We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best city break ever!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ritz London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ritz London
Ranked #26 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire
Level Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Best city break ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

Well, the Ritz certainly lives up to their name! The hotel itself is extremely well situated for the West End, the decor is good, the staff were all fantastic and I could not have wished for a better weekend. The bedroom, although the standard room, was very large for London, with very good facilities. I recommend having a drink in the Rivoli Bar, which was very special. Don't hesitate to book yourself a stay at this hotel :)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cate_devine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,628
    453
    123
    55
    44
See reviews for
739
1,523
115
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (454)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

Stayed at this hotel for one night for a christmas/birthday treat.

We were upgraded to a junior suite which was great. The whole trip was fantastic, we had afternoon tea in the Palm Court which was thoroughly enjoyable, saw a show in the West End then after a lovley nights sleep breakfast was fantastic.

The hotel just exudes luxury and elegance. It is very expensive, but well worth the money for a once in a lifetime stay at a truely iconic london hotel. One ticked off my bucket list!!

Room Tip: Room over looking picadilly a little noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chaps18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

To be honest, when I found out I was staying at the Ritz for my birthday, even though very happy, I was a little nervous about how we would be treated by staff, I couldn’t have been more wrong If I tried! From the moment we were greeted by the doorman, to checking out, everyone was absolutely wonderful.

Staff greeted us by our names whenever possible which was a nice touch, they couldn’t do enough for us.We were even given an umbrella to use throughout the day by the doorman.

I also had a surprise Birthday cake waiting for me in our room and a card. The bedroom was beautiful, stunning, perfect & very clean. More than I could imagine. I did wonder if the rooms might be a little tired, looking at some reviews, but from what we saw, this didn’t seem the case. Everywhere we walked throughout the hotel, the decor was stunning. The turndown service was quaint; we had slippers waiting for us at either side of the bed!

I had read about the dress code, although we did arrive in jeans, and wore them throughout the day, no one approached us about it, but we didn’t venture anywhere apart from reception and our room. We did dress up for the evening and had a drink in the bar, which was an experience, especially on the wallet!

I cannot comment on the food as we didn’t dine in the hotel, but everything else was perfect. The location was good, especially for the tube station which was only across the road.
All in all, a very special hotel.

Room Tip: if you are booking the hotel for a special occasion make sure you put it in your booking. We got a f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WilsonWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
326 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

It was my second stay at this hotel. If you like classic decoration it’s the place to stay. I had a suite looking the garden very nice but also very expensive 800 ponds . Although wrought it. The restaurant is also very good , food and service. My room had was typical old British classic heavy furniture. The Ritz is all about staying at an iconic place. Location is also great.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JPN65Montreal_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

We stayed at The Ritz for my mother's 75th Birthday treat. We were treated to an upgrade as a result which was nice. They also put a nice cake, candle and, thoughtfully, matches in the room for us to celebrate. We had a suite which was lovely, but a bit short on space and toiletries in the bathroom for two ladies sharing together. The turn down service was great and the breakfast room service was a treat to see, as they put up a table and delivered breakfast like magicians from a solitary trolly! The bacon was a touch cold though. Service at The Ritz is second to none. If you like to be looked after superbly, but without subservience, this is the place for you. Its really great.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nellance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#23 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
Mayfair
Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#21 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Savoy
The Savoy
#44 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,416 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#11 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,018 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz London? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz London

Property: The Ritz London
Address: 150 Piccadilly, London W1J 9BR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in London
#16 Romantic Hotel in London
#20 Family Hotel in London
#26 Business Hotel in London
#26 Luxury Hotel in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 32,526 - ₹ 66,230
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz London 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened by renowned hotelier Cesar Ritz in 1906, The Ritz today still retains all the glamour and excitement synonymous with this world famous hotel. Perfectly located in a landmark position on Piccadilly in the heart of London's West End, the 136 room luxury hotel is ideally placed to suit both business and leisure visitors alike. Now totaling 111 bedrooms and 25 suites, the elegant rooms combine the original Louis XVI style interiors with modern day technology. Considered by many to be one of the most beautiful rooms in the world, The Ritz Restaurant features a magnificent frescoed ceiling with west facing windows overlooking the Terrace, the Italian Garden and Green Park beyond. The restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily, with a Dinner Dance on Friday and Saturdays. The Palm Court restaurant offers, most famously, daily Afternoon Tea service which has been popular since the hotel first opened. The stylishly updated Rivoli Bar was designed by Tessa Kennedy and features Art Deco styled interiors. Open daily with a bar menu. Private dining facilities at William Kent House, the 18th century mansion house at The Ritz, include an exquisite selection of banquet rooms and suites. Possibly the most elegant and opulent private rooms in London, William Kent House offers the perfect venue for private receptions, weddings, boardroom meetings, lunches, dinners and gala events. The Ritz London is a Grade II star listed building and in 2002 became the first hotel to receive the Royal Warrant from his Royal Highness The Prince of Wales for banqueting and catering services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia and Prestigia so you can book your The Ritz London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz London Hotel London
The Ritz Hotel London
Ritz Hotel London
Ritz London
London Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing