We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near perfect.”
Review of Claridge's

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Claridge's
Ranked #43 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Stayed here for my birthday. Excellent friendly check in. Efficient concierge. Well appointed room and fantastic bathroom. Wonderfully ambient cocktail bar and enchanting lobby area. We ate at Gordon Ramsey's which was extremely good. Breakfast was again good. The only downside to the stay was the poor quality of sleep, with the continual whirring of what I think was air conditioning/ ventilation system in the courtyard below which in the still of night is very loud. A real shame, maybe I'm a light sleeper but it seemed many of the rooms around the courtyard would be affected by this. It was only a one night stay, but had we stayed longer I think it would have become an issue.
This aside we had an enjoyable time as I'm sure you will if you stayed here.
.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hixy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claridges_London, General Manager at Claridge's, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Dear “Mr./Ms. Hixy”,

Thank you so much for the many wonderful things you reported and remembered about your stay with us which I was delighted to read and to share with the team.

I was so sorry to read that the air-conditioning unit in our courtyard disturbed your sleep. This is easily avoided by our allocating a non-courtyard-facing room on your next visit. We would love to add this preference to your profile but as this forum is confidential may I ask you to mention this when you make your next reservation or e-mail me direct and in advance on tkochs@claridges.co.uk.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

With all good wishes and safe travels,


Thomas Kochs
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,792)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,305 - 1,309 of 1,792 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2012

Its fair to say that I haven't stayed at Claridges. Having enjoyed cocktails with them before in The Fumoir, I wanted to book a room for my Mum's 75th Birthday. I booked in January for an April stay. I also booked for dinner, I decided with two weeks to go that I also wanted afternoon tea, but was disappointed to find that we could not be offered a table despite the fact that we would be residents. On this basis , I called the Ritz who informed us that they saved tablea for tea for people who were staying. Given this, I cancelled my booking at Claridges and booked the Ritz. I told Claridges this, and they said they would get in touch with me. They never have. Poor show Claridges. The Ritz was wonderful.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
12  Thank Nellance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claridges_London, General Manager at Claridge's, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Dear “Ms. Edinburgh”,

First of all I would like to extend my warmest congratulations to your Mum for her very special birthday. I am glad to read that you had a wonderful time at The Ritz but naturally I would have preferred you to be able to celebrate such a very important occasion at Claridge’s.

I am very sorry that you had difficulties in booking a table for Afternoon Tea. We are blessed and grateful that Afternoon Tea at Claridge’s is extremely popular and since we were awarded Best Afternoon Tea in the U.K. the demand has been ever-growing.

Whilst I cannot undo what happened I would hope to be able to explain that we do keep a high proportion of tables for our resident guests in order to try to accommodate last-minute requests and to avoid the exact disappointment we caused you but clearly this time we failed and I apologise for this.

I hope this will not be your lasting memory of Claridge’s and that you will consider trying us again. You can always reach out to me personally on tkochs@claridges.co.uk.

With all good wishes,

Thomas Kochs
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We only stayed one night here in London en route home from Paris but, we WILL be back ! As another reviewer stated, Claridge's welcomes everyone ! Traveling with my niece and two children ages 6...they couldn't have been nicer, and genuinely glad that you were visiting their establishment !!! We had an issue with my son, who swallowed a coin (yes, a 20 EU), Front Desk called a Doctor for me & then arranged for him to come see my son for an examination. All was well & they dealt with a panicked Mommy so calmly ! I am truly grateful to the staff ! Yes, some of the fixtures in the room are dated etc, but, that is what makes Claridge's oh so special ! The history of the hotel is like no other in London. They make everyone feel special ! I look forward to the day when we return for more than one night's stay ! A sold Claridge's customer !

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suesue4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claridges_London, General Manager at Claridge's, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Dear “Ms. Suesue4”,

A very genuine thank you for this marvellous review.

We also look forward to your next stay.

With all good wishes.

Thomas Kochs
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Don't be put off by its heritage and pedigree: Claridge's is a hotel that welcomes everyone, and does it with great warmth. It is far from stuffy: all the personnel are geared towards making your stay comfortable, and nothing is too much trouble. I have been staying here for years - sometimes every week - but I wouldn't have come back after the first time if I had felt out of my comfort zone. It's a large hotel, but staff will remember you and treat you like friends on your next visit, and i don't know how they do that! So make this your regular hotel if you visit London often.

Huge, quiet rooms and bathrooms make this much better value than the price would tell you, by the way. They regularly upgrade, and some of the suites are simply incredible, with personal butler service, if you are lucky to get one of those. Not so keen on the very new von Furstenberg ones, but each to their own.

For first-timers, ask for rooms from the first floor up, avoiding the occasionally-noisy mezzanine level. Drink in the Fumoir bar when there's a table: it's near Claridge's bar but closer to the restaurant, and a little warmer and quieter. And book lunch ahead if you are wanting to eat in the Foyer restaurant as it can get busy. Oh, and personally I prefer the Library area for dinner - again, a little warmer and quieter.

Room Tip: Ask to change any room that starts with a zero (as in 034) as they are on the Mezzanine level, and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ifyouknowjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claridges_London, General Manager at Claridge's, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2012

Dear “Mr. ifyouknowjack”,

We are very grateful for your generous praise which means a lot to us especially as it comes from one of our many regular guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Safe travels.

Yours sincerely,


Thomas Kochs
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

I've been staying at Claridge's for years and it's definitely a home from home when staying in central London.

From the moment you enter the staff are wonderful and the check in process very smooth.

The suites are absolutely immaculate and all the staff from doormen to management are the nicest hotel staff you will ever meet.

My wife and I have two young children (ages 2 and 4) but we are always welcomed like old friends and the children are also very welcomed with cookies on arrival and Claridge's children’s sized dressing gowns and slippers

It truly is a wonderful hotel and always a pleasure to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank High_Expectations_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claridges_London, General Manager at Claridge's, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2012

Dear “Mr. High_Expectations”

I am delighted to read that you and your family enjoyed your time at Claridge’s and I know the team will be so happy to read your feedback.

With best regards,


Thomas


Thomas Kochs
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#4 of 1,075 in London
421 reviews
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#21 of 1,075 in London
1,441 reviews
Mayfair
The Connaught
The Connaught
#7 of 1,075 in London
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
The Dorchester
The Dorchester
#50 of 1,075 in London
1,587 reviews
Mayfair
Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#28 of 1,075 in London
3,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claridge's? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claridge's

Address: Brook Street, London W1K 4HR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in London
#43 Luxury Hotel in London
#79 Business Hotel in London
#124 Romantic Hotel in London
#136 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: ₹ 42,788 - ₹ 82,655 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Claridge's 5*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the centre of London’s Mayfair, Claridge’s embodies grand English style, timeless glamour and impeccable, intuitive and highly tailored service. It is London’s art deco jewel, and home to breathtaking rooms and suites. From London’s finest afternoon tea in the Foyer and Reading Room to vintage champagnes and rare spirits at Claridge’s Bar or after-dinner drinks in the Fumoir, all are part of the hotel’s unique splendour and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Prestigia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Claridge's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claridge`s Hotel London
Claridges London
Claridges Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing