteen
Address: 16 Sumner Place, London SW7 3EG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#123 Luxury Hotel in London
#127 Romantic Hotel in London
#191 Family Hotel in London
#211 Business Hotel in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 21,500 - ₹ 31,138
Hotel Class:4 star — Number Sixteen 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Number Sixteen forms part of a row of gleaming white stucco mid Victorian townhouses. It originally opened in the 1980’s and instantly became popular with discerning travellers looking for an alternative to the larger Park Lane hotels. Now several years on, the hotel has a Firmdale point of view. Kit Kemp redesigned the hotel in her signature, fresh modern English style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Number Sixteen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Number 16
Number Sixteen London
Number Sixteen Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing