We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location but very small room”
Review of Judd Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Judd Hotel
Ranked #230 of 555 London B&B and Inns
Suffolk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great location but very small room”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

One night stay in this very nice hotel. Only problem in my opinion was the size of the room - bed size to be honest. Relatively cheap for its location and ok for one night. Breakfast full English - eat as much you can - great.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank piotbula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    236
    169
    84
    52
See reviews for
150
162
49
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

The Judd Hotel is near the Russel Square tube stop and several restaurants and small groceries, and it's within walking distance of the British Museum. If you're up for it you can even walk to Trafalgar Square! It is also two blocks from my daughter's flat, so that made it a perfect location for me.

I booked a single room that had a twin bed and was very tiny - room 302. Having said that, it was perfect for one person (it reminded me of a cozy little garret, but bright and sunny due to a nice size window with a street view) and had a nice modern en suite bathroom. The Judd has free in room WiFi, with a carafe to heat water for coffee or tea, and a hairdryer. The staff was friendly and helpful, especially the Spanish girl who was filling in at the front desk – unfortunately she usually works at another hotel. A full British breakfast was included - coffee, juice, yogurt, eggs, sausages, bacon, baked beans, granola, and milk. I stayed four nights in London for 441 pounds, so the price was right. If you’re looking for luxury, go elsewhere; but if you’re budget minded and just want a hotel with a good location and a clean comfortable place to lay your head then consider the Judd.

The only negative was that there is no lift and I was on the 4th floor. The last flight of stairs was narrow and steep, so ask for a room below the 4th floor if this is a concern. The Spanish girl carried my bag up to my room for me, but I could not find anyone to help me carry it down the stairs at the end of my stay.

Room Tip: The Judd has 4 floors and there's no lift, so plan accordingly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

This hotel is in an amazingly convenient and historic location in London. We were able to walk almost everywhere and King's Cross was one block away for any longer trips. Just for that, it earns five points. The staff was friendly and helpful. Our only complaints are such small things that they only warrant mentioning for those who want to know: the double bed was two singles stuck together (they were zippered, but it was still noticeable); the sink was too small and made smaller by a shelf over it (admittedly there wouldn't have been much more space unless a wall were torn out); you were requested to leave the key at the front desk, a rule we had to break when only one of us went out. The last is something that could easily be fixed.
The breakfast is quite good but very busy. There seems to be only one overworked woman who serves all the tables tea and toast, and then also serves as a housekeeper.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor facing the park. It's more stairs to go up, but quieter and a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arggh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
115 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

If you are looking for a full-service American hotel with large, cushy beds, lots of space for your huge suitcase, and an elevator to get to the second floor, stop reading right now. However, if you like small hotels in non-touristy locations and don't mind walking up the stairs, keep reading.

I have stayed at almost every hotel in the Cartwright Gardens area and the Judd Hotel is one of the best. The hotel is clean and comfortable with excellent service from the front desk. The lobby area and the breakfast room are well-lighted.

This area of London is one of the best, in my opinion. There are pubs, restaurants, and shops within blocks of the hotel. The Brunswick center, about two blocks down, is a popular restaurant area with many of the same shops you'd find on crowded Oxford Street, and with a movie theater. Travelers are only a few blocks from tube stops at Russell Square, Euston, and King's Cross/St. Pancras, not to mention the rail stations for day travel to other parts of England.

Our room was very quiet. We were in the back, on the third floor, requiring a walk up a twisty, narrow staircase. But that was part of the fun.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarperMKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We stayed as a large group at this hotel, and I really want to praise their customer service and the general standards of the whole hotel.
I realise that for some the rooms and lack of space, may be an issue, and that is understandable. But for our needs it was a great base for our trip to London. I have stayed in far worse lodgings in London and it was really nice to be so centrally located, and in such a good neighbourhood with plenty of nice places to eat and explore nearby.
In particular, I want to thank the reception staff, especially Andi. We had a few administrative queries with our booking ( which were completely our front) and it took a few days to sort them out. Andi dealt with all of our awkward requests and was always happy and courteous. It was so nice to experience such good customer service in a small hotel.Thank you!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toffle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Euro Hotel
The Euro Hotel
#432 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
Bloomsbury
Mentone Hotel
Mentone Hotel
#569 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Bloomsbury
Crescent Hotel
Crescent Hotel
#534 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Avonmore Hotel
Avonmore Hotel
#887 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Bloomsbury
Harlingford Hotel
Harlingford Hotel
#552 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Bloomsbury
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#83 of 555 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Judd Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Judd Hotel

Property: Judd Hotel
Address: 46 Cartwright Gardens | Bloomsbury, London WC1H 9EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #230 of 555 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,145 - ₹ 20,039
Hotel Class:3 star — Judd Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from King's Cross, St Pancras and Euston Rail and Underground Stations, the Judd Hotel is the ideal Bloomsbury Hotel. Opened in May 2010, it offers modern, comfortable and stylish rooms at very keen prices.The hotel occupies two classic London townhouses on Cartwright Gardens, an elegant Georgian crescent overlooking gated gardens and tennis courts. The gardens and courts are available for use by guests - an oasis of tranquillity in the heart of London.The Judd Hotel offers 38 rooms, all with en-suite bathroom, air conditioning, satellite television, and complimentary Wi-Fi. Our rooms can accommodate a single person from 57GBP per night and up to four people from 127GBP per night, inclusive of a generous cooked buffet breakfast and all taxes.Situated in the heart of London, with excellent transport links, the Judd Hotel provides the ideal location from which to explore London's historic sights, museums, theatres, restaurants and shops. Direct services from King's Cross St Pancras can transport you to Heathrow, Gatwick and Luton airports in under an hour or to Paris and Brussels in around two hours! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Judd Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing