We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great sightseeing base for Grandparents and 3...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
52 reviews
Second Bedroom
Main Bedroom
Bathroom one of two
Front of property
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
London, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great sightseeing base for Grandparents and 3 Grandchildren unde”
Reviewed 9 June 2012 for a stay in May 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Dalyell Road provided a fresh , clean , well appointed , spacious base for our sightseeing trip . The 2 en suites were a real bonus .Tv in all rooms was a plus ,as was the court yard area , lovely for breakfast and evenings ,weather permitting !The location was fine we got to places like the London Eye and The Natural history museum in under 30 minutes . For the 5 of us we enjoyed a space , freedom and privacy that could not be found in a hotel.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
two_muddy...
USA
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good for families”
Reviewed 30 May 2012 for a stay in May 2012
6
people found this review helpful

Most comfortable and pleasant stay of our trip was at 22 Dalyell Road.

Lot more space than a hotel - allows kids to spread out, relax and not feel cramped in a tiny hotel room. Would definitely recommend it for families.

Convenient
- walking distance from Stockwell tube and Brixton tube and National rail stations. Safe to walk back late at night.
- 5 mins, just down the road, from a Costcutters for groceries.
Iceland near Stockwell tube and Sainsbury near Brixton tube are bigger and have more choice. Depending on where we got off, we stopped in these stores, to get groceries/dinner, on our way back home from the tube. With the ready supply of good quality, a lot of it pre-made, food in London and the convenience of having stores nearby, we did not have to eat out in London. Talk about traveling on a budget.

Washer was a big help for us since we were going to be traveling for almost a fortnight and wanted to travel light. No dryer but a drying rack is provided. It worked fine.

2 bathrooms - big save on time. Admittedly, the bathrooms are small and cramped but 2 showers are any day better than 1. We realized this later in other accommodations in our 3 country trip where we did not have 2 bathrooms and spent a lot more time getting ready.

Nice courtyard, although the weather was not warm enough for us to lounge outside.

There was also a small barbecue (? - I think) in the kitchen area. We did not use it.

Brixton is a lively town and seems to have more selection of places to dine and shop than Stockwell.

Arriving from Heathrow - We booked online with www.onlineairportcars.com from Heathrow to Stockwell. It cost us 46 from the airport and 37 for return. No problems with them - they were prompt.
If you do decide to take the rail, you probably should take a cab from the station to the house. Also, there are steps in Brixton and Stockwell stations which could pose problems with baggage. Walking from the station to the house is not an option unless you have just a backpack.

And, last but definitely not the least, Matt was very prompt and responsive in answering all our queries before and during our stay. He made the effort to make sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed. Staying here made our trip to London a hit with everyone in the family!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, ease of booking and comfort level with owner
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRajagopa...
Hyderabad, India
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Better than staying in a hotel”
Reviewed 19 May 2012 for a stay in May 2012

Just completed our stay at 22 Dalyell Rd with our two teenage daughters. Nice - although not upscale location - less than 10 minutes walking distance from Stockwell and Brixton tube stations (less than 0.75 Km). Quiet and safe neighborhood - even at late night - and close to a convenience store (Cost Cutters). The flat itself is a downstairs unit, with two bedrooms, two rather small bathrooms, and a decent living + dining + kitchen area. Kitchen has full sized gas burners, a half-fridge, a decent sized microwave, a hot water kettle, and all the necessary cutlery, pots and pans. There is a washing machine that works well, but no dryer. A clothes rack is provided for drying clothes, and it worked well for us. The flat has modern look and feel, with good hot water supply and heaters in every room. There is WiFi internet access. There is a small terrace with patio furniture, which might be great in summer (it was too cold for us to use). The owner, Matt, is a great host and very thoughtful about providing everything one might need in a trip including all supplies such as washing machine detergent. With so much variety in ready made and ready-to-prepare food available from various supermarkets, we hardly ever ate in a restaurant during our stay. The kitchen in the flat made it easy for us to quickly prepare breakfast and dinner. The two beds were queen size, and very spacious and comfortable. Matt provides a number of comfortable pillows and thick comforters. He's also flexible about checking in and out depending on the presence of other guests leaving or coming in. A couple of minor negatives - the cost of accommodation for four worked out to be around 180 pounds a night - a little higher than what I wanted but still cheaper than 4-star hotel accommodation. It's hard to not make a mess around the kitchen and bathroom sinks due to their design. Overall, a great place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Kitchen, Washing machine, Beds, Terrace
Liked least: Bathrooms are smallish, messy kitchen sink
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great place to stay!”
Reviewed 15 April 2012 for a stay in March 2012

Five of us stayed at the apartment and were very comfortable. The Stockwell tube station is a short 5-minutes walk from the apartment. The neighborhood was very quiet and we felt safe. Matt was very nice and made sure we were comfortable. We liked the small kitchen with a refrigerator, microwave and plenty of dishes. It was definately very nice.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lindatoby...
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A charming flat”
Reviewed 28 November 2011 for a stay in November 2011
3
people found this review helpful

This flat is located 10 minutes from Stockwell Tube. The location was very safe. We walked with our teenage children every night between 9:00 and 11:30 and never felt uncomfortable. We also loved that, although the bathrooms were small there were two showers. Numerous flats I researched advertised two bathrooms but many only had 1 shower. This was key for our family with 3 teenagers in the flat at certain times. Has a spacious and functional kitchen. The hot water kettle was a big hit. The patio was wonderful although it was too cool for us to sit out there in the evening.
For our circumstances this was the perfect place for our family. The value was great and Matt was easy to deal with. He is best to reach by text if there is a problem or if you need information. Great WiFi! The only negative was that there was a washer but it did not dry the clothes. We would definitely stay here again. Thanks Matt!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: 2 beds with 2
Liked least: washing machine that did not dry
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing