We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You get what you pay for”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Dorchester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Dorchester
Ranked #37 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Great service, rooms and food, would book again without a doubt

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thedorchester, Manager at The Dorchester, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Dear John C,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your stay at The Dorchester and I’m delighted to note that you plan to visit again. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Dorchester.
Kind regards, John Scanlon, Hotel Manager, The Dorchester, Dorchester Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,146
    215
    79
    29
    22
See reviews for
264
579
107
244
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

As expected the Dorchester lives up to its reputation, excellent staff, service and food and confortable rooms.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Centrehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thedorchester, Manager at The Dorchester, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Dear Centrehouse,
Thank you for sharing your review about your stay at The Dorchester. I’m very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and had the opportunity to enjoy our cuisine as well. Please be assured that I will share your feedback with the rest of the team, who will appreciate your kind comments about their service. We hope to welcome you back to The Dorchester again in the future.

Kind regards, John Scanlon, Hotel Manager, The Dorchester, Dorchester Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed our 4 night stay. Beautiful hotel with discreet excellent service. We'll be back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lola g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thedorchester, Manager at The Dorchester, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Dear lola g,
I’m delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Dorchester and look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards, John Scanlon, Hotel Manager, The Dorchester, Dorchester Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitley Bay, England
Level Contributor
100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Fabulous! Would recommend to anyone with deep pockets. Attention to detail was first class, no complaints at all. If you have the money, enjoy!

Room Tip: Watch out for offers
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1adder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thedorchester, Manager at The Dorchester, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Dear 1adder,
I’m delighted to read your kind review of The Dorchester. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I do hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back to The Dorchester soon again.
Kind regards, John Scanlon, Hotel Manager, The Dorchester, Dorchester Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Harborough
Level Contributor
104 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

I like the feel of this place, obviously high standard, but it is not stuffy or impersonal.
Arrived by taxi and showed to reception by the doorman. Reception very clear, precise and welcoming.
The room was very good, had a warm feeling to it, a room you felt comfortable in. They had put a small bed at the bottom of ours for our young boy, which was just fine.
The appeal to me in the Dorchester is the public areas. We visited the bar which was superb, then later the main seating area, which again was very appealing and you were happy to just sit there and be waited on.
I must admit, I had drank too much champagne during the evening, but you just felt really comfortable here and the staff are just outstanding.
Its hard to put your finger on it, but it just feels special, not stuffy, everyone appears happy and you just feel great here in everyway.
I have stopped in a few similar places, but they can be void of personality. This isn't, it just feels fantastic.
The bad news is it costs a fortune. Everything you have is expensive, so you need to accept that before you go, else it could cause you a little niggle. Luckily I wasn't for bothering about it, I went to enjoy it at any cost and it was absolutely amazing.
Breakfast was great too, service the best ever and I never normally get worked up about a hotel breakfast. My partner and our young son loved it too.
This is very special. Some can charge the earth, but they cannot offer an atmosphere like The Dorchester.
We will be back for sure, it was memorable.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob1742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thedorchester, Manager at The Dorchester, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Dear Rob1742,
I am delighted that you and your family had such a memorable experience at The Dorchester. I will be sure to share your kind comments with the rest of the team and on behalf of everyone at The Dorchester, we look forward to welcoming you back soon again.

Kind regards, John Scanlon, Hotel Manager, The Dorchester, Dorchester Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
COMO Metropolitan London
COMO Metropolitan London
#58 of 1,088 in London
1,070 reviews
Mayfair
Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane
Mayfair
The Connaught
The Connaught
#6 of 1,088 in London
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#20 of 1,088 in London
1,354 reviews
Belgravia
The Lanesborough
The Lanesborough
#25 of 1,088 in London
220 reviews
Mayfair
InterContinental London Park Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dorchester? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dorchester

Property: The Dorchester
Address: 53 Park Lane | Mayfair, London W1K 1QA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in London
#37 Luxury Hotel in London
#37 Romantic Hotel in London
#58 Family Hotel in London
#64 Business Hotel in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 38,225 - ₹ 68,092
Hotel Class:5 star — The Dorchester 5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dorchester occupies the most prestigious acre and a half of real estate in the world, in the heart of Mayfair overlooking the glorious green expanse of Hyde Park. The preferred hotel of British society, The Dorchester embodies the highest service values whilst its design and character exude 1930s glamour with a contemporary edge. Prized for its spacious and beautifully designed rooms and suites, The Dorchester’s restaurants and bars - Alain Ducasse, China Tang, The Grill and The Promenade – also attract Londoners and the glitterati alike. The Dorchester Spa was recently transformed to create the most desirable and indulgent pampering destination in London with a uniquely named Spatisserie for tea and cake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Dorchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dorchester Hotel London
Dorchester Hotel London
Dorchester London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing