We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Pure Lux. Saturday night Dinner Dance.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ritz London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ritz London
Ranked #27 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Sussex
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Pure Lux. Saturday night Dinner Dance.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

Just spent the last few days at The Ritz. The staff are so charming and truly try and achieve in being so helpful, Micheal on the front desk is AMAZING, he knows everything and everyone! The dinner on a Saturday night is out of this world, food, entertainment (the singer and band are of international standard) no review could capture the brilliance of this hotel, the chefs are the BEST in London, in my humble opinion ha ha. Not sure if relaxing the dress code is good or not,, time will tell.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cc16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exec0ffice1, Managing Director, The Ritz London at The Ritz London, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Ritz and that Michael, our Head Concierge lived up to his reputation. I am also very pleased that you enjoyed the food during your Live at The Ritz experience and will ensure that Chef and his staff receive your comments - I agree, the food in The Restaurant is amazing! SB, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,494
    437
    121
    54
    42
See reviews for
694
1,448
113
234
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
channel islands
Level Contributor
81 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

We checked in to a deluxe room and was very disappointed at the dated state of the bathroom after complaining I did manage to change room . The staff are superb and the cocktail bar was like stepping back in time very charming . The room they serve breakfast in was stunning so the old charm very lovely to sit in and have afternoon tea evening cocktails etc ,but staying the night if you like 5 star accommodation the bedrooms it might be fine to be antiquated but the bathrooms need a full refurbishment I am pleased to have stayed but would not choose to come back . The location is great .

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cisparkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exec0ffice1, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on your stay at The Ritz London. I am very pleased to see that the majority of your comments are of a positive nature and cannot help feeling disappointed that you felt let down by the bathroom facilities. We have an on-going schedule of refurbishment of the bathrooms and it would seem that your bathroom must be on that list. If you change your mind regarding staying at The Ritz in the future, please do let my office know. Thank you again for your thoughts. SB, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

I worried prior to my visit about the reputation of the hotel for correct dress code and potential snobbishness. Dont worry, the hotel has high standards but they are gently enforced. We dressed in a smart but casual way on arrival and whilst using reception. Using the bar we dressed up a little more and this really makes you feel like you belong. Embracing the hotels elegance by dressing appropriatly makes the hotel more enjoyable.
The level of service is difficult to capture in a review. It's about anticipation of your needs before you have even thought of them. It's about friendliness and helpful advice. Its about providing the highest level of service that can possibly be achieved. It's a level achieved nowhere else in the world. I suggest you try it as its very special.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PumpDesigner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exec0ffice1, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Thank you for these glowing comments, and I have to say this is exactly what I would hope to read each time a guest takes the time to leave a review. The Ritz is renowned for its quality of service and I will never tire of hearing that we have delivered beyond the expectation of anyone who passes through the revolving doors. I hope we can welcome you back to The Ritz on another occasion. SB, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
277 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

This hotel is the best in Britain, just perfection in all department. You should experience the fine dineing room with the elegance or the afternoon tea, its a real treat. The bar has the best bar staff in London with superb cocktails, all at prices less than you expect.

The only hotel that comes close is the Ritz in Paris ( no connection) but is in London its a must and really is thee best in Britain - bar none !!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exec0ffice1, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
I am always genuinely delighted to receive such heartening feedback from guests. It is exactly this type of appreciation that pushes all of us here at The Ritz to go that extra mile and strive to exceed expection. Thank you very much. SB, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

My girlfriend and I booked a night at the Ritz as a birthday treat as we had always wanted to stay in this world-famous hotel. The building itself didn't disappoint with its elegant luxury. The room was excellent - it was spacious and classically decorated.

However, my stay was let down by the attitude of some (not all) of the staff I encountered. I've been fortunate enough that in my job I've had the privilege of staying in a number of world-class hotels. In all others the service has been welcoming, in line with the experience that such hotels aim to offer. In the Ritz, it was sometimes stand-offish and in certain cases downright rude.

For example: Returning to the hotel after a night out I was virtually rugby tackled by a night doorman who demanded to know where I was going. Before I had a change to reply, I got the third reminder *that day* that 'one must wear a tie in the bar' - except that I wasn't going to the bar, I was returning to my room. When I stated this, he just turned around and walked away without saying another word. This gave a dreadfully poor impression, that my girlfriend and I were somehow unsuitable for their hotel. I repeat, I have never had other world-class hotels make this impression, so I do not think this is the result of having some sort of chip on my shoulder.

My view: if you're going to spend £300+ on a one-night hotel stay, avoid the Ritz and go somewhere else where you'll be made to feel welcome, rather than being treated like pond scum.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank afcone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#24 of 1,081 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Savoy
The Savoy
#47 of 1,081 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#12 of 1,081 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,905 reviews
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#21 of 1,081 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz London? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz London

Property: The Ritz London
Address: 150 Piccadilly, London W1J 9BR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in London
#16 Romantic Hotel in London
#20 Family Hotel in London
#26 Luxury Hotel in London
#26 Business Hotel in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 27,033 - ₹ 53,314
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz London 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened by renowned hotelier Cesar Ritz in 1906, The Ritz today still retains all the glamour and excitement synonymous with this world famous hotel. Perfectly located in a landmark position on Piccadilly in the heart of London's West End, the 136 room luxury hotel is ideally placed to suit both business and leisure visitors alike. Now totaling 111 bedrooms and 25 suites, the elegant rooms combine the original Louis XVI style interiors with modern day technology. Considered by many to be one of the most beautiful rooms in the world, The Ritz Restaurant features a magnificent frescoed ceiling with west facing windows overlooking the Terrace, the Italian Garden and Green Park beyond. The restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily, with a Dinner Dance on Friday and Saturdays. The Palm Court restaurant offers, most famously, daily Afternoon Tea service which has been popular since the hotel first opened. The stylishly updated Rivoli Bar was designed by Tessa Kennedy and features Art Deco styled interiors. Open daily with a bar menu. Private dining facilities at William Kent House, the 18th century mansion house at The Ritz, include an exquisite selection of banquet rooms and suites. Possibly the most elegant and opulent private rooms in London, William Kent House offers the perfect venue for private receptions, weddings, boardroom meetings, lunches, dinners and gala events. The Ritz London is a Grade II star listed building and in 2002 became the first hotel to receive the Royal Warrant from his Royal Highness The Prince of Wales for banqueting and catering services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Prestigia and Agoda so you can book your The Ritz London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz London Hotel London
The Ritz Hotel London
Ritz Hotel London
Ritz London
London Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing