We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great London find!”
Review of Kennington B & B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kennington B & B
Ranked #54 of 555 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great London find!”
Reviewed 29 August 2012

A bit of belated review (we stayed at the Kennington in April 2012) - sorry Sian .
The Kennington is a great B&B just seconds away from the Kennington tube station which is on the Northern line which itself provided easy links to the West end and just about anywhere in London. Its also within reasonable walking distance to the South Bank…absolutely fab for exploring on foot.
Sian is a fantastic landlady; she communicated well before our stay and was very welcoming and friendly. She greeted us upon our arrival and was always available during breakfast offering good local advice e.g. restaurants, things to do etc. Inga (sp?) provided breakfast and whilst the continental style may not be to everybody’s taste the sheer variety and volume (not to mention Inga’s warmness and hospitality) more than made up for bacon and eggs…yum!
Yes, the bathroom was not en-suite but this is made clear from the outset. There were no issues with sharing the bathroom as once a bedroom is assigned the 2nd bedroom on the floor is not bookable.
The B&B is of a high quality and sympathetic finish, nothing is overlooked. I could get pedantic about the narrow staircase etc but this is a renovated Georgian house..it is not a new build hotel.
The use of the iPad in the dining area is a great touch as is the instant hot water tap and the biscuits…hmm..maybe that’s not such a good idea for me!
All in all a big thumbs up, thanks and sorry for the late review.

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms face the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CardiffWai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    47
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
141
129
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

I booked this b&b as a treat for my boyfriend as it was in close walking distance to the IWM & HMS Belfast. He loves war history! The b&b was really lovely & Sian helped so much with directions on how to get there & free places to park. Never had that kind of service anywhere else before. The bedroom was huge & had another room to the side of it so we could have had a party for dancing in!!! Everywhere was spotless & the breakfast was excellent too with lots of choice.
Was very good value for money too for London. Would definitely stay here again & i hope that Sian & her family enjoyed her Olympic experience as much as we did. We went the day after she was going.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful 6 night stay in the Kennington b&b ( just left 2 days ago!) If or when we return to London we won't be staying anywhere else. I would not hesitate to recommend this place to anyone.

What we appreciated most about this place and our stay
- such a great location! On the northern line and was not a hassle to navigate to where we wanted to go. The Kennington station is literally about 2 mins walk from the place- so good ( and safe!)
- easy going and friendly host and staff found in Sian and Inger. A map was given to us on arrival with recommendations of places to eat/ how to get to the supermarket or laundromat. We had great conversations too! During our stay we were away for one night in manchester. As our room was free Sian let us leave our bags in our room- nothings a trouble or a fuss to her.
- plentiful breakfast with more than you could ever need in one sitting meal! With tea and coffee served to us! We are going to miss our hearty breakfasts now that we have gone.
- free wifi and use of the iPad downstairs.
- everything is clean and modern. Rooms are kitted out with what you need ( we stayed in an ensuite 1 lot of stairs up from the entrance)
In a nutshell it was really great as a base for exploring London and you won't regret staying here. (also don't hesitate to book a tour with the English bus tours - see the review of the Stongehenge, bath and secrets places tour. It was fantastic. The meeting place for the tour is at Kennington station only 2 mins away)
Thanks Sian for everything! We really enjoyed it. Thanks, Monica and Andrew from Australia!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank McSweety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

I had a long hard day working in London before arriving at the Kennington B&B. I had stayed at another hotel the night before. After the long day working at an event at the hotel I really didn't want to move on. I am so glad I did - I arrived to a really warm welcome - made to feel that it really was fine for me to make myself at home. The rooms were lovely (at the top of the house so I had a sitting room and bedroom), the bed was comfortable with Egyptian Cotton sheets and I slept so well. The decor is understated but warm, comfortable and very clean. It was a shame it was raining as I had a little balcony and the garden off the dining room looked very inviting, I didn't use it but enjoyed the fact that it was there! After a perfect shower in the morning breakfast was a fantastic spread of fresh fruit salad, breads, bagels, pastries etc of all different kinds, yogurts and much more. It was all displayed on the huge kitchen table to help yourself from. I only just resisted temptation to eat a bit of everything. A cafetiere of coffee was made fresh for me as I was helping myself to the food then another one was offered as soon as the first was finished.

I had a couple of meetings around London during the day, spread out in time and distance. Sian made it clear that it was fine for me to stay and work in the dining room until I left for my first meeting and then I came back and did some more work for another hour or so before my next meeting. After myfinal meeting of the day I went back a final time to pick up my suitcase that they had been more than happy for me to leave out of the way. How fantastic. I really couldn't say enough good things about this B&B - a place to recover and recharge, it almost felt like I was on holiday!

As I ate my breakfast and chatted I promised to write a review, but then I completely forgot. I am about to book a room again which reminded me of my promise. I am very pleased I have finally remembered. It's the first review I've written on Trip Advisor. I use other people's reviews all the time to help me decide where I'll stay. I hope this review helps at least one person to decide to stay at the Kennington B&B, they deserve to be fully booked and you really will enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NCH42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Congratulations for the holding of a very successful and magnificent Olympics in London! We are enjoying the games on TV and wish we were there. We first stayed here in summer of 2011, and we liked this inn and London so much that we returned for a longer two week stay in May, 2012. We really enjoyed establishing our base, our "home in London", here and visiting the many wonderful sights in and near London. The strengths of this B&B are already well documented: proximity to the tube station; clean, quiet, and large rooms and bathrooms; warm reception by Sian and Inga. This year I would add to this the availability of a high quality bus tour that departs half a block away from the B&B. They are called The English Bus, offering small group, leisurely tours. Check them out as well. Also there are some outstanding restaurants in the vicinity. Try Tommyfield for a modern gastropub experience, Kennington Tandori for authentic Indian, and the Lobster Pot for upscale French seafood dinner. London is truly a great historical city with so much to see and enjoy, and you can be assured that you will enjoy your vacation in great comfort and convenience if you decide to stay at the Kennington B&B.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chan_and_Boya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#241 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,722 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#58 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
Georgian House
Georgian House
#12 of 555 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
The Drayton Court Hotel
#7 of 555 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kennington B & B? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kennington B & B

Property: Kennington B & B
Address: 103 Kennington Park Road, London SE11 4JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 555 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,833 - ₹ 16,543
Hotel Class:4 star — Kennington B & B 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run, Boutique B & B in a beautifully restored Grade II listed Georgian House built in 1786. Situated just 50 metres from Kennington tube station, our B & B is only minutes from Central London and all the City has to offer. All our rooms have original fireplaces, corniced ceilings, original Georgian shutters and cast iron radiators. 400 thread count Egyptian cotton bed linen. Free wifi and telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Kennington B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kennington Bed And Breakfast
Kennington Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing