We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (4,347)
Filter reviews
4,347 results
Traveller rating
3,524
530
164
65
64
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,524
530
164
65
64
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rivoli bar afternoon tea the palm court jacket and tie sandwiches and cakes green park birthday treat bottle of champagne junior suite turn down service beautiful room buckingham palace doorman cloakroom luxury concierge piccadilly
Filter
Updating list...
3,545 - 3,550 of 4,347 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2012

first class in every way, our room looked over green park and we had an upgrade for free, breackfast in bed was fantastic we ordered the night before and did we order everything came and was cooked to perfection. the after theater dinner was very good and when we went to bed we found our bed turned down, slipper next to the bed and a chocalate on the pillow. the room service is super fast. not an everyday hotel for us but as a one off celerbration weekend it was perfect..... thank you the Ritz

Room tip: take what you are given it will be fantastic
Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oscar f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exec0ffice1, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2012

Thank you for this generous appraisal and I am delighted that my team was able to make your celebration a special one. I am particularly pleased that you have mentioned the quality and efficiency of Room Service - they are committed to the guests' enjoyment of The Ritz experience and work extrememly hard. I shall make sure they receive your expression of gratitude. SB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

i took my husband to The Ritz for his 50th Birthday.
What a treat, lovely building, room was furnished well and clean and tidy, birthday cake in our room which was a nice surprise. Best bed I have ever slept on, bed linen crisp and clean - could not get up in the mornings.
We had a supper here as well which was nice, not as good as some of the London resturants but good value for a top hotel.
My downsides are that when you check in they try and hard sell you an upgrade room and the bathrooms are clean, but around the shower cubical it could do with some bleach.
Overall highly recommended espesically as a treat.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cwp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exec0ffice1, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2012

Thank you for your balanced comments which I have taken on board. I will look into the guest check-in proceedure, as I absolutely would not condone any practice that would frighten off new guests at reception. I appreciate you bringing this to my attention and am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay on you special occasion. SB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Travelling with a wheelchair bound mother can sometimes be challenging but not at "The Ritz"we were royally looked after and the attention to detail from all the staff was amazing,we were upgraded from a junior suite to a Deluxe suite which was huge and grand so we would have a more comfortable stay and room with the wheelchair,we had tea at the Palm court,great and drinks at the Rivoli bar which is fab,almost decadent.
If you want a great stay and made to feel special in a true landmark historic hotel in London,then "the Ritz" fulfills all these criteria and more.

Room tip: Suite 318 is a winner,huge sitting room,bedroom and bathroom,view of green park,very very comfortable
Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela2wells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 4 July 2012

Thank you for your kind feedback. I would like to think that we treat everyone equally here at the Hotel, but sometimes we just have to pull out all the stops, and a lady such as your mother, most definitey deserves to be treated extra specially. I am very pleased that you liked your room and appreciated the extra space. I do hope you will come back to The Ritz. SB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Had afternoon tea as we wanted to treat our mothers. The hotel is as beautiful as we expected it would be. A nice touch was the valet parking which was very convenient. We arrived early and had a drink in the bar before our tea. The service here was very good.
We had a great table for tea and enjoyed all the food. There was a good variety of sandwiches and pastries. Some of the food was very rich and we all left the table rather full, should have saved a couple of treats for the doggy bag!
This was a great experience and I would recommend it to anyone.

Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
5  Thank jaymes999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Stayed for only one night which was a Christmas gift. I am from London but no longer live there so was excited to be staying there because the location cannot be faulted. The hotel is on the doorstep of bond street or jermyn street so luxury shopping if that's what you are after is easy. The staff were fabulous, friendly and not over attentive and there is a relaxed feel in the hotel which is great because sometimes it is difficult to achieve that in such grand opulent surroundings. The rivoli bar is fabulous. All lalique and leopardskin. You just feel special being there. The dining room is just so beautiful the hotel is not so big that you feel lost in it and I think that allows the staff to recognise you so you do feel very much at home.
However I do have some criticisms of the hotel. Toiletries in the room were not up to scratch.

Just naming them highgrove does not cut it for me. There was no bath size soap. Come on ritz owners this is a >£500.00 per night room. Toiletries were what you would get in a 3 star Hilton. Furnishings were a little old fashioned in my room. but don't get me wrong my room was nice. My major criticism is for the food. We ate in the restaurant on a Sunday evening. There was only a table d'hôte menu. There was no bread only Melba toast. When was the last time anyone served Melba toast? The food however was superb. Breakfast was just as quirky as the Melba toast. Packet cereals in jars, special k, rice krispies. Rice krispies at the ritz? My kippers were not fresh. My husband said his full English was ok. The buffet selection was woefully inadequate if compared to other world renowned hotels in it's class. Even though we asked for toast we didn't get it. Clearly there was none left maybe as it had all been used for Melba toast?
This hotel trades on it's name and the experience of staying at the ritz. I think the owners must make enough money with out having to try too hard. It certainly makes a fortune from afternoon tea it had only just ended when we went down to dinner.I am lucky enough to have stayed at
some of the best hotels in the world and in my opinion it's 4* in some areas. So if you are coming to London and need your " Ritz experience" come, it's the ritz. But if you travel and stay in this class of hotel regularly you may be disappointed. I'm tempted to recommend the Dorchester.

Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank patentattorney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 July 2012

Thank you for the candid and balanced account of your stay. When a guests such as yourself submits comments which fairly appraise the good and the not so good aspects of an experience, it serves to alert me and my Team to acknowledge that there is work to be done to improve the negative points. I will look into your areas of dissatisfaction and hope that you will chose to return to The Ritz to reappraise us in the future. Thank you for taking the time to post your review. SB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews