We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like the movies”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Ritz London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Ritz London
Ranked #28 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Bucharest
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Like the movies”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

I was recently at the Ritz Hotel and I remembered the cinematic film Notting Hill. What a great love story. The hotel was just like the scenes in the movie.

The hotel offers a very warm atmosphere and my stay was very relaxed. Situated near the Green Park, I often took long strolls, breathing some fresh air.

The service is very professional. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exec0ffice1, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
I am so happy you enjoyed the atmosphere at The Ritz. It is not always easy to meet the expections of each and every guest but it seems like we hit the right note with you. Please come back again soon. SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,671
    456
    125
    55
    44
See reviews for
752
1,539
118
242
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

first class in every way, our room looked over green park and we had an upgrade for free, breackfast in bed was fantastic we ordered the night before and did we order everything came and was cooked to perfection. the after theater dinner was very good and when we went to bed we found our bed turned down, slipper next to the bed and a chocalate on the pillow. the room service is super fast. not an everyday hotel for us but as a one off celerbration weekend it was perfect..... thank you the Ritz

Room Tip: take what you are given it will be fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oscar f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exec0ffice1, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Thank you for this generous appraisal and I am delighted that my team was able to make your celebration a special one. I am particularly pleased that you have mentioned the quality and efficiency of Room Service - they are committed to the guests' enjoyment of The Ritz experience and work extrememly hard. I shall make sure they receive your expression of gratitude. SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

i took my husband to The Ritz for his 50th Birthday.
What a treat, lovely building, room was furnished well and clean and tidy, birthday cake in our room which was a nice surprise. Best bed I have ever slept on, bed linen crisp and clean - could not get up in the mornings.
We had a supper here as well which was nice, not as good as some of the London resturants but good value for a top hotel.
My downsides are that when you check in they try and hard sell you an upgrade room and the bathrooms are clean, but around the shower cubical it could do with some bleach.
Overall highly recommended espesically as a treat.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cwp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exec0ffice1, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Thank you for your balanced comments which I have taken on board. I will look into the guest check-in proceedure, as I absolutely would not condone any practice that would frighten off new guests at reception. I appreciate you bringing this to my attention and am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay on you special occasion. SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

Travelling with a wheelchair bound mother can sometimes be challenging but not at "The Ritz"we were royally looked after and the attention to detail from all the staff was amazing,we were upgraded from a junior suite to a Deluxe suite which was huge and grand so we would have a more comfortable stay and room with the wheelchair,we had tea at the Palm court,great and drinks at the Rivoli bar which is fab,almost decadent.
If you want a great stay and made to feel special in a true landmark historic hotel in London,then "the Ritz" fulfills all these criteria and more.

Room Tip: Suite 318 is a winner,huge sitting room,bedroom and bathroom,view of green park,very very comfortabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela2wells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this review, 4 July 2012
Thank you for your kind feedback. I would like to think that we treat everyone equally here at the Hotel, but sometimes we just have to pull out all the stops, and a lady such as your mother, most definitey deserves to be treated extra specially. I am very pleased that you liked your room and appreciated the extra space. I do hope you will come back to The Ritz. SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

Had afternoon tea as we wanted to treat our mothers. The hotel is as beautiful as we expected it would be. A nice touch was the valet parking which was very convenient. We arrived early and had a drink in the bar before our tea. The service here was very good.
We had a great table for tea and enjoyed all the food. There was a good variety of sandwiches and pastries. Some of the food was very rich and we all left the table rather full, should have saved a couple of treats for the doggy bag!
This was a great experience and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jaymes999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#24 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
Mayfair
Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#20 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Savoy
The Savoy
#42 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,457 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#12 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,049 reviews
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#27 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz London? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz London

Property: The Ritz London
Address: 150 Piccadilly, London W1J 9BR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in London
#16 Romantic Hotel in London
#20 Family Hotel in London
#26 Business Hotel in London
#28 Luxury Hotel in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 32,996 - ₹ 67,419
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz London 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened by renowned hotelier Cesar Ritz in 1906, The Ritz today still retains all the glamour and excitement synonymous with this world famous hotel. Perfectly located in a landmark position on Piccadilly in the heart of London's West End, the 136 room luxury hotel is ideally placed to suit both business and leisure visitors alike. Now totaling 111 bedrooms and 25 suites, the elegant rooms combine the original Louis XVI style interiors with modern day technology. Considered by many to be one of the most beautiful rooms in the world, The Michelin-starred Ritz Restaurant features a magnificent frescoed ceiling with west facing windows overlooking the Terrace, the Italian Garden and Green Park beyond. The restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily, with a Dinner Dance on Friday and Saturdays. The Palm Court restaurant offers, most famously, daily Afternoon Tea service which has been popular since the hotel first opened. The stylishly updated Rivoli Bar was designed by Tessa Kennedy and features Art Deco styled interiors. Open daily with a bar menu. Private dining facilities at William Kent House, the 18th century mansion house at The Ritz, include an exquisite selection of banquet rooms and suites. Possibly the most elegant and opulent private rooms in London, William Kent House offers the perfect venue for private receptions, weddings, boardroom meetings, lunches, dinners and gala events. The Ritz London is a Grade II star listed building and in 2002 became the first hotel to receive the Royal Warrant from his Royal Highness The Prince of Wales for banqueting and catering services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz London Hotel London
The Ritz Hotel London
Ritz Hotel London
Ritz London
London Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing