We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Platinum member's terrible room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
St. Pancras Renaissance Hotel London
Ranked #201 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2012

I have been staying at Marriott chain for the past 2 years - I've spent over 150 nights during the period only in Marriott's. It has been a very good experience as I found out that their hotels are above average compared to other chains.

However, I cannot say this regarding the St Pancras Renaissance Hotel.

Service is very fake and not up to the standards that you expect from other Marriott chain hotels. Staff does not listen and provides accurate information and somewhat cheats you.

Furthermore, it is extremely over priced. I suggest looking at the other hotels before choosing this one. You would be able to get LOT more for your money. Grovesnor House and JW Grovesnor are far better. Even slightly lower end Marriott Marble Arch and Regent's park you get a lot better service.

Just for an example see the attached photo from a room that a Platinum member gets and imagine what would you get even if you are not Platinum. Apart from its location there is nothing to stay at this hotel for. This is the worst room that i have had for the past year at the Marriott chain and I have not even checked in late at night as i usually do and checked in before 4pm in the afternoon when the hotel is empty.

Good luck if you have made the terrible choice on staying at this particular hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Travelling_1_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (3,404)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,825 - 2,829 of 3,405 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2012

This is a hotel of great highs and disappointing lows. On the high side the public rooms are stunning examples of the wonderful things that can be done though modern renovations. London is famous for keeping the facades of landmarked buildings and creating fabulous interiors. This hotel is no exception and is more clever than most in using exposed brick walls and other raw architectural features to make them look like works of art.

If you are not exhausted or in too much of a hurry after arriving from Paris on the Eurostar, definitely give the common rooms of this hotel a look. They are really great.

As for staying here, I would only do it if you needed to get an early train from St. Pancras station...or if you wanted to spring for one of the renovated rooms in the old part of the hotel. We stayed in the "new" wing and it was less than memorable. Fortunately, I was somewhat prepared as a previous reviewer on Tripadvisor had described these rooms as little better than ones at a Travel Lodge. I wouldn't say it was that bad. It was more like an airport Marriott in Cleveland with a few silk pillows scattered about the utilitarian furniture.

The service was also a mixed experience. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant and the service was lovely...as was the food. Also, the wife of a friend had access to the club room for frequent Marriott visitors. That was over the top wonderful. We went there for a cup of coffee and a cookie after our dinner. When we found no cookies, one of the staff told us to have a seat and he reappeared shortly thereafter with several fabulous deserts. Evidently we were too late for normal goodies, but he wasn't going to let us suffer. Bravo to him.

I wish I had the same praise for the housekeeping staff. When I returned to my room after four to get ready for dinner it had not been made up. A call to housekeeping did result in a quick clean up, but the cleaner left without giving me any towels. Another call produced these, but I was not impressed with this kind of "service" for a room that cost more than $400 a night. Also, there were numerous times I found the housekeeping staff talking and laughing in the halls and guest elevators during the stay.

In sum, I would give this hotel a pass. Apart from the issues enumerated it is in the middle of nowhere if you want to shop or see the usual tourist sites of London.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MadisonSkidmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We stayed one night recently, the public areas are terrific and very atmospheric. Our upgraded room was absolutely fine and the bed extremely comfortable,we did think that a trouser press would have been a useful addition to the facilities. The staff were very helpful and friendly and happy to show off the best features of the original building.
Afternoon tea was included in our stay, and although the service was charming we were disappointed by the quality of the food, sandwiches rather thick, scones stodgy and the cakes rather sickly, at £30. 00 a head ( an extra £10.00 for a half glass of champagne) they should be able to do better.
Breakfast however was excellent and couldn't be faulted! Overall an expensive but enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alanandgillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

When I check revıews for this hotel , all seams to be pefect .
Reality is far from it. It is a shame as the bulding is fantastic. Maybe this is where you forget the noisy rooms, the poor service and the food.
There is no need to complain as they do not listen to you and the Italian staff made sure you feel unwelcome and if you are in there way.
I forget this is a Marriott Hotel. They are best for specific client but not for luxury .
But do go in .This is beautiful

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank delphine a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We stayed at the Renaissance over the Easter holiday period for 4 nights and overall the experience was positive with one major exception. We booked a Club room with afternoon tea, drinks and canapes provided in the evening. We travelled with our 2 children but because we had children - they were not allowed in the Club room. Living in Dubai where everything is kid-friendly I found this (and in fact a lot of aspects in London eg. West End shows, restaurants etc) not child friendly at all. We were then offered the same services as the club but in the restaurant but of course this was not passed on to anyone working in the restuarant. It was just a mess. Add to the fact rooms are not ready until 4pm and our stay did not get off to a good start. I would recommend - do not book the club room access if you have kids!
After this issue the rest of the stay was excellent. Great size room for London standards, very comfortable bed, great breakfast (continental buffet and order any hot dishes from the breakfast menu). There's even a Carlucio's 10 steps from the door which is super kid friendly.
The best advantage of the hotel was the location for the tube and Eurostar. You're literally next to Kings Cross station with access to 6 tube lines and even the Big Bus Tour picks up and drops off literally 100metres from the front door. If you are going to Paris or Disneyland as we were, the concierge even helped us with our bags through the Eurostar arrival which is literally a 2 minute walk (if that) from the reception desk. Concierge staff were very good but restaurant staff seemed to have more people walking around with clipboards allocating tables rather than wait staff which you need. Overall I would go back but would not stay in a Club room.

Room Tip: Our room was opposite the library. It was relatively quiet considering the location but I would ima...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Pullman London St Pancras Hotel
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#141 of 1,077 in London
2,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London St Pancras Hotel
Marylebone
The Langham, London
The Langham, London
#13 of 1,077 in London
487 reviews
Southbank
London Marriott Hotel County Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Pancras Renaissance Hotel London? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Pancras Renaissance Hotel London

Address: Euston Road, London NW1 2AR, England (Formerly St. Pancras Renaissance London Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #201 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: ₹ 14,836 - ₹ 38,066 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — St. Pancras Renaissance Hotel London 5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hailed as London's most romantic building, the St Pancras Renaissance Hotel is widely recognised as one of city's greatest Victorian landmarks. The 245-room hotel now boasts not only one of the most majestic staircases in Britain, but two bars & restaurants, a spa, a gentleman's grooming salon as well as some of the largest and most beautiful suites in the city. Our 5 star hotel is located at St Pancras International Station and is brimming with a fairytale facade that Sir George Gilbert Scott fashioned for the Midland Grand. Our hotel earns the ability to exceed every expectation while blending Victorian splendor with modern style and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your St. Pancras Renaissance Hotel London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing