We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of The Ritz London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Ritz London
Ranked #33 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We booked the Ritz to experience something special and give ourselves a treat.
I must say we were quite disappointed and didn't find the level of service that we had expected (porters excluded) and I was very disappointed at the standard and quality of the room. It wasn't special at all and we came across various things which were broken in the room such as light switches and the toilet seat, can you believe a broken toilet seat in the Ritz which the cleaners must have noted as it wouldn't even stay up! The bathroom was small and I couldn't even stand under the shower, it only came up to my chin and I am only 6ft tall.
Value for money was extremely low on the richter scale and I would reccomend something different unless you want to be able to say you have stayed at the Ritz - wake up and look for a better deal.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adrian v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,830
    471
    131
    55
    54
See reviews for
798
1,628
125
255
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stow, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We were treated wonderfully. The staff was helpful and knowledgeable. Our room was well appointed with clean warmed towels twice a day. The bed was turned day every evening. The bathroom had a fresh white rose that was changed when needed. There was so much attention to detail. We were greeted every morning when we we left and we were greeted every evening when we returned. We enjoyed cocktails in the bar on two occasions and then we had dinner in the dinning room on the last evening. What an experience and what a dinner!! We had a wonderful vacation and would return in a minute.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exec0ffice1, Stephen Boxall, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
I am delighted to read that you felt you were treated like Royalty and hope that you will return for more of the same. I am particularly pleased that you felt you experienced attention to detail, as this is precisely what guests of The Ritz deserve. Many thanks. SB.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Booked tea at the Palm Court Restaurant to celebrate my mother-in-laws 80th birthday.
We were greated by attentive staff and shown promptly to our table. Given the choice to tea and a selection of sandwiches, cakes and then desserts. The pianist played Happy Birthday and a cake promptly arrived much to our delight. Two hours were spent in wonderful surroundings, a truly must do experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank datwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012 via mobile

I surprised my wife with a stay at The Ritz as a treat. It was a wonderful experience, with polite staff and excellent service. I would have given more marks but the room smelled of paint. I believe it has recently been refurbished. I liked that the maid's uniforms looked straight out of upstairs downstairs. It's an historic building a short walk from the theatres. We did not feel comfortable eating in the lounge with the dress code so we had room service which was excellent.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bali
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012 via mobile

The Ritz definatly lives up to its reputation.. While it is very stuffy and pompous, that is what it is supposed to be...after all, it is the ritz!
Staff were fantastic, very friendly and helpful. Unfortunately we weren't fully aware of the dress codes before arrival, so we were unable to dine in the hotel restaurants, but we did have a room service brekky, and it was divine!
Room was lovely, average size.. But the decor is great, and bathroom is huge!
Overall, a perfect way to start our honeymoon!

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#21 of 1,069 in London
1,423 reviews
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#29 of 1,069 in London
1,163 reviews
Mayfair
Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Savoy
The Savoy
#38 of 1,069 in London
4,663 reviews
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#27 of 1,069 in London
4,016 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,069 in London
3,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz London? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz London

Property: The Ritz London
Address: 150 Piccadilly, London W1J 9BR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in London
#16 Romantic Hotel in London
#20 Family Hotel in London
#26 Business Hotel in London
#33 Luxury Hotel in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 34,014 - ₹ 72,327
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz London 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened by renowned hotelier Cesar Ritz in 1906, The Ritz today still retains all the glamour and excitement synonymous with this world famous hotel. Perfectly located in a landmark position on Piccadilly in the heart of London's West End, the 136 room luxury hotel is ideally placed to suit both business and leisure visitors alike. Now totaling 111 bedrooms and 25 suites, the elegant rooms combine the original Louis XVI style interiors with modern day technology. Considered by many to be one of the most beautiful rooms in the world, The Michelin-starred Ritz Restaurant features a magnificent frescoed ceiling with west facing windows overlooking the Terrace, the Italian Garden and Green Park beyond. The restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily, with a Dinner Dance on Friday and Saturdays. The Palm Court restaurant offers, most famously, daily Afternoon Tea service which has been popular since the hotel first opened. The stylishly updated Rivoli Bar was designed by Tessa Kennedy and features Art Deco styled interiors. Open daily with a bar menu. Private dining facilities at William Kent House, the 18th century mansion house at The Ritz, include an exquisite selection of banquet rooms and suites. Possibly the most elegant and opulent private rooms in London, William Kent House offers the perfect venue for private receptions, weddings, boardroom meetings, lunches, dinners and gala events. The Ritz London is a Grade II star listed building and in 2002 became the first hotel to receive the Royal Warrant from his Royal Highness The Prince of Wales for banqueting and catering services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz London Hotel London
The Ritz Hotel London
Ritz Hotel London
Ritz London
London Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing