We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The spectacle we expected” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lion King

The Lion King
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 102.84*
and up
The Lion King Theater Show
Ranked #2 of 339 Concerts & Shows in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: You will never forget the theatrical event that is Disney's THE LION KING. Brilliantly re-imagined by acclaimed director Julie Taymor, Disney's beloved film has been transformed into a spectacular stage production that explodes with glorious colours, stunning effects and enchanting music. At its heart is the powerful and moving story of Simba - the epic adventure of his journey from wide-eyed cub to his destined role as King of the Pridelands. 'There is simply nothing else like it.' The New York Times
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
230 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“The spectacle we expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

The staging was fantastic with the mixture of puppetry and human character exciting and fun.
Service at box office and on the evening excellent.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dean-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

9,505 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7,507
    1,391
    410
    146
    51
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, West Sussex
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A must see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

You don't even have to have anaexcellent seat to enjoy this one. I'm not a massive show person, but this grips you right from the start and is so entertaining. The music, costumes, performances and staging is all epic.

Tickets aren't usually that much, especially good if you get a deal with a resturant meal before or after the show. I've seen it twice nad i'd see it again!

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank Emily086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“The Lion King”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

My brother bought tickets for our mum and my family which included 2 boys aged 5 and 8. We all enjoyed it and now the boys cannot stop singing. Great family theatre, great costumes and singing.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Samantha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
168 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
“Great for children and adults”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

Although clearly aimed at children, this musical is so beautifully crafted that it is thoroughly enjoyable for adults too. The story is very close to the film version but the staging is stunning with wonderful lighting and amazing customes and puppet-animals. If you haven't seen it this may sound silly but it isn't - the puppets somehow capture the feel and movement of the animals in a convincing and stunningly beautiful way. Good story, good music and brilliant staging - a thoroughly enjoyable for all ages.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan_from_Hampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

Me and my daughter (13 yro) love it. Amazing
We weren't plan to watch this show at the first place. I just search the ticket online 3 days before the show. No luck, so I decided to go to the ticket box @ Lyceum Theatre a day before the show. Thank God, I got the ticket with much better seat and lower price than online (even though we had to come again on the show day @ exactly 19.00 PM to collect the ticket on freezing October).

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Kaena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lion King also viewed

 

Been to The Lion King? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing